We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Opera
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very good, central location for visitors. Modern, almost 'minimalist look'. Good breakfast with ample choices.
Reception staff helpful but no substitute for a true concierge. OK for maps, directions but not for restaurant recommendations, reservations to the opera and other services offered by more 'complete' front desks/concierge capability.
Room was adequate in size; good comfortable bathroom; sufficient storage (closet) space.

Room Tip: Stayed 2 nights and even though it was an outside room, noise was not a factor. Good sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineroM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with the other readers of theTripadvisor community. We are very glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, the modern look and the ample choice of products at breakfast, together with its quality. We would also like to thank you for highlighting your enjoyment of the room and its comfortable spaces.
I would also like to thank you for sharing your opinion on the concierge service provided by our front desk staff, which I must admit quite surprises me: as a matter of fact our staff does provide all the services you named in your review, and namely provides restaurant recommendations and bookings, arrangement of excursions, private tours and guided visits, opera and theatre reservations – there is no dedicated concierge staff, but our front desk does provide complete concierge services 24/7, upon request. I am sorry if you had the impression such services were not provided, or if one member of staff failed to meet the property standards. I would appreciate, if you can, if you could contact us by email at giulia.briguglia@thehotelsphere.com, and give us further reference on this issue.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you again as our guests in the future on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    186
    70
    14
    7
See reviews for
45
184
20
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had problems with the reception which didn't speak english and the communication was rather difficult and not at all professional and there was a misunderstanding on the price of the room.In general no value for money.Rooms are ok but not worth the cost. Breakfast was in a small room in the basement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nik0sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to read that your stay did not match your expectations.
Our management and all our staff really strive with all their best efforts to always make every guest stay perfect and unforgettable. This was unfortunately not at all the case with your recent stay, and we would kindly ask you to contact me via email at giulia.briguglia@thehotelsphere.com in order to gain a better understanding on your front desk experience.
As to the general price-quality ratio, we may say that the general viewpoint of our clientele differs from your personal experience, which is by the way undeniable and unique, and that many travellers find the boutique design atmosphere of our property, including our rooms and the breakfast room in the -1 floor, quite lovely. Obviously the opinion of the look and feel of each property is absolutely individual and therefore we thank you for reporting your dissatisfaction with the overall feeling and atmosphere.
We would love to have the occasion of having you again as our guest on the occasion of a next stay in Palermo and let you feel that each comment we receive is thoroughly considered and contributes to the continuous improvement of our standards and services.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a pretty nice, typical European hotel in a convenient location to downtown. The bathroom was nice and modern, the room was smaller than most pictured in the reviews here and it makes me think we got an older room in the hotel which might not have been upgraded. The bed was typical European, pretty thin and firm, and not my ideal bed (but exactly what you find everywhere in Europe). The room was somewhat clean, although there was some mold and discoloration in the bathroom because the shower tends to spray everywhere.

Room Tip: Upgrading might be worth it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 532rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review on your recent stay at our property and for sharing your overall positive experience.
We are happy you enjoyed the hotel location and wish to give you some feedback on some notes underlined in your review – in particular, I wish to ensure that every type of upgrade that has been carried out in the property has always involved all rooms, and more over their structure in terms of room size has never changed. There are no “older” or “newer” rooms in the property, and while other travellers who reviewed the property may have found that the room size matched their expectations and needs, you had a different experience, so that on the occasion of your next stay, we recommend trying a superior or even deluxe room, which offers larger areas. Moreover, we thank you for highlighting the small shower issues, and wish to ensure that a maintenance work on that is already planned in the coming days.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you again as our guest in the future and wish to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

When this hotel's sister property was unavailable, they recommended this hotel. I took a chance and made a reservation for three nights. I like this area of the city as it is just as alive as the older parts of Palermo, but far less chaotic. It is situated in a fashionable area and, although it may be too far for some, it is within walking distance to the major sights. I found the Reception Staff kind and very attentive, the lobby décor eclectic, and my single room spotless. My only complain was my room did not have even one receptacle to recharge my phone - but the Reception was very gracious in my request to recharge the phone while I was at dinner. It is located very close to the city's two major theaters, the archeological museum (closed) and two of my favorite trattorias. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreasuresofItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely thank you for your excellent review and for awarding your stay a full five points – it made us very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We were very glad to read that you found the hotel location very comfortable and pleasant, the staff very attentive and that you appreciated a lot the overall décor and atmosphere, and the cleanliness of your room. With a view to your note on the absence of receptacles in your room, we just wish to highlight, for your next stay, that each room has one located close to the desk area. We thank you for the enthusiastic review and look forward to having you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Giulia Briguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive
Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had two nights in Palermo, and moved here after one night in a Top Brand more expensive hotel that didn't live up to my expectation. I was met by Germana at reception, with a truly genuine welcome:she is passionate about the hotel and Palermo, truly a gem. The hotel is great value, spotlessly clean, compact but comfortable bedroom with every amenity you would wish for. Lovely Ortigia brand toiletries...a nice touch. Great location, just round from the Red Bus Tour stop, and close to many restaurants and shops in a safe environment. Airport shuttle bus stop is close by. Breakfast was good with great staff again, eager to please. I would rate this as a value "boutique feel" hotel and would definitely stay here again. All staff pleasant and helpful! They really make this hotel stand out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely, enthusiastic review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in all its aspects, from the warm welcome you were given by our staff to the comfort and amenities of your room! We are also very glad that you enjoyed the hotel location, with great shopping and dining options and easy links, and our breakfast service!
We would sincerely like to thank you on behalf of all our staff members for your great review which really made everybody proud of their work.
We hope to have you soon again as our guest and in the meanwhile send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel room very very small, either claustrophobic, there is no place for second chair and table in the room. Breakfast should be improved and varied.
Partly compensated with central location and Helpful stuff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirillya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share this review on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you for highlighting the hotel central location and attentive staff. As the breakfast service, based on a extensive choice of sweet and savory produce, with fresh and local delicatessen, we would also like to ask you whether you could contact us at customer.relations@hotelplazaopera.com, in order to give us some further details on how breakfast could be improved. Moreover, on the occasion of your next stay we recommend that you choose one of our superior category rooms, which would probably fit your needs better than the standard ones, which are nevertheless in line with hospitality standards.
We look forward to hearing from you and to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
193 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Palermo is a great city with so much to see. You could stay out of town at a resort but this is a far better choice given Palermo traffic. Simple room clean and comfortable. Just on the edge of the old town. Walk to anywhere. Many good restaurants within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy you enjoyed the hotel location, its comfort and cleanliness and the wide choice of dining choices in immediate proximity. We are also very happy that you were so fascinated by Palermo and hope to have the opportunity to have you again as our guest on the occasion of your next visit to our wonderful city.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Property: Hotel Plaza Opera
Address: Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing