We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre location, if you want to be in walking distance to sites”
Review of B&B Kemonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Kemonia
Ranked #94 of 493 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Like a previous reviewer, we were a bit baffled to find our B&B on the 4th floor of a large building (there is a lift - taking 2 people and one suitcase). Having stayed for 5 days, I can only say that Ricardo's and Sara's service was second to none. The B&B is a 4-5 bedroom flat, well insulated and the double-glazing dampens most of the street noise of armies of Vespa drivers and the occasional ambulance. Breakfast is typically Italian, i.e. on the very sweet side, with a warm chocolate croissant and lots more. We bought a couple of savory things and eggs to have a more continental breakfast and Ricardo boiled us an egg every morning. The place is eerily quite at night, so it was easy to go along the Italian way, sleep early and get up early. We would have like a tea/coffee making facility in the room, for a nightcap cuppa - so we had to have a bottle of wine instead -). All in all I can only agree with the previous reviewers. We think they must have made some changes, since every room has now a bathroom allocated opposite of your room and bathroom sharing as mentioned before did not happen. If you do not wish to love in the bustling old city centre of Palermo, we recommend to go to Bondello (Beach) - 30 minutes out of town with a frequent no 806 bus service. Public transport at 3.50 Euro for an all day ticket per person, is a very cheap and quick way to get anywhere, including beautiful Monreal and Pellegrini mountain that you can see from the B&B's balcony. PS Take a minimum of bags, cards & money, valuables on your daily excursions. We had an experience with bag thieves, they are ridiculously fast - and we had a lucky escape. Have a nice stay anyway

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 84 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2008

Very good location. Riccardo and Sara are extremely kind and helpful in every way, for making your stay comfortable and for information about Palermo. The apartment is small and private - do not be put off by sharing a bathroom - and the rooms are large and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended - don't bother to look any further.
Roger and Gillian Holmes, York, England

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank fatherholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay at B&B Kemonia. The price was reasonable. The B&B has clean rooms. The staff was very friendly and they helped us even to rent a car in Palermo for cheaper price.
Renju & Marta

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renju_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Our room was spacious and very clean, and we had the use of a shower room and bathroom (shared with other residents) which were spotlessly clean, always equipped with necessities such as soap and toilet paper, and with no shortage of hot water in the mornings. The hostel is quite difficult to find, but is very well located - about five minutes walk from Teatro Massimo and therefore a good base for visiting the main sights of Palermo. The road that the hostel is situated on is a little intimidating at night (although we didn't actually have any problems, and the hostel itself felt safe), and there is quite a lot of traffic noise late into the night. However, this didn't actually bother us too much, and the chances are, if you're visiting a lively city like Palermo, you probably haven't come for a peaceful get-away-from-it-all type of break anyway. Breakfast was served in a room with a great view over the city, and constituted a range of cereals, bread rolls, and sweet pastries - we appreciated having the option of cereals as well as pastries, which are not to everyone's taste first thing in the morning (although we enjoyed them!) but which are quite often the only option available at B&Bs/hostels in Sicily. Finally, the owners Riccardo and Sara were helpful and welcoming, but not overbearing - they left us to our own devices but were available if we needed information or assistance. Kemonia offers clean, comfortable accomodation in a good location, and great value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Ricardo and Sara Gallo have made this B&B a beautiful, peaceful retreat in this great location in Palermo. Great hosts, and very charming place to stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mjdustin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2007

We stayed at Kemonia B&B for 3 nights. It was a very pleasant stay in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The bedroom was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. Even though the window faced a rather busy street, the elevated location of the B&B (on the fourth floor) meant noise levels were never too high. The bathroom was shared between four rooms (even though only one was being used at the time) and was always kept very clean and tidy. Breakfast was good and substantial. In fact, it was better than in some 3-star hotels in Sicily! It could, however, be improved by adding fresh orange juice to the menu. A very positive note goes to the staff – always friendly and available for odd requests (including a very early breakfast and the loaning of a scale).
The only negative remark is the outside appearance of the building and entrance. In fact, our first impression of the whole area was quite negative. Once you get to know Palermo, though, you realise the B&B is actually very well located, with the historic centre, restaurants, bars, theatres and cinemas all within walking distance.
Overall, a very good service at a relatively low price (for Italian standards).

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicudi_Filicudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Situated a short walk from the Theatre Maximo, B&B Kemonia offers basic accommodation for a budget price.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, shared bathroom was always very clean, breakfast was good and the service is extremely friendly.

For those looking for a twin/double room for around €55pn then this offers excellent value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,387 reviews
Ai Vicere
#19 of 493 in Palermo
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
B&B D'Angelo
#147 of 493 in Palermo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Kemonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kemonia

Address: Via Nicolo' Turrisi 38/b, 90138, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: $51 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Kemonia 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Kemonia is located in the heart of the historic center of Palermo on the fourth floor of a building where you can enjoy a splendid view of the structure consists of three double bedrooms and three bathrooms, one for each bedroom, a balcony for double rooms. In the breakfast room you can consult our tourist information and meet us to exchange impressions and ask some good advice about the city. It will be easy from here to discover the city and its artistic and architectural treasures so long marked by secular rulers. Teatro Massimo, the Cathedral, the castle of the Zisa, the old market of the Cape, the Archaeological Museum, all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Kemonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Kemonia Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing