We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value”
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location and value”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This older hotel is well-located, a few minutes walk from the RR station and airport bus, and also a few minutes walk from most of the sites in the downtown area. Comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, elevator, good value for the price. There is a lovely terrace overlooking the city, which is a long flight of stairs up from the final elevator stop. Excellent breakfast served on the terrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    511
    136
    27
    13
See reviews for
175
636
59
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in Sicily. The hotel was excellent, beautiful room with a high ceiling and big window looking out onto Palermo. The air conditioning worked really well. The staff were all very friendly and professional.
But the biggest plus with the hotel is their roof terrace which has magnificent views of Palermo. You can enjoy and drink here in the evening and watch the sunset. And the prices of the drinks are reasonable.
The location of the hotel is a few minutes walk to the bus/train station and within walking distance of the city attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviddooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dearest Guest,
we appreciated very much your message, and all of us thank you very much and wait for you again.
Best wishes
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a great little boutique hotel for a great price! The entrance to this hotel is off of the busy street leading to the central train station (5 min walk) in Palermo. The entrance is nice, with a check in desk at ground floor. The rest of the hotel, including a second reception area, is up the small elevator on the 5th floor. The rooms (we stayed twice in two different rooms) are a little small for American standards, a little large for European standards. Decoration is typical for a nice little hotel in this class. The windows have two full closing layers plus shutters, great for keeping all of the sounds of the City out. Lovely tile in the spotless and well-equipped bathrooms and the showers are significantly bigger than most "shower coffins" in this part of Italy. The small upper lobby, bar, and sitting area are nicely decorated, though unmanned when we were there. If you had a small group, this would be a nice area to gather.

What makes this hotel so great is the roof bar and restaurant. The view over Palermo is incredible. You can see the whole City, and marvel at the architectural diversity as the setting sun turns everything a dusty pink and thousands of swallows take over the sky. You can also see that there aren't other many other amazing rooftops like this in Palermo. Great wine, nice selection of bar food, good dinner with all of the local favorites served in interesting ways. With one exception, service was good. Breakfast is served here, too.

On the small streets behind the hotel there is a great hipster adult-level bar scene. Small locally run watering holes with (frequently) english names and outdoor seating. "The Bukowski" is a standout, but they are all great.

I really do recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, staff reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
we all thank you so much for your message ,it is very precious for us
We are happy you loved the terrace, the view, breakfast and all and we hope to see you again.
Kindest regards
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hotel is Excellently locate to all sights around Palermo, Airport bus & Train Station (roughly 150 meter). The personnel are all very pleasant helpful both at the reception and rooftop terrace - makes us feeling very welcome in our 1st visit to Sicily.
Breakfast - the rooftop terrace view is magnificent. The Breakfast is simple, healthy, pleasantly spread-out with a touch of local fruits - can't demand more if its going to help us keeping healthy.

Would highly recommend to anyone who aren't too demanding and enjoys walking around the city. Furthermore, it's very central to all sights and with great selection of eateries across Via Roma towards Ballaro and Capo (Sicilian & Mediterranean food) or behind Kalsa (North African and Arabic food).

Room Tip: We were located on the 1st floor facing a building under renovation but there is an airway between o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
"make you feeling very welcome" is our peculiarity, and now we are very pleasand to read you have a so good consideration of us.
We'll wait for your came back, and we all send you our
Best regards
Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is comfortable and the staff very accommodating. The small elevator holds 2 people only with luggage, so if you are checking in with a group, there is some waiting time. We had a room on the 6th floor. Be warned, this floor does not have elevator access. Elevator goes to 5th floor and then there is a flight of marble stairs. The upside is you are closest to the rooftop terrace which is wonderful. We had a great breakfast here each morning (juicing blood red oranges--messy but delicious). We also had wine and ate dinner here. Everything was excellent. The rooms are somewhat dark, but spacious and with air conditioning. The bathroom was fine except that the shower is so small that you cannot bend down to get the soap or shampoo (ours had no shelf or space for these up higher). If you are a larger person, this could be a problem. The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the square where the airport shuttle drops off and picks up. If you buy a roundtrip ticket at the airport it is cheaper. The hotel is also close to many attractions, plus is on the bus line. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are on the 6th floor you can sometimes hear noise from the terrace and kitchen above. They cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamele_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for three nights. Our room was spacious and clean, bed was comfy and the shower roomy. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the Via Roma, so if you leave the windows open you're bound to hear some noise, but they do have air conditioning. There is free wifi which worked well for me. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. We did have dinner here one night, but we thought it was only average.
The best part of this hotel was the rooftop terrace. What an amazing view! After returning from sightseeing all day, we would sit back, relax, and have a drink on the terrace. The two young men working the bar and restaurant were attentive and polite. A perfect way to end an exhausting day.
We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile


Beautiful views from the rooftop terrace. Friendly staff at the main reception desk and at breakfast time. Great location to get around and see Palermo.
Breakfast not so great. Room was small and could hardly move in the shower cubicle. Wi-fi very temperamental and not working in the room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fatafeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
957 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 101 in Palermo
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing