We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rooms”
Review of Alla Kala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alla Kala
Ranked #269 of 465 Palermo B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Maria and colleagues are just the best! They took care of my family during our 5 night stay from 07-12 April 2013 beyond our expectations.The accommodation is secure and so we felt very safe at all times. Our luggage was delayed and the girls helped with phone calls to help locate and track the progress. The B&B is situated in an ideal spot with good access to the port for catching the ferry to the island of Ustica but also for generally exploring the city.The train station Palermo Centrale is about 10 min walk away. What else can we say but THANK YOU for your Sicilian hospitality! P.S.Free wifi and no complaints about the speed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

went by a recommendqtion in our lonely planet and some reviews on tripadvisor... had even called beforehand to find out if the room would be noisy (as mentioned in one of the reviews below)... we were told it wouldn't be, only to find out it was -really really noisy! there's a major road (ringroad) between the hotel and the harbour (nice view but that's about it). when we arrived and mentioned our surprise and disappointment, we were told it was too late to cancel. True, the room was nice and clean, but the noise made it hard to sleep- Palermo can be noisy but there certainly are quieter options nearby. The receptionist was friendly but could do little more than make a small gesture on the bill for a problem that we feel could have been avoided with a little honesty when we asked the question. Also wished Lonely Planet didn't list the B&B as "our pick" - you'd hope there would be no problems with these picks...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

This is a wonderful B&B located approximately a 15-20 minute walk from the train bus station, towards the eastern end of Corso Vittorio Emanuele which is the street where many of Palermos sights are concentrated.

The double room in whcih I stayed for 3 nights and onsuite bathroom were clean and pleasantly decorated in neutral colours. The room had a ceiling fan and air-conditioning so was a cool retreat from the heat of Palermo in mid-July. There is a mini bar where the drinks and snacks cost beween 1.50 and 2.50 euro. Although the room overlooked a busy road, the windows do not need to be open due to the air-conditioning, thereby keeping much of the sound out. There was a television which showed BBC Worldwide and other satellite channels.

Breakfast consists of either tea, coffee, fruit juice, croissant or toast and is served between 07:30 and 10:00 either in the common area near reception or in your room.

The staff where very helpful, providing a map of Palermo and answered any questions I had (English is spoken). On checking out I was able to leave my bag at reception to collect later in the afternoon.

I recommend this B&B very highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joka79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Staff are very welcoming, and make a special effort to speak English. The double room I stayed in was massive: and the en suite shower room/bathroom was modern and roomy. Very impressed by the decoration of the rooms and the reception area. A lot of work has gone into this b & b. Surprised the rating is 3 star only. This is a 3 star with a mind of a 4 star.
The Rating should be increased to a 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scudermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at the Alla Kala for one night in February 2009. The location was perfect - an easy walk from the bus/train station and close proximity to downtown sights. It was intimate with a nice sitting area for breakfast looking out over the harbour and the rooms are clean and modern. The bathroom was small, but also clean and like-new condition.

The breakfast included was generous, allowing you to choose from a long list what items you would like and what time you would like to eat. The service was good, providing helpful tips for dinner spots. Wifi was also accessible, which is great if you have a computer/iphone etc.

Liked best: the ambiance and cleanliness of the rooms
Liked least: the somewhat dark and uninviting road it is situated on, but it is not too far off the main road of Via Roma.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Allakala is a B&B in Palermo in the centre right behind Piazza Marina. The B&B is at the first floor of an old building at the back of the tourist port. Upon our arrival we were a bit worried as the building from the outside looked a bit run down. But as soon as we got in we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms had all of the comforts you would expect from a city 4 star hotel and we had a lovely view of the port (I think all of the rooms have, but it could be worth asking). The rooms were very nicely decorated and so were the bathrooms. You could choose whether to have breakfast in your room (no extra charge) or in a small hall. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel does not have a carpark so you will need to leave it in the Piazza around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2008

The Alla Kala Bed and Breakfast is a very cute, little hotel situated in Palermo's city center, in the port district called "Alla Kala". It offers 5 spacious rooms with a direct view on Palermo's Port. All rooms are provided with bathroom, locker, tv, hair dryer and other comfort. I personally appreciated very much the free wireless-account in all the rooms. Breakfast is served or in the hall or in your room (without an extra-pay).

The B&B is ideally located (about 5 Min walk to Via della libertà) and finding parking just in front of the building usually is no problem.

We always stay in AllaKala when we are in Palermo, i can only recommend it. Fair prices and very nice service. Since it only has 5 rooms you have to make a reservation as soon as possible (ask for room Nr. 2!)

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Castellammare
BB22 Charming Rooms & Apartments
B&B AI Tintori
#48 of 465 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Palazzo Reale
4 Quarti
4 Quarti
#43 of 465 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Jardin de France
Jardin de France
#145 of 465 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Tribunali
Boutique B&B Vintage
Boutique B&B Vintage
#23 of 465 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Vista Mare
#187 of 465 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Kala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Kala

Property: Alla Kala
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 71, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 465 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alla Kala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alla Kala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Kala Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing