We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Days in Palermo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 Days in Palermo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent hotel with great location for exploration of Palermo by foot. The roof terrace where breafast is served and the evening dinner can be enjoyed provides a spectaculair view of Palermo. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verokoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed our terrace and tried our restaurant
We wait for you to return
the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    494
    129
    26
    12
See reviews for
171
601
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The Ambasciatori blends affordable 3 star room quality with 5 star amenities. The hotel is located centrally on Via Roma, about a 10 minute walk from the waterfront and close to shopping, several outdoor markets, bars and restaurants. Our room was small but well appointed, though neither our tv nor refrigerator worked with regularity. We didn't mind however, because the air conditioning kept us cool when it was scorching outside. The Internet was free, fast and could be accessed from the comfort of our room. Our one complaint is that we were very close to the reception, so at times it was noisy. The highlight of the hotel (and the reason we would highly recommend to other travelers) is the view from rooftop terrace where breakfast and dinner is served. (There is also a little known sun deck one level above the terrace.) I do suggest making a reservation for dinner at the front desk. Lastly, the staff were very friendly and helpful, allowing us a late check out at noon. We would welcome another chance to stay here. (Note for travelers who find it difficult to climb stairs - the reception is on the 5th floor. There is a tiny elevator that barely fits 2 people with one suitcase each. Otherwise, it is an impressive climb.)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marthapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were having a whistlestop trip of Sicily with our first overnight stay in Palermo. Palermo was dirty and a nightmare to drive in but once having found the Ambasciatori it more than recovered the day. Parking was in the street alongside in an area reserved for guests. Note that the hotel is on the Via Roma which is one way so you need to get it right first time or have to go round the one way system again. Once inside the hotel is like an oasis, with good service, big airey rooms and clean bathrooms. There are a number of stairs to get to each floor although a single lift is available. The crowning glory of the hotel is its terrace which is simply stunning! We had drinks in beautiful surroundings and then had a great dinner overlooking the Duomo's of Palermo. Meal wasn't cheap but considering the location made it worth it. We ate breakfast on the terrace which was also fab.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianj3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dearest guest,
you are right when say that is hard to drive in palermo.
Our terrace is an oasis within this jungle so we always offer the possibility to have drinks and dinner at the sunset in front of the most beautiful view of the city.
Hope to see you again soon
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in a family room with two young children. The furniture was gloriously ornate, the ceilings were high, the beds were huge and comfy. Shutters blocked out all light and most of the noise so we all managed our siesta. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the roof is everything you expect from the photos. Worth noting ladies: there are some fabulous, and inexpensive, shoe shops on Via Roma! Step out of the hotel and turn right...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum2cookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive comment and for words you used to describe us.
We always appreciate positive comments! Specially when we have very king guest like you.
Thanks again from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Staying at the Ambasciatori made our return to Palermo very pleasant. The location is great, the hotel interior is very nice and, yes, the rooftop terrace for breakfast is stunning. Good value for the room. A bit of noise from the street at night, but we sleep with earplugs anyway! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Itay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was just at this hotel over this past weekend. The terrace is phenomenal as was the food and the staff. I concure with other guests that it was not ideal for sleeping. The beds were very hard, although the pillows were phenomenal! My room as small, but very nice but it was too close to the reception area. It was very noisy. From the terrace above me, to the hotel staff at the front desk, to the maids cleaning. The evening was better than in the morning. It was loud from like 6am on... The hotel was not as convenient to everything as I would liked it to have been. If you are coming in from the central station it is ideal for you. Head out the main entrance, head straight on Via Roma (directly across the station) and it will be on your right hand side. The hotel sight is right next to a bright greem pharmacy cross.

I will say that the La Locanda restraunt a few blocks up was AMAZING and the owner of the electronic store next to the hotel was very nice. He charged my camera battery for me and even invited me to eat something while I waited.

All in all, not a bad experience at all, but I left tired and sore from the hard bed. I would more than likely stay elsewhere the next time.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on by the reception desk..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmersinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

So I really liked this hotel, it's well-positioned, comfortable and has a lovely terrace. It's just that the the staff could just be a little more friendly. They were not generous in responding to questions concerning where to eat and other neighborhood information. You got the sense that you were a bother. So take it for what it is, a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a room with a view. The windows are shuttered and don't open. But you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Brunaccini
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing