We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza Opera
Nearby Hotels
Alma Hotel(Palermo)
$120
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$303
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$208
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$125
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bel 3(Palermo)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$667
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
160
210
87
18
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
210
87
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsairport shuttle bus stopnice modern hotelcomfortable bedmost morningsbreakfast roomroom was a decent sizefront desk staffhard boiled eggsmeat and cheesethe main shopping streetmajor sightsnewer partwould definitely stay here againan ironpastrieswithin walking distanceminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 482 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Three nights here. Very comfortable bed, bath.. Breakfast just enough variation.
Best of all, a very helpful, friendly staff.. Offered suggestions for walking sights, nearby restaurants,.. Quick with the map and recommendations. We needed help with the ferry from Palermo to Salerno. They got on the Internet and booked an overnight ferry. With a big smile at every turn.
We did not know we would be some distance from the major attractions when we chose this hotel.. Our specific need was handy parking which this hotel offered.. They were so friendly we decided to stay and do the necessary hiking to the museums and other attractions.
We were located near great shopping. Fancy stores like Hermes. Fun to window shop !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsonh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear guest,
we were delighted to read your review and we really wish to thank you for sharing with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community your very positive opinion on your stay at our property!
We are very happy you enjoyed all the different aspects of your stay: the room comfort, the buffet breakfast, the friendly, attentive and smiling attitude of all our staff, the hotel location, at a comfortable walking distance from all major sights and in the middle of the best dining and shopping district, and the hotel parking.
We really hope to have you soon in the future again as our guests, on your next stay in Palermo!
Until then, please accept our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location of the Hotel is in the center of Palermo. Good as there are restaurants, shopping streets and shops nearby (in-Coop supermarket next to the McDonalds). Its quite a walk (like 20-30 minutes) from the Central Train station where your bus ends if you come from another city. You can walk along Via Roma to get into the center where the Hotel is located. We came with "SAIS Bus" from Catania directly with no stops in between (cost 14,90 Euro per person and took like 2 hours). The bus was clean with working air condition and WC.

The Hotel is located in a small street (Via Nicolo Gallo) what has reserved car parks for the guests who come by car. The friendly and english speaking receptionist was informative and helpful. We got a standard room on the 2nd floor.

Modern room with a big comfortable double bed! Clean bathroom with bath tub big mirror and hair dryer. Also there is a working air condition whats useful in the summer months. The flat screen TV has only a few english channels (BBC, Sky News) and no USB out for your pen drive (with music or films). So you wont use TV that much if you dont understand Italian.
There is a Minibar what has not the cheapest prices. Use it as fridge to cool your own stuff (just put the content from the minibar next to the fridge in the ground). There is a warm water making facility with coffee and tee selection. Its for your refreshment! Also we had a big bottle of water next to it. You may can drink that too!

Breakfast is good with friendly staff asking you about a coffee or hot chocolate. Big selection of tee and different jams can be found on the table. Lots of cakes and sweets. A few type of cheese and meat. Not the continental breakfast selection what central europeans are used to.
Fruits and fruit juices are also available just as bread, muffin, cereals, honey.

Sadly there is no free Wifi access in the Hotel. In my opinion today its a basic thing and for a 4 star hotel its a shame that they want money for it! So forget Wifi in your room or in the Hotel lobby whats actually a nice place with sofas and books to read.

Not so far you have the Bus stop what goes to the Beaches of Mondello (Bus #806). Ask the reception for further informations. They can give you a small map with marking the route from the hotel.

It was a nice stay! There are only a few things what could make this hotel even better (Free Wifi, TV channels, bigger selection of breakfast). Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venom_six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion on your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra, Palermo, with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community.
We are very happy you loved the location of the hotel and the many facilities and services available nearby, and that you appreciated the friendly and professional staff, the comfortable and clean guestrooms, the friendly breakfast staff and the great variety of delicacies provided.
We also thank you for your suggestions on how to improve the services of the hotel, which we will surely take into great account in order to continuously improve our standards!
We really hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future!
In the meanwhile, please accept our kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is in a good location, close to a square and main shopping street and the room is small yet efficient and clean bath with shower and overall quiet.
Easy to park car in hotel garage which was done by the staff, it would be good to let them do it, it is a narrow parking.
The breakfast was well done, a good choice for healthy with fresh fruit and juice and musli and also lots of sweats, some home made cookies, eggs.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Overall a great choice in Palermo.

Room Tip: we had a room on the inside, no view and no noise :-)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edwink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your fantastic review - we are so glad your stay was so perfect to award it five points!
Thank your for highlighting the comfortable hotel location, the cleanliness and efficiency of our rooms, the tastefulness and healthyness of our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff - we also suggest, if you found you needed more space in your room, to try one of our superior or deluxe rooms on the occasion of your next stay.

We hope to have the possibility to welcome you again as our guest on the occasion of your next visit in Palermo and in the meanwhile we send our kindest regards.

Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great central location for sight seeing and shopping. Comfortable, clean, modern hotel and found the staff to be extremly helpful both with our stay at the hotel and with advice for travel around the island. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diarmuid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear guest,
we are delighted by your review – thank you so much for highlighting the perfect location, the excellent welcome and assistance from our hotel staff and the property’s comfortable features.
Thank you for preferring our property and for wishing to come back on your next stay in Palermo – we hope your visit here was unforgettable and that we will welcome you again as our guest in the future.
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a new hotel close to Politeama at 20 mn walk to the major attractions. Rooms, bathroom are perfect, large, clean and comfortable. Staff is professional, helpful and the breakfast very good. The neighbourhood is the best shopping area of Palermo with some very good traditional restaurants.
They miss the charm of the old Palermo but they do their best to compensate that.
Deserve the very good reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for the lovely review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel location, the rooms, their confort, our delicious breakfast and friendly and helpful staff - we are really happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and really look forward to having you again as our guest in the future on the occasion on your next stay in Palermo!
We send you our kindest regards
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews