We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited Palermo in early December 2012, arriving on Saturday and departing the following Tuesday. We booked tickets to the opera, at the Teatro Massimo to see I Due Foscari on Saturday evening. We were delighted to find that the hotel was within easy walking distance to the Opera house and to many fine restaurants and shops. The hotel staff were very helpful in directing us to places to eat and in telling us how to get to the Teatro. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants clean, beautiful accomodations in a location convenient to many attractions. One bonus was that we were a couple of blocks from the originating point for the bus tours that allow you to hop on-hop off. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the side facing the main street, and it was a bit noisy during high traffic p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjim1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    184
    70
    21
    3
See reviews for
46
215
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located, and within walking distance to good restaurants, shopping and beautiful old buildings. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and spacious and clean.
The town parties on Sunday nights and plays music all over until 1.30am, so unless you want to party all night, bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne-Tine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This was our little bit of luxury for our 4 day trip to Palermo. Close to the Teatro Massimo where we saw Madama Butterfly. Beautiful hotel with excellent breakfast. Would recommend for a special treat but it is a bit pricier than we would normally pay. Also had a nice massage in the spa downstairs although no pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musiccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this old hotel of the nice 19th century part of Palermo. The location is central, the building is nice. The rooms are not the most modern I have ever seen but they are comfortable and classic. They have free cable internet.
The only problem is the cleanliness, as they were dusty (and smelt dust). Upon request to clean them, only some cheap perfume was sprayed in the room (which is not what one would expect of a 5 star hotel). It is a pity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and was underwhelmed. We did not find the staff to be particularly helpful or friendly; the atmosphere is very olde worlde, fusty and dated. The rooms were good - large and comfortable - and the location, in the new, modern shopping district, is excellent. No wifi in the rooms means this cannot be described as 5-star. Breakfast in the dark basement restaurant was just OK. There was never anyong sitting in lobby/bar area (maybe a very quiet time of year [October 2012]?) so had to keep going to reception desk to get someone to come to bar to get us a drink. more than adequate for a stay in Palermo but would want to try somewhere different myself if I were to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AideenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night after arriving on the early morning ferry. We found it very easily and were able to walk there with our suitcases from the ferry terminal. The staff were very helpful and promised to have our rooms ready as soon as possible which they did. We were able to leave our luggage and explore Palermo. Our rooms were very comfortable with a great shower! The only small complaint was that there was no WiFi in our rooms and the WiFi in the lobby was not reliable and came at a cost. All in all a great place to make a base for discovering the beautiful city of Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel staff is as nice as you can find, very friendly and professional. Anything you ask they will assist you with. Fantastic buffet with all you can eat. The decor of the hotel is refined and elegant. People should never compare hotels, the fact is the Grand is probably the best in Palermo but you get what you pay for. The junior suite was wonderful, not overly large but consider that Palermo is hundreds of years old and the retrofitting of every room is so beautiful.

Yes the Wifi was not working but we were on vacation so I didnt care. Yes its hard to find because there arent any hotel signs on the street but so what, the fun of travelling is finding your way around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Property: Grand Hotel Wagner
Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing