We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly and very cheap”
Review of il Siciliano

il Siciliano
Ranked #159 of 1,952 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

An absolute gem. The food was lovely and the wine the same. Fabio (owner) was chatting to us and what a lovely man he is. I had the gnocchi and it was the best Italian food I have ever tasted! Fabio owns another restaurant just across the road from Il Siciliano and we are going there tomorrow as we are sure the food there is just as good. Overall; friendly, cheap and well worth the visit.

Thank Seamus1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsicilianopalermo, Proprietario at il Siciliano, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014
Google Translation

Mi fa molto piacere che siate stati bene nel mio locale...........spero che quando tornerete a Palermo una delle vostre tappe sarà il Siciliano.....ciao e a presto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 361 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stumbled across this bar / restaurant a couple of days ago, which was very close to our hotel. We paid 25 Euros for a very large sharing platter containing three different types of beef, cheese, ham, salami and salad. We also ordered a mixed salad. The quality of the food was exceptional and there was easily enough to feed 3 or 4 people. Definitely the best food we have had on our holiday here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoodenoughGuesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsicilianopalermo, Proprietario at il Siciliano, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014
Google Translation

ciao,vi ringrazio per la vostra recensione,mi ha fatto molto piacere che vi siate trovati bene qui da noi,spero di rivederci presto,magari in estate......ciao e a presto....Fabio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Via Orologio is one of those irresistible little streets that branches off from Via Maqueda at the square of Teatro Massimo, just a short way down is Il Siciliano. We wandered in and ordered a glass of wine and were offered the "happy hour" by an extremely helpful and friendly waiter, when asked what that was he went and got someone to explain to us that it is a selection of foods on a board that you pay for according to how many people it should feed. (I really appreciate how helpful people have been here, and wish that I could speak Italian). We planned on going out for dinner later so declined on that visit but watched the big board full of lovely mini sandwiches, prosciutto and bruschetta being delivered to other tables. We have since come back with an appetite and had the happy hour! There is also a bowl in the middle of the board whose contents seems to vary from night to night, we got lovely gnocchi with pesto, also discovered that Parmesan cheese dipped in honey is delicious! The portions are very large so this option is definitely a meal. The music played here is great ( one night it was an album by Sade- to anyone in there that night I was the old lady on the comfy couch with the blissed out smile singing along to the soundtrack). We've had the same waiter, and by the third visit he not only gives us a friendly greeting but remembers what wine we like! There are a lots of lovely elegant people socializing at nearby tables, and a fabulous parade of families, dogs being walked, poor persistent and relentlessly hopeful flower sellers, groups of young people all passing by on the pedestrianized street. Nice selection of wine too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsicilianopalermo, Proprietario at il Siciliano, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014
Google Translation

Ciao,ti ringrazio per la tua bellissima recensione,mi ha fatto molto piacere che vi siete trovati bene da noi, e spero che anche palermo vi sia piaciuta molto.
Spero che tornerete un giorno a Palermo e noi saremo qui ad aspettarvi!!
Un abbraccio.....Fabio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Loved the place becacuse of the warm athmosphere and interesting eclectic decoration. The place is perfect for a drink with friends or in my case a light meal and a drink with my family.
Service is quick, personel friendly and witty and the food is really good.
We had a 'mixed Sicilian platter' of cold meats, Sicilian sausages, cheeses, piadine and cotolette meant for 2 people but 3 can share if you're not too hungry.
There are lots of young people and young families and the place is always packed especially late in the evening (Sicilians eat dinner around 9:30pm or even later).
We went back a few times so I can definitely recommend the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AliceThorvaldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsicilianopalermo, Proprietario at il Siciliano, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la vostra recensione.Mi fa molto piacere che siete stati molto bene da noi, spero di rivederci presto!!
Baci e abbracci!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Siciliano also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to il Siciliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing