We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Palermo”
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Opera
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
cotswolds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Palermo”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Really pleased with our week long stay at Plaza Opera Hotel. In a great location at the start of modern Palermo is 10 minutes to the old part of town and plenty of lovely restaurants and bars nearby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend a stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review - it is very important both to us and to other travelers that you shared your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad you enjoyed some key aspect of the stay, such as the location of the hotel and the politeness and cheerfulness of our staff, and we would also like to thank you for recommending our property!
We hope we will have again the opportunity to have you as our guest on your next stay in Palermo, and in the meanwhile we send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    193
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
45
187
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The only friendly and genuinely helpful member of staff I met over my 5 night stay in this hotel is Julio from Reception.The others have managed a painfully fake smile if the moment demanded and the rest have much to learn about the hospitality business.
Should you be lucky enough to have a late start at work, forget about sleeping in.....the cleaning crew start their job really early, complete with slamming and banging doors as they move from room to room.
The porter who decided to empty a whole rack of towels and toileteries into the store cupboard didn't look perturbed or even bother to apologise when I stepped out of the room to request a bit of consideration.
A good central hotel if you want to start your day early and spend most of it away.

Room Tip: The corner rooms i.e 108,208,308.... are similar to box rooms. There is no natural light despit the...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are deeply sorry to read that your stay experience in our property did not make you happy.
Our Front Desk staff would first of all like to apologize for not having responded to your expectations - we just wish to say that it is very likely that what you have felt as a fake smile was not such, but a genuine attempt to give every guest the complete attention they request even in the most busy and complicated situations. We would like to apologize also for the inconvenience created by the cleaning staff who was taking care of the rooms around your own – they put all their energy in their work, and that is reflected in the cleanliness of the rooms, which we are sure you have noticed, still this also turns into very energetic movements, sometimes. During our next training session with them, we will highlight the importance of keeping noise at a mimimum during all stages of their working day and we are sure that on your next visit you will find that this has completely changed.
We hope we will have soon the possibility of having you again with us and let you have a different stay experience, that will finally match your expectations.
Best regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Perfect location in Palermo, standard rooms are quite small and not ideal for long stays and big luggages but very clean. Traffic can be extremely noisy and if you want to sleep ask for rooms not on main road. Breakfast can be improved, it happened frequently we had to wait or ask for ham or cheese or croissants. Staff was very helpful and kind helping us in any request we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. It is always very important for us to learn the opinion of our guests on our property and services. We are glad you liked the location and the rooms – ideally, we recommend superior or deluxe rooms for very long stays and large quantities of luggage, but at the same time, we feel it is important to highlight that our standard rooms are generally considered very comfortable by travelers. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some waiting at breakfast – at peak hours we always try and prevent unreasonable waiting but your comment will encourage all breakfast staff to improve and be even more efficient in addressing guests requests and replacing products on the buffet. We would like to thank you on behalf of all members of staff about the comments on their kindness and helpfulness – we all put our heart in what we do and it’s important for us to know that you noticed it.
We really look forward to welcoming you again as our guest.
In the meanwhile, we send you our kindest regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel was excellent. Except it is pretty hard to find by car. It is within walking distance of most of the Palermo sites. Several good restaurants are very close as well. Parking in the lot across the street is an adventure. Parking and in room Wifi are extra charges. The front desk staff were not friendly at all. I felt like I was a bother to them when checking in or when asking questions about Palermo. The most positive thing about this hotel were the two men that ran the breakfast. They were so friendly and were happy to help me. They remembered that I like cappuccino on my second morning. The food was good too. Thanks guys for brightening my day.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrayeyes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with other travelers of the Tripadvisor community.
We would like to thank you for underlining the hotel’s favorable location and enjoyable neighborhood. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble finding it by car – we are just on the next street to one of the main landmarks in Palermo, and that makes it usually easy to find us. As to the videosurveilled private garage, which is right in front of hotel entrance and perfectly suitable to serve its functions, we do have a car valet service, which could have helped you in case you did not feel comfortable with driving inside the garage.
We are most sorry and would in fact like to apologize for having a bad experience with our Front Desk – if you have a look at previous reviews by travelers, our Front desk staff is always described as helpful, and very keen on providing information and suggestions about the city. All the same, your experience reminds us that even the best service needs improvement sometimes.
We would also like to thank you on behalf of Sergio and Antonio, our two cheerful members of staff from the breakfast service – they really take great efforts in making it possible for every guest to have a great start of the day, and we love to hear that you appreciated them.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Palermo!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel was recommended to us by friends.Location is excellent,room was very good and exceptionaly clean.Having in mind local traffic the room was quiet as the hotel is in a small street,staff very kind and helpful,breakfast very good,we stayed 7 days and we were able to vary breakfast every day even if it looks limited the first time,we loved fruit especially beautiful juicy local oranges.The selection of italian cheeses is excellent.If you wish you can order eggs or bacon.Coffee is very good and you can order whichever you wish.We just loved their cappucino.
We are going back to Palermo and the main reason for that is Hotel Plaza Opera.

Room Tip: Superior room,high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your excellent review, it made us really proud! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel, its location and quiet surroundings, the cleanliness of rooms and the helpfulness of our staff. We would also like to thank you for describing in such detail our morning breakfast: we take a lot of care in the selection of local, fresh produce, ranging from delicious fruit pies to local cheeses, fresh brewed coffee and cappuccino and a selection of fruit of the season, and we are really glad you enjoyed it so much and appreciated the variety of our selection, for seven days in a row.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have decided to come back in the next future! We will look forward to having you again as our guests and exceed your expectations – in the meanwhile, please accept our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We recently made our second visit to the Hotel Plaza Opera in Palermo (the first was in 2006 shortly after it opened.) The service was outstanding from the moment we arrived. The front desk clerk provided the name of a nearby restaurant (Poppof) that proved to be warm and inviting despite the rain and wind prevailing outside. The rooms are very modern and compact with very large bathtub/shower combinations. Linens were crisp and new. Wifi was so good that I could watch a streaming NCAA basketball game in its entirety. My only complaint? Hotels of this caliber should be providing free wifi internet in this day and age ... it is just as essential as hot water, clean sheets and morning breakfast. Euro 15 for 24 hours of internet should be a crime ...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinelliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all let us thank you for choosing our property again for your second stay in Palermo! It is such a joy to read that your first, good experience with us was completely reconfirmed on the occasion of your recent stay, and that you found our service outstanding, our facilities and services top class from all viewpoints, and that you also had a perfect concierge recommendation experience with one of our preferred restaurants. We would also like to thank you for your suggestion as to provide free wifi; as a matter of fact, the fee you paid for 24-hour connection (which is 10 euros) is essential for us to be able to provide a flawless, uninterrupted 24-hour connection with perfect speed, and to be able to guarantee speedy repair service is case of defaults. We nevertheless take with great consideration your suggestion and will pass it on to our product management department.
We hope to have you soon again as our guest in Palermo and to be able, on that occasion, to exceed your expectations!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Recently my husband nd I stayed at your hotel for just one night and regretted that it was not longer. We had a lovely room that was spotless. Moreover, everything worked. We appreciated the well stocked refrigerator. The gentleman on the desk who checked us in also provided us with three restaurant choices for dinner. The one we selected was excellent. We had one of the best meals of our entire stay in Sicily. We also took advantage of the bar and had a drink and a very nice selection of hors d'oeuvres for a modest price. The salon is beautifully furnished.As well, breakfast food selection was excellent and the staff attentive but not intrusive.

Altogether we had a very enjoyable stay and we will stay at the Hotel Plaza Opera should we visit Palermo in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,
It is such a pleasure to read your review! We are very glad you appreciated all the aspects we focus everyday our efforts on, such as the cleanliness and upkeep of our guestrooms, the cordiality and knowledgeability of our staff and the style and ambience of our hotel. We are also very happy you appreciated both our bar and breakfast service. We hope you to come back soon to Palermo to welcome you again at Hotel Plaza Opéra!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
1,200 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#9 of 101 in Palermo
486 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 101 in Palermo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Property: Hotel Plaza Opera
Address: Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing