We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning apartment, best owner, fabulous stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Origlione Church 1^terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Origlione Church 1^terrace
First terrace Second terrace with cathedral view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Origlione Church 1^terrace
First terrace
Second terrace with cathedral view
Overview of Palermo from 2nd terrace
Living room
Outside Kitchen
First double bedroom
Cathedral view
Second Terrace with cathedral view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane R
1 review
“Stunning apartment, best owner, fabulous stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Stayed here with two friends. The apartment was as described, comfortable, eclectic decoration (particularly the elephant outside my bedroom door) and centrally situated within walking distance of all the sites we wanted to see. The Arab Norman churches were amazing. Amongst the best experiences was meeting Michele whose introduction to the city, its food and attractions were masterly. He was massively helpful and incredibly charming. Listen to that introduction - he is very clear about safety and full of useful advice. Considering I was quite ill and the first three days of our five day visit consisted of almost constant rain (except for the times it hailed massive hailstones), we had a marvellous time. I will need to go back because I had no appetite and much of the sightseeing was done in a fever haze! And I would choose to stay at Michele's place again. My only issue with him was that he wasn't able to fix the weather....!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Old town apartment with great views”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The apartment is at the top end of the old town and the terraces have great views and are very spacious, there is plenty of space in the apartment also. The location is ideal for walking around the town and getting to the markets. The apartment is well furnished, the kitchen is adequate although with only having to use low power electrical appliances even the kettle could overload the switch which was on the ground floor.Michele is an excellent host and does all he can for his guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somedays...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magical stay in the heart of Palermo”
Reviewed December 26, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a wonderful stay in Michele's very central apartment in Palermo. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and Michele made every effort to ensure we were comfortable and well taken care of. There are a few steps to enter the apartment, but this didn't trouble our group. The kitchen was well equipped and the bedrooms were well sized, private and the beds comfortable.

We were very happy with the value the apartment provided. The only points which other groups may wish to consider are - in winter the apartment is a little cold. the heaters take the edge off, but the open lay out makes warming the apartment a little challenging. As the apartment is older, the electrics struggle- we had to reset the power a few times when we ran the kettle and another powered item simultaneously.

Overall we were very happy with the apartment, which was beautifully appointed and in a central area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielaca...
londra
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid this apartment!!!”
Reviewed December 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Positive points
1. The apartment is clean (only where you normally look…)
2. It is central, only some steps from Corso Vittorio Emanuele and Via
Maqueda
3. Now in the winter it's very quiet
4. The two big terraces are gorgeous but of course you won't use them in
winter and we don't know how hot they will be in summer
5. The owner Michele is very kind and helpful; he answers your questions
immediately through WA
6. Michele brought for us a lot of water and basics to have a nice breakfast, such
as fruit juices and yogurt, butter and bread

Negative points
1. The apartment is not heated, we came in and it was very cold, 15 C°! and
humid.
2. An extra fee of 30€/day is payable to heat the radiators. But we weren't
informed about this matter. It took about 24 hours to get the flat to an
acceptable temperature. We were very worried to get sick just before
Christmas. And in fact my husband got sic.
2. Internet is not functioning and if some time it functions it is to week
3. The apartment consists in steps and steps. 43 very steep stairs to get to the
apartment. 15 to the first floor and 14 to the second floor. The stairs are open
on one side
4. This apartment is not suitable for children under 10 years or older people, as
well as people with a handicap
5. Bed sheets and towels are more than old. No protection cover the
mattresses
6. The showers are very small
7. The whole apartment is restored and furnished with a very bad taste
8. Just around the entrance the neighbourhood is not safe. It is the district of
Ballarò
8. The owner agreed only the cheapest contract with the electricity company
(3Kw). It means that we had to run down to the street level several times during
the night, in the dark, with only the light of our I-Phone (no lamp in the flat!) to
switch on the valve again. As at first we tried to heat by AC, as Michele
suggested, but this was impossible because of the poor power of the elecrticity

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
Dear Daniela, I'm sorry about your bad personal experience at Origlione House, Absolutely this is the first time of a such bad judgment! Anyway, I'm almost sure you haven't read my description of the house in the listing before booking.
If you would have read it, you would have noted that most of the points you underlined as negative, are written: 1 - 2. The flat can be heated by heater pumps, if you use the gas bottle you have to pay extra (this is because it is very expensive, more than electricity). 3. It is written that the house is at the second level without elevator and the rooms in the apartment are on three levels... Obviously there are stairs, if you don't want to go up and down maybe you could choose another house with elevator. 4. I'm used to refuse requests of guests with little children, anyway I can't flag a field of the age of my guests. Obviously it is not a house suitable for people with handicap (it is flagged). 5. I change bed linen and towels on regular basis, so they can't be "more than old" even not new (but always very well cleaned). 6. Showers are normal size and there is even a jacuzzi bath tube. 7.no comment regarding your opinion on furniture (but a curiosity, did you see the pictures of the listing?) 8.In the list you can see the location information .. Ballarò market is an important point of interest for many tourists, and anyway, about your concerns, I always give to my guests many and many local information (which you did not want to have because you were in a hurry and because you already knew everything about Palermo) this just in order to avoid unpleasant experiences that in fact have never happened.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizSander...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Town atmosphere, modern apartment”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a brilliant time staying at this beautiful apartment. There were a couple of minor glitches; however, Michele was extremely helpful and went above and beyond in making our stay fun and smoothing away problems. For example, he arranged transport from the airport when there was a taxi strike on the day of arrival. The apartment has amazing views of Palermo from two lovely terraces, and many original features, such as the beautiful tiles. Michele was also very friendly, and gave useful information and advice about local food and places to see. The area we stayed in was friendly and safe, and right in the middle of the old town, which meant most tourist attractions are within walking distance. It was also close to a restaurant, I Cucci, which served delicious locally sourced food, including tasty vegan and vegetarian options. All in all, we would love to return, which is probably the best recommendation we can offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable spacious apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

As long as you are ok with stairs, this big bright apartment is a great choice. Two very private bedrooms with king beds, two beautiful sunny terraces, and three bathrooms make it easy to share. We walked to all the major sites, location is wonderful and yet very quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
1 review
“Beautiful aparment in central location”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This really is a lovely apartment in a great area, just a short distance from the Ballaro market and the Cathedral.

Michele, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived late in the evening and the fridge was full of provisions. He gave us suggestions as to where to go and what to see, etc. and we had a wonderful week in a fascinating city.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing