We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel”
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very very very good
Personaliteit it was one of the best hotels i dus the
The last tearoom
My wife and i were very happy to chose this hotel in the
Centre of palermo
It was also a good restaurant and a marvalous view of the
Skyline of palermo

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in the middle of August. Excellent location - in the old city, close to all tourist sites, railway station and buses (if you like traveling like locals - we do!). Good restaurant. Most important - the staff! Everyone is with a smile and very helpful. My wife had a back problem while we stayed there. Everyone took part in helping. We got the reference to a doctor (thank you. Aida!), place to have an x-ray done (thank you, Gabriele!). It all starts from the management - Aida, Mario and the staff - Francesca (with a wonderful smile!), Gabriele, Enzo, Fabiane, Simona, Alessandra, Meline, Ileania, Violetta, Benedette. And, sorry forgot your name, a Nigerian man that all sorts of jobs. Sorry if I misspelled anyone's names. Thank you for making our stay a pleasure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanbrat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has a central location with a few minutes walking from the central station and the flight bus terminal. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms differ, there may be some street noise from some of them. The air condition is working. The main asset is the roof terrace where breakfeast is served with a splendid view of the city. In the evening you can enjoy the view with dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t0raasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in July, 4 of us in 2 adjacent rooms. The hotel was very convenient to the old town. The room rates were good. The Terrace was lovely, with a great view, and eating breakfasts and having pre-dinner drinks there was very nice. The breakfasts were good enough, with pre-prepared eggs in addition to ham, cheese, rolls, pastries, juice, coffee (cappucino on request), and melon. Probably the best breakfast variety and quality of our Italy/Sicily trip. The dinner we ate there was just OK.

We arrived with a car, and were able to unload in the front with no problem, then park in a nearby garage with little trouble (however, we caution anyone driving to/in Palermo as the streets are difficult to negotiate without a good navigation device such as the iPhone maps because there are tricky one-way streets, the drivers drive like mad-men, the pedestrians pop out of nowhere, and the streets are narrow).

The room was spacious, but the window view was a wall. There was no outside air option, but also no traffic noise, and the AC worked well. The lighting in the room was dim (even when the CFL's warmed up). WIFI didn't work well in the room, and often didn't work in the adjacent hall, only up top in the Terrace or next to the front desk (on the 5th floor). WIFI was important to us because we wanted to preload maps and routes onto our devices (iPhone/iPad) for our sightseeing, which included some car trips, without turning on our cellular data.

The bed was typical-Italian hard, but we found it fine. Our room was quiet and clean. The staff was helpful getting us to Mondello beach for a day-trip (not sure that was worthwhile, but it was an experience and our first beach on Sicily) and finding us good nearby restaurants for dinner (which were great). We recommend this hotel for travelers to Palermo, even those with cars. Would give 4.5 stars if I could, but 4 stars seems a bit unfair, so 5 it is.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside (the wall) are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the Ambasciatori Hotel, and it was really impressive. Service was great, staff friendliness super and with a great location. The bar and restaurant on the 6th floor makes it for a little oasis in the center of vibrant Palermo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorenalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station and airport bus. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. We were asked if we could like a street room with a view or a room in the back with no view. Thinking about noise from the main road we went with the back room and had a very quite night. The views from the roof terrace were very good. We only stayed on night on our way home and we were glad not to be spending more time in Palermo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGoingonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was ok, but just ok.

Here are my issues with the hotel:
- It specifically says rooms are sound proof on its website. Whilst they do have double glazing, it is certainly not sound proof. Rooms near terrace suffer from noise above and other rooms have street noise.
- Gym: There is no point advertising having a gym if weight machine and other cardio machines are broken. This is not a gym but 1 treadmill in a storage room.

Now for the positives:
- Close to train station and airport bus
- Central Location
- Nice view from terrace

Not likely to stay at this hotel again. The Mecure' and Cristal Palace seemed to be of similar price range and looked alot nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,310 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
482 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#11 of 98 in Palermo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $66 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing