We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try to watch a rehearsal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Teatro Massimo

Teatro Massimo
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.44*
and up
Half-day Tour of Monreale, Palermo Market and Palermo City Center
Ranked #6 of 323 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest opera houses in Europe, Teatro Massimo is renowned for its excellent acoustiscs and holds over 1,300 seats.The venue hosts more than 130 music, opera and dance events every year.The exteriors are in neo-classical style with influences from Greek Sicilian temples, while the interiors are art-nouveau.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
448 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Try to watch a rehearsal”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This theatre, despite a fairly recent renovation, shows its wear. And, the 30-minute guided tour for 8 euros is a bit much. But, if you are able to visit while an opera is in rehearsal it will be well worth it. The acoustics in this classic opera house are absolutely incredible. We were able to sit in a balcony box seat for nearly the entire 30 minutes watching the rehearsal of Wagner's Valkyrie, complete with orchestra, and it truly was a highlight of our trip to Palermo.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,268
    590
    162
    28
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wagner's Das Rheingold”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Teatro Massimo was celebrating Wagner's 200th birthday and we were there to see the
first of the Ring Cycle- Das Rheingold. It is difficult to describe the magnificence of this very
old opera house, with its huge columns and trees festooned in lights ( probably from Christmas)
outside and the old richness inside. The faithful Sicilian opera goers dressed in their finest, the
stirring music from the orchestra and the Wagnerian approach to story telling made for a
memorable evening. One discordant note maybe for the traditional Sicilian opera goer-
The presentation was set in modern times and although the vocalization was soul stirring, the
audience was not very comfortable with the visual presentation. I thought it was brilliant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank naturalbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Massimo teater”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is nice from outside,I don't have time for visiting inside.But from outside it is nice architecture and statues but nothing more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fara046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Opera House--Great Performance”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We saw I Due Foscari on December 1, 2012. While it is not my favorite opera, the performance was excellent and both visibility and accoustics were first-class. It was a sold-out performance, and it was great fun for us to see all of the local Sicilians there--clearly many of them were regular patrons of the opera and knew each other quite well. A really nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank drjim1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maximum Beauty”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I enjoyed this beautiful evening strolling along the Palermo center where the teatro was lit so brilliantly that the photographs I took were breathless, I then saw it in the daytime and still was curious to spend an entire day or two soon in Palermo to reall write what I thought artistically and honestly I didnt have a chance to do this, but will next week.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Italgirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Massimo also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Teatro Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing