We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Palace in Palermo”
Review of Palazzo Mirto

Palazzo Mirto
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.14*
and up
Palermo Segway Tour
Ranked #15 of 331 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Palace in Palermo”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went through in early December 2012 and were the only visitors in the museum. It was definitely worth the time to see how the ruling class lived. We were the only people being escorted by our guide and, since it was a quiet day for them, it let us into the dining room which had been closed down to do restoration work on a huge tapestry. The amount of person-hours that restoration work would take is unimagineable, as the threads are very fine and the work very detailed.
At the end of the tour, we left through a servant's stair well and came out in the carriage house/stables. The stalls for the horses and the equipment provided a look into the working side of the residence.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    152
    25
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
千葉県
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Opened new year”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was in Palermo on 1st January. The most of the shops and museums were closed but Mirto Palazzo was open!!
The rooms were well decorated and well maintained. I was impressed at carriages outside also.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gem of a palazzo”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Palazzo Mirto is a few yards from Piazza Marina on Via Merlo in La Kalsa. We were not sure what to expect (we were the only visitors) but it turned out to be a real treasure. We were accompanied by an attendant over two floors of a richly furnished aristocratic palace which just looked as though it had been lived in until recently. A beautiful well-stocked library full of rare tomes finished off the tour. Excellent location, unusual attraction.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Palazzo Mirto”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

An extraordinary building with superb furniture, porcelain and glass and interesting pictures. We were there about 2 hours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aliciasynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Life stopped in 1982”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

That was the year that the da Mirto family gave up the Palazzo to the city. And it appears to have stayed precisely the same since then. It's a fascinating place, a real insight into how the well-off of the 19th century lived...and how they could run out of money to support such a palace and bequeath it to the city as a museum. Well worth a visit; it's down near the harbor and easy to get to.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LarryMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palazzo Mirto also viewed

 

Been to Palazzo Mirto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing