We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
Ranked #36 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A very nice hotel with friendly staff in a good location. The hotel is at the border of the modern and traditional areas of Palermo. This makes the experience very pleasant. All receptionists are so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant close by called "Piccollo Napoli" which is very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vecchio Borgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 320 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Vecchio Borgo earned its four stars for us with its affordable comfort and style. At first it seemed to be on the fringes of a tough neighborhood, but it was mostly colorful and filled with fruit and vegetable vendors and some remarkable restaurants. An easy walk to Politeama square, one has quick access to the very trendy Via della Liberta. We liked the views from the curved end of our room and if you book a room there be sure to ask for one of those. Breakfast spread is extensive. Concierge help exceptional and an excellent internet connection in our room was free.

Room Tip: The end rooms are the largest and with the most room. Be sure to specify ahead of time if you want t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a lovely stay in Vecchio Borgo. After getting a helpful orientation of the city from the staff we soon understood the location was good for us. The neighborhood might at first glance seem a bit dodgy, but we enjoyed it and felt safe. Breakfast was good and if you like sweets you're up for a treat.

PS. Don't miss up on the nearby (2 mins walking) restaurant Piccolo Napoli. Best food we had in whole of Sicily.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank high_low73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Hotel Vecchio Borgo is in an *OK* neighbourhood but doesn't immediately lend itself to the 4* status advertised on the door. The room had everything a hotel room should have, and the bathroom was decked out quite well, the only issue I would immediately point out is that, for a 4*, there wasn't a lot of space in the bedroom, and the all singing, all dancing, full body spray shower was quite unneccessary.

Palermo isn't that nice, so in comparison to the city, the hotel made a welcome place to come back to.

The breakfast room was a bit small for the purpose but well stocked, although we did feel like we were eating in a conference/cheap wedding venue.


A few pointers:
Taxi was €50 from the airport!!!- (rent a car for the duration of your stay, it's cheaper!)
Staff were friendly and curteous and helpful, with only one derisive snort when I asked for my passport back after checking in - (the answer is "no" in case you're wondering), however they were able to check us in earlier than expected.
The hotel is about haflway between a nice street and the docks, and a long walk from the main street (Emmanuelle Vittoria) - there appeared to be some really lovely restaurants in the area.

Generally the staff were friendly and I appreciated the stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: I didn't notice a fitness centre or restaurant?! But the breakfast room was small.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T_Llo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Upon arrival to the hotel, I was a little bit anxious as the taxi driver had almost killed us on the highway and the location of the hotel would appear to be in a student/ran down side alley.

As we got into the hotel, I was pleasantly suprised. The hotel is clean, staff were friendly and it must be said it was very easy to communicate.

The rooms are on the smaller side but aple for two people on a short stay.It also has a proper double bed (not two twins pushed together like many other places). The only down side was that the views were not very nice- I.e. Overlooking someone home. But you can't have it all at this price.

I would say that in most other citys this would be a 3 star hotel but here in Palermo this is a great find, with an amazing breakfast that won't break the bank -What a very pleasant suprise!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuratingNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel has many plus points; very friendly and helpful staff, nice room, excellent bathroom and shower facilities, good location. However I am only able to rate three stars for a number of reasons. Our first three nights were interrupted by very loud music and fireworks which continued until 3:00 AM with a firework wake-up call at 7:50 each morning meaning we hardly slept. The hotel staff claimed to know nothing about this, but after conversation with the locals we found out it's an annual celebration and is well-known about throughout Palermo. (Avoid this hotel the last weekend in July!) The hotel also has no bar or facilities to serve an evening meal, so a night in isn't possible. Our 'double bed' was two singles pushed together, leaving an uncomfortable wedge in between the two beds.

The hotel is reasonably well placed on one of Palermo's many Piazzas. The area and the short walk to the city's center (approx 1 mile) allows for an authentic feel to life in the city. However, some sections of Palermo do feel a little unwelcome and some of these areas are quite near to the hotel.

Room Tip: the corner rooms seem to be much larger than the rest.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel represents excellent value . It is in a good location a short walk away from bus connections, taxis, shopping and restaurants/cafes. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average.Room was average with an interesting street view.Hotel is located beside a piazza where local people socialise, eat, drink, barbecue and do business etc. - they are very friendly and will be delighted if you wish to join in ! - an authentic introduction to life in Palermo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubliner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,286 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#23 of 98 in Palermo
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,827 reviews
Hotel Joli
#22 of 98 in Palermo
608 reviews
Hotel Posta
#28 of 98 in Palermo
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Borgo

Address: Via Quintino Sella 1/7, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $59 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vecchio Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vecchio Borgo is the ideal starting point either for a holiday or a business stay. Just a few steps from Via Libertà, Via Ruggero Settimo and Via Roma, you will definitively have much to see and enjoy. The elegant Politeama Theatre, jewel of the 19th century architecture, is just five minutes’ walk and the astonishing Massimo Theatre, the third biggest theatre in Europe, is only ten minutes’ walk. Every other renowned monument and museum, from the Medieval Age to the Contemporary one, is easily reachable by foot. Moreover, the best restaurants and cafés which are situated all along this area will definitively be the unmissable destination for the most exigent gourmet. All 32 rooms are joyfully colourful, soundproofed, parquet flooring, air-conditioned and furnished with poster-bed, free internet wireless connection, LCD television, minibar, electronic safe and direct phone. Bathrooms are decorated with fine marble and furnished with hydro massage shower, towelling bathrobe and slippers and guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Borgo Hotel
Hotel Vecchio Borgo Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing