We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm with lovely staff”
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were really impressed by this place. Palermo is a buzzing city, and it's nice to escape to such a tranquil place. The hotel has a chic interior and is much nicer than what we expected considering the price. Our room was very clean and a good size (the bathroom was huge). The staff were lovely and spoke very good English (and French). The roof terrace has amazing views of Palermo and is a great place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine in the afternoon sun. We also ate a very nice dinner here. All in all, a great find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kattyt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, reception Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear guest,
we too consider our terrace like an oasis where have some relax in a chaotic city like Palermo.
We only hope you will come back again for more days to explore our beautiful city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed with friends in the Ambasciatori Hotel in May, 2013. Our stay was very enjoyable. We had a room on the front by the street and had no problems with noise. The room was a great size, was clean, and a value for the money. The rooftop terrace is where breakfast and dinner are served each day. We loved to go up to the terrace for a drink late in the afternoon. We had dinner there once and it was just okay. The menu is very restricted. The breakfast was the typical breakfast each morning with ham and cheese, cereal, breads, fresh juices, etc. The staff was slow in refilling the food on the buffet and people sometimes had to wait 15 minutes for the refill.
The reception is on the ground floor and you have to walk up about 6 steps to the next floor to catch the elevator. The hotel is in a convenient location within walking distance of many attractions. Overall, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwlanclos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very nice room. We had two fresh baby beds and still room for us. Very fresh room and bathroom. Beautiful terrass, with excellent breakfast incl freshly squeezed orange juice (you squeeze it yourselves. Located in the middle of Palermo. We will go here next time we are in Palermo as well.

Room Tip: We were in 302. It was great with a balcony towards Via Roma
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Guests,
we are glad to read your positive review, it's always a pleasure for us to satisfy our guest0s requests and to hear that you remember your stay here, even when your holiday is over.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this so called hotel with a beautiful terrace overlooking Palermo in May 2013. The problems we had with the hotel were many, but the biggest was the fact that the hotel sells itself by having this beautiful terrace overlooking all of Palermo. While it is true that the terrace was very nice the hotel stops it own hotel guest from enjoying it because it books private parties on the terrace. The hotel was not truthful about the use of the terrace. We enjoyed it at night only once during our 3 night stay. Very disappointing........ The hotel needs to decide if it's a hotel or a host for private parties. Also, they had promised us a nice dinner on the terrace for our 35th anniversary. Two days before our arrival the hotel emailed us to advise us that the dinning room was closed that night. The room we had overlooked Via Roma and was nice except the air conditioning didn't work. We let the staff know about this issue and they said that it would be fixed when we got back from our day of exploring Palermo. When we got back the air conditioning still blew out warm air, and the staff didn't think it was that bad. This was our anniversary night. The staff at the front desk said that the first repairman wasn't able to fix it, but another repairman would come tomorrow. This was unacceptable, so we changed rooms on our anniversary night. The hotel made reservations for us at what they said was the best restaurant in Palermo. We looked at the restaurant during the day and discovered it was in a back alley and had garbage staked 5 feet high all along the wall next to the restaurant. While changing rooms we told the hotel that this restaurant was not suitable for our 35th anniversary dinner. They got mad and reserved another restaurant 20 minutes away. While walking less than 5 minutes from the hotel to the other restaurant the hotel had reserved we discovered a very nice place to eat, and were treated very well. I asked the restaurant owner to give me a couple of business cards so we could give to the hotel. He told us that he doesn't pay them for referrals. We let the hotel staff know about this nice restaurant and they didn't want the card. Very sad............ Also, the breakfast was the worst we have ever had in 4 trips to Italy. It is sad that this hotel doesn't provide good service to the guest. They cater to to private parties and do not care about their hotel guest. I would not recommend this hotel, and do not like writing this kind of review. It's important that you are aware of this hotels treatment of its guest before booking. We hope this review helps NOTE: The morning we departed the hotel to go home we found cockroaches it our room!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LMotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
thanks a lot for choosing our hotel and leaving a review on tripadvisor.com.
We carefully pay attention to our guests' comments, especially to the negative ones, because they represent an opportunity to improve us and our work, but we must admit that your comment left us very saddened.
Our staff greeted you with the kindness and enthusiasm that is typical of us, taking you to a room with the most amazing view of the city, according to your request.
Before your arrival, we put in your room a plate of seasonal fresh fruit to celebrate your 35th wedding anniversary. That plate was then left empy in the corridor ( and maybe this could be representative of the lack of manners of such a guest.).
Concerning the dinner at our restaurant: realizing that Monday was our weekly day off, we sent you an e-mail in advance to inform you about that. In any case, at the check in you were been told that our lounge bar was open every day from 5pm to 11pm and that you could have enjoyed it at your pleasure. We reserved a table for you at Sant'Andrea, one of the best restaurant in the old town centre, also well valued on tripadvisor. We can assure that the gargabe you saw next to the restaurant in the afternoon would have been removed in the next hours, and your statement does not invalidate the uncontested quality of the restaurant in any way.
Furthermore, it's not true that we rejected the business cards of the restaurant you finally went to, "Le delizie di Cagliostro": we took the cards and told you that it was one the restaurant we usually suggest to our guests.
We regret for the troubles with the air conditioning. When we realized there was no way to fix the problem in a short time, we immediately moved you in room similar to the previous one, a DELUXE room, without modifying the price.
Our breakfast has always been appreciated by our guests, thanks to the union of the breathtaking view from the roof terrace and the employment of fresh local goods and handmade cakes. To offer the best service ever.
We also state that in the event of particular happenings, the terrace is fully available for our guests, and that has never created a disservice, being the lounge bar and the restaurant at their constant disposal. This is to underline that also during private parties we pay the greatest attention to the comfort and serenity of our guests.
We absolutely deny the presence of cockroaches or other insect inside the rooms. The deluxe room that hosted you is one of the most beautiful and recently renovated we have and we have never received such a complaint, neither we were been told at the check out by you.
We know that inconveniences may always occur, but our staff is always availble and prepared to give all the assistance needed in case they happen.
Negative reviews are very important for us because they continually help us to improve our service, as widely demonstrated by the elevated number of positive reviews on tripadvisor and by our high ranking position.
In this case, we had the unpleasant sensation that this review has been written only to damage us.
However, we'll keep doing our duty and make our guests feel like home and cuddle them from the beginning to the end of their stay here.
The management

Gentile cliente,
la ringraziamo per aver scelto la nostra struttura e per aver lasciato un commento su trip advisor.
Notiamo però con rammarico che, nonostante valutiamo sempre con attenzione i commenti sull’hotel, utilizzando quelli negativi come valore aggiunto per migliorarci, questo Suo commento ci lascia molto amareggiati.
Il nostro staff vi ha accolti con il solito entusiasmo e cortesia, accompagnandovi in una delle stanze dalla quale si gode la vista più bella, esaudendo la vostra richiesta.
Ci siamo premurati anche di farvi trovare in camera un piatto con frutta di stagione visto che festeggiavate il vostro 35mo anniversario, che poi,dopo avere mangiato, è stato abbandonato  in corridoio (ci dispiace dirlo ma  a questo punto abbiamo capito la qualità e la sensibilità degli ospiti ).
Per la cena al nostro ristorante:  accortosi che il giorno da voi scelto corrispondeva alla chiusura settimanale, vi abbiamo prontamente avvisato via mail prima del vostro arrivo ricordando anche al check in che il nostro lounge bar è sempre aperto, offrendoci comunque di riservare un tavolo in uno di migliori ristoranti del centro storico, il Sant’andrea, quotato su trip advisor. Siamo sicuri che la spazzatura trovata vicino al ristorante nel pomeriggio stava per essere rimossa, e questo non va comunque ad inficiare l’indiscussa qualità del ristorante.
Non è vero inoltre, che quando ci avete portato il biglietto da visita da visita del ristorante Le Delizie di Cagliostro, da voi scelto, l’abbiamo rifiutato; abbiamo preso il biglietto dicendo che è tra i ristoranti della zona che consigliamo.
Ci spiace dei problemi con il condizionatore, d’altronde, quando ci siamo resi conto di non poter riparare velocemente il guasto,  ci siamo prontamente adoperati per fornirvi un’altra stanza che rispecchiasse comunque le vostre richieste, nella fattispecie una camera deluxe, che vi abbiamo dato senza la richiesta di sovrapprezzo alcuno.
La nostra colazione è sempre stata apprezzata dai nostri clienti, in quanto connubio tra la meravigliosa vista dalla terrazza e l’utilizzo di prodotti locali freschissimi e dolci fatti in casa . Questo per offrire sempre il miglior servizio possibile.
Confermiamo che anche in presenza di eventi nella terrazza , la stessa è ampiamente fruibile da tutti i nostri clienti e questo non ha mai comportato un disservizio nei loro confronti, con il nostro ristorante e il  lounge bar panoramico sempre a loro disposizione. Questo per sottolineare il fatto che anche durante le  feste private poniamo sempre la massima attenzione al comfort e alla tranquillità dei nostri ospiti.
Neghiamo assolutamente la presenza di scarafaggi o altri insetti nelle stanze. La camera deluxe nella quale vi abbiamo ospitato è una delle più belle e più nuove e non abbiamo mai ricevuto lamentele di questo tipo da altri clienti, nè comunque ci è stato fatto notare da voi al momento della partenza.
Sappiamo che gli inconvenienti possono capitare, ma il nostro staff è sempre disponibile e preparato a dare tutta l’assistenza possibile nel caso essi avvengano.
Le recensioni negative per noi sono molto importanti in quanto sono lo strumento per migliorare continuamente il nostro servizio, e ciò è ampiamente dimostrato dall’altissimo numero di commenti positivi ricevuti su tripadvisor e dalle prime posizioni da noi occupate in classifica.
In questo caso però, abbiamo avuto la spiacevole impressione che questa recensione sia stata fatta solo allo scopo di danneggiarci.
Tuttavia noi continueremo a fare il nostro dovere e a far sentire i nostri ospiti come a casa loro e coccolati dal momento dell'arrivo fino  alla loro partenza.
La direzione.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

in crazy palermo a cozy place ! at the top of an old palermo building an elegant simple hotel ! nice utmostly clean , fully equpped rooms with ac , shower and tv ! AND , last but not least , a fabulous terrace where u can enjoy drinks and dinner while watching palermo roofs at night ! very efficient and friendly team ! the hotel is 300 meters away from palermo rail station and bus transfers to the airport ! i speak italian and enjoy each time my stay there ! so don't hesitate , book it ! and when leaving the hotel , on the right side along via roma , have a dinner at the proverbio , a plain sicilian restaurant , full of locals

Room Tip: 5 th floor , rooms 509 or 510
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t2803h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Guests,
your review is really valuable for us, thanks for pledging your time!
It's nice to read that you enjoyed our city and above all , the breathtaking view from our panoramic terrace while drinking our cocktails!
Our best regards
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here a few times and always clean and well run. A fantastic sun deck and breakfast served on the balcony with views across the city. Always delicious selection of fresh croissants. I love the lift with manual doors too. Good location and free computer terminal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Sirs,
thans a lot for your nice review by the side of the whole staff . Our guests' opinion are always precious for us , positive or negative reviews helps us in the same way.
Kindest regards
The reception staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked earlier in the year and went by some of the TA reports. I was expecting a smaller, more B&B style place, but it was far better. We had room 101, which had a balcony over the street and two sets of doors plus shutter, so no street noise. AC meant we kept window shut at night. Yes, reception is on 5th floor via a 'doors shut and cage' lift but that doesn't matter really, apart from when it keeps passing you going up and down!
Staff were really pleasant and helpful all the time.
Breakfast was on the balcony as people mention. I think this makes the hotel, as the rest of the day you are out and about, so having breakfast in the open air in sunshine with a view is lovely, and beats other hotels in Palermo for this.
We arrived by train from the Cefalu (there are two train stations in Palermo this is the eastern one!) and we walked down via Roma straight to hotel - not too far at all.
For us, Palermo is good for 2 days visit. Be sensible and it really is safe enough. This end of town has more or a rough and ready feel to it (once off Via Roma) and the other (further west) part of town has the prada shops etc.
Taxi to airport is Euro 35 Mon to Sat and Euro 40 on a Sunday. 45mins or thereabouts.

Room Tip: Room 101. Balcony (not one you walk around on, but floor to ceiling doors that open for fresh air)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Reception Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Customers,
when we state that reviews are useful dfor us, we mean exactly what you have just written, you chose us basing on comments from previous guests.
And now , thanks to your review other people will choose us, after reading your personal experience here.
We hope to meet you again in the future, so that you can enjoythe wonderful view of the old town centre once again !
Best wishes
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Brunaccini
#18 of 98 in Palermo
554 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $57 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing