We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional guest house and hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo
Ranked #58 of 454 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mosfellsbaer, Iceland
1 review
“Exceptional guest house and hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in the matrimonial suite of this guest house for 3 nights in June 2013. This was our second stay, having stayed there for 2 weeks 8 years ago. The house is an exceptionally beautiful building situated high up in Mondello and providing stunning views over the coast to Mount Pellegrino and Palermo. Equally beautiful is the mature well-tended garden which surrounds and encroaches on the house. The balcony of the matrimonial suite is a peaceful and leafy place to sit. We can easily agree with all the praise for this guest house to be found in the many reviews. In particular however, we would like to praise the hosts, Silvana and Daniella and also Eugenio who have a genuine interest in their guests which is shown in many ways - for example talking to them over morning breakfast, answering questions and on occasions even helping with transport. Perhaps the highest praise we can give is to mention that after an interval of 8 years between our stays, we found the exact same high standards of food (great home made jams, bread and their own eggs), comfort and the same warm welcome. That is surely exceptional in this business and says much about the hosts and their integrity. We look forward to our next visit, which hopefully will be soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Il Glicine Sul Golfo is a small bed and breakfast in a residential neighborhood on a hill overlooking the Gulf of Palermo. It will seem like your home away from home because it is a private residence. Sylvana, the owner and operator, lives on the premises and tends to the home and gardens. It is clean and well maintained. There is a lovely garden and many terraces. The terrace off the main living room offers a spectacular view of Mondello and the Gulf.

The property offers a couple different accommodations. We had one room with a queen bed, en suite bath and access to a small private terrace. Our friends had a suite with queen bedroom that also opened onto a small terrace, en suite bath and small sitting room. There are also two apartments available. The living room, dining room, and hallways are lovely, filled with Sylvanna’s antiques. Sylvana and her helper Daniella quickly made us feel welcome. Sylvana spoke some English and Daniella was fluent, but like all Sicilians, they were warm and welcoming. Our breakfasts were wonderful and included toast, fresh jams, fruit, juice, and fresh eggs from the chickens located on a corner of the property. Of our three mornings there, the weather cooperated for breakfast on the terrace only once, but it was special.

We found the location was perfect for walking to the main area of Mondello where there is a wide choice of restaurants. Given the location, fresh fish is plentiful. We found a wonderful fruit stand right on the main plaza, where we purchased fruit for snacks during the day, and wine, cheese and chocolate, all of which we enjoyed after a busy day of touring. We could enjoy these in the living room or on the terrace while watching the full moon rise over the gulf. Remember that Il Glicine is up the hill, so after dinner you have to walk back up.

Sicilians have dogs and Sylvanna is no exception. There were at least two dogs that lived on the property and several cats. Most of the pets were not allowed in the guest areas, but be aware they are there. And the neighbors’ dogs barked loudly when we walked by, even though they were inside their yards.

Parking was available but driving and parking in Sicily was challenging.

Experienced travelers know the adventure is more than seeing things, eating different food, and enjoying great wine. It is about the total experience and knowing that what you experience is going to be different than what you are used to at home. Sicily is no exception. One commentator mentioned the neighborhood is run-down and another that the beach is dirty. Based upon our experience living in Sicily a couple decades ago and numerous return trips, we feel Il Glicine is actually in an upscale neighborhood. One thing you notice about Sicily is that public areas are not maintained the same way we expect here in our U.S. hometowns. There is less maintenance, more graffiti, more trash, etc. I don’t know why. We asked that question several years ago, and were told that it is because Italians pay such high taxes, they don’t feel it is their personal responsibility to invest in public areas and that the government should take care of it. There has not been a “Don’t Be A Litterbug” campaign there, though I did notice enhanced efforts at recycling, especially in the airports.

In short, we found Il Glicine absolutely delightful. We would go back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The breakfast on the our host Silvana's own terrace was the most relaxing & pleasent one I ever had over 30 years travelling. The views were just like picture postcards. Departing to Palerumo for sightseeings were getting late and late as days passed due to exciting conversations with other guests and Daniella, the staff. Incidentally she must speaks several languages. The locatoin was perfect for us as we wanted to use local buses to everywhere. The bus stop is just 4 mins away down the hill and 8 mins up to the B&B. We booked the apartment with sitting area and kichenette with an fridge, which was very handy to make ice cold gin & tonic with lemons picked from the garden after noisy, dusty Palerumo. The garden was natural yet well thoughts for colours and large aged trees including ripening fruit such as medlers, lemons, mulburies. Silvana made mulbury jam which was on the breakfast table the following day. Mondello is rated one of top 10 beaches in Sicily ( by one publication) with safe beaches combined with fishing boats and laisure boats just beside, which you do not see in many resorts. I am going back again this October wiht my daughter, who likes wine, good seafoods. I feel I have almost found my own villa. Thank you, Silvana & Daniella for making my trip to Sicily very relaxing yet exciting.

Ritsuko, England

Room Tip: Each guest room has own terrace but the apartment with kichentte is the best for a family as this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritsuko-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
548 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The B&B and our host Silvana are both charming. The breakfast served on the terrace is the best of any Sicilian breakfast we have had in 2 weeks. You can walk to good restaurant options and there is wifi in the double rooms but not in the family suite. The only downside is the area has become very run down. The town and the road to it and dirty, full of rubbish and many shops seemed to be closed. The beach which is recommended in the DK travel book must have been reviewed many years ago as from a distance it looks lovely but up close it is very dirty. Maybe this is the reality of the Palermo area but we were disappointed in the general state of all public areas.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. We took what we thought was a punt by going to the beaches here. It was a real pleasant surprise. Close enough to visit Palermo during the day and nice enough beaches. The property is away from main drag which was actually turned out to be a blessing. Breakfast was great and the views were stunning. Food was all locally grown (for what they didn't grow themselves in their garden!). Hosts were generous, kind and helpful. Spoke great English. Beautiful garden. Only drawback was the neighbors dogs which always barked when you walked past. We stayed in the basement flat, which was more space than we could have used for the two of us. I would recommend to all for something a little different. Mondello doesn't have the best beaches, but it's nice for a few days. Scattered with teenagers and average restaurants, but a nice getaway from Palermo for those wanting to be out of the city.

Room Tip: The basement provides more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itchyfeetMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for 5 days at Il Glicine and were really surprised!
It is a lovely house, decorated with style, and surounded by a beautiful garden.
The view from the terras (where you have breakfast) is priceless!!
The owners are great people: so kind, so friendly, so helpful...
Breakfast is great: home made jams, croissants, eggs, fresh fruit, juice,... Amazing!

We really recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Go for the matrimonial suite!! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a lovely place, and lovely owner. This is Silvana's home, and it feels like staying with a friend/family member, who discreetly gives you enough privacy to go about your business freely. So tastefully decorated, with a beautiful view of the beach, and plenty of lovely cats, chickens and a very sweet dog welcoming you home. Was a bit difficult to find as the area is residential and the neighbours were unclear as to there being a b and b there, so make sure you have a detailed map/directions. Well worth it though, as it really defined our experience in Mondello as more authentic and less tourist-y.

Just perfectly done, a gem.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adrienne8377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
0.4 mi away
Splendid Hotel La Torre
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Mondello Holiday
B&B Mondello Holiday
#111 of 749 in Province of Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed And Breakfast Il Girasole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Al Baglio
0.7 mi away
B&B Casa Chinaski
B&B Casa Chinaski
#4 of 9 in Mondello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baglio Busalacchi
Baglio Busalacchi
#90 of 454 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo

Property: Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo
Address: Via Saffo, 90151, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing