We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and downs of Casa di Zoe”
Review of La Casa di Zoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa di Zoe
Ranked #162 of 501 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed at Casa di Zoe for 4 nights-3 when we arrived in Palermo and 1 night before we left Sicily. The B&B is centrally located and is a short walk from the main train station. There is no sign outside the door so you need to look for the number and then ring the bell. It would be easy to miss unless you know this ahead of time. The rooms are spacious and clean and nicely furnished. The first time our bathroom was across the hall from our room. There is free internet access. The owner, Gerino, speaks good English and is very helpful. One of our bags didn't arrive and he made many phone calls for us to try and locate it. On the down side, you need to contact Gerino approximately an hour before you plan to arrive so he (or someone else) can meet you to let you in. Because there is no one on the property at all times, we had to wait around the B&B for the bag to be delivered. It's definitely noisy. We had to sleep with the air conditioning on in order to drown out the noise from the street. Breakfast was fine-nothing special but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jclare04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2007

Perhaps it was because we had a room on the Via Roma side of the building, but we found our sleep constantly shattered by buzzing scooters, blaring horns, and all kinds of other noises.
Worse, however, was the total lack of staff on the scene. There is no reception desk. Someone shows up, eventually, to let you in if you've made advance arrangements. But that's it. Our hot water went out and we couldn't find anyone to help. And the breakfast, at a small common table in the kitchen, was a joke. A tiny bottle of juice, but no glass. A heap of cello-wrapped, inedible items (is this a Twinkie I see before me?), and vile coffee. I've travelled many years and stayed in many b&b's and small hotels all over Europe.
Some were not so good. But Casa di Zoe takes the cake (or Twinkie) for bad accommodation.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Lynvet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Returned yesterday from a 2 day stay in Palermo. La Casa di Zoe is a fantastic B&B, i couldnt recommend it any more if i tried. The owner bends over backwards to help and is very friendly. He even left a little bottle of wine in our fridge when he relised it was my girlfriends birthday - with a little note saying happy birthday. Its right next to the train station and many of the main attractions. For a little eveing entertainment pop across to the area around Via Orologio for some cool little bars and restaurants. The room was gorgeous, clean, big, lovely bathroom with a big shower. No complains or negatives what so ever...enjoy - we did

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ea6igo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

La Casa di Zoe is wonderful, my Husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this wonderful B&B.
The owner is a very friendly and helpful man who speaks excellent English, he took us on a short tour upon arrival and then left us to our own devices. The rooms are large with dressers, high ceilings and immaculate bathrooms. We were fortunate enough to be given a room with a balcony looking up Via Roma - which was stunning!
We were delighted to be woken up in the morning by a light knock at the door from a lady that brings you breakfast on a tray!! She is very amusing, and so accommodating.

It is in a perfect position for shopping and is close to the train station so you can go wherever you like in beautiful Sicily.

I must also recommend a bar/eatery that blew us away. If you love good food, well made drinks and nice people then please visit "Ai Chiavettieri" which is on Via Chiavettieri and close to the B&B.
I was in heaven eating there, and their coctails are pretty good!
If you go here, just say that you read a review from a couple called Katherine & Jonathan who missed their flight.....! Yes, really.
It really is a wonderful place - they all walk around with baker boy style caps on!

In conclusion, I will be going back in March and staying at La Casa di Zoe's because I was so impressed with the level of service. This is a home from home - I would never stay anywhere else while in Palermo.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Katherine-in-the-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Vins F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Camera all'interno (ne hanno una senza bagno)
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Enzo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ultraviolet82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B Porta Nuova
#3 of 501 in Palermo
465 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
479 reviews
B&B D'Angelo
#147 of 501 in Palermo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Zoe

Address: Via Roma 171, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 501 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: $43 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa di Zoe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa di Zoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Di Zoe Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing