We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Nice tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teatro Massimo

Teatro Massimo
Book In Advance
and up
Half-day Tour of Monreale, Palermo Market and Palermo City Center
Ranked #6 of 295 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest opera houses in Europe, Teatro Massimo is renowned for its excellent acoustiscs and holds over 1,300 seats.The venue hosts more than 130 music, opera and dance events every year.The exteriors are in neo-classical style with influences from Greek Sicilian temples, while the interiors are art-nouveau.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was another nice visit. The lady doing the tour was a singer with the opera and gave us a very good idea of the theatre and its history. The costumes were really nice to see and the the hall itself was impressive,especially the royal box where Al Pacino sat for Godfather,part 3.

Visited October 2012
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“theatre Massimo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very beautiful building with beautiful statues, sadly we were not allowed inside to see the dome, my husband loved renacting godfather 3 on the theatre steps

Visited November 2012
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The plaza in front says it all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

A massive structure without overwhelming. The drama on the plaza outside is even more interesting then the doings inside, at least in the daytime. Seems to be a drawing point for everybody with a viewpoint and a desire to get it across. A real Hyde park.

Thank Mikeinmotio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a beautiful theater!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We purchased tickets for Madama Butterfly a few months before our trip. The theater was beautiful and the production was good, although I have heard voices in the US that were just as good if not better - but Italian opera in Italy! Fantastic! My only complaint about the theater si that it took forever to get our tickets from the box office - and we had already paid for them. Still, overall, it was a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Thank Lalyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First opera house in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Impressive both inside and outside, the Teatro Massimo is like much of Palermo; much of it is in good repair but there are still sections awaiting renovation. Two massive regal lion sculptures guard the entrance.
We joined an English language tour (small group) and explored the public and behind stage areas. Of especial interest are the visits to the Royal Box (anyone can book seats there but you have to book all 27 seats in one lot) and the round Echo Room where many a private political discussion is said to have taken place. Try to pick which are the false doors just by looking.
If you enjoy attending operas, check out their season offering beforehand. They had different operas almost every month but we missed the October performance by a night.

Visited October 2012
Thank Susanne_Bellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Massimo also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo

Been to Teatro Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing