We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baroque finery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiesa del Gesu

Chiesa del Gesu
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.73*
and up
Markets and Monuments: Walking Tour in the Center of Palermo
Ranked #3 of 321 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
“Baroque finery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Palermo has a great many churches that seem quite modest and restrained from the outside yet absolutely burst with decoration internally. This is so true of Chiesa del Gessu. The marble work inside is jaw-dropping. The work that went into the decoration is astounding. It is well maintained and unlike a few of the churches it does offer a concise pamphlet with useful information. It is all too possible to get lost in the detail and I must admit I got a crick in my neck from the time spent tracing the finery with my eyes! Entry here was €2 at the time of our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    144
    31
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Radiant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This baroque church has a relatively modest facade and is hidden in a backstreet downtown Palermo. The contrast to the church's shining interior could hardly be bigger. Perhaps the interior is overdone, but one is certainly impressed. The light marble and paintings are illuminated by sunshine from windows high above creating an unusual bright or elevated sensation. Along with the exterior of the cathedral nearby, the interior of this church is a top attraction in Palermo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OsloViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Most amazing marble carvings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

When one enters this church one's jaw drops. It is breath-takingly beautiful. The thousands of carved pieces on every surface is like nothing I have ever seen before. I could have sat there for hours but unfortunately we only had ten minutes before it closed (check opening times). It has to be at least an hour's worth of just taking it all in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can't miss this one.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

You just can't miss seeing this work of art. Well kept, well explained with a concise leaflet. Entry was 2 Euro.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 742Malvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The baoque dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Church of the Gesu, also known as "Casa Professa", is one of the most important Baroque churches in Palermo, Italy. When I walked in (and though I've been travelling almost all over Europe and seen also some other churches in Italy, and even in Palermo), I had to hold my breath! Words fall short to describe a dream made of marble.
Location: Piazza Casa Professa n.21. Opening: working days, 08.00-11.30/17.00-18.30.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nalini_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa del Gesu also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Chiesa del Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing