We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Palermo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to Taormina last summer and enjoyed Sicily so much we wanted to see more of the island so arranged a break, flying out with Ryanair and staying at the Ambasciatori. I've stayed in better hotels but they were 5-star Hiltons and the like. This is great value, clean and comfortable and well located which is what you want when you're on holiday. It's close the the station which is not only where the trains arrive, obviously, but also where the buses from the airport arrive and leave from. It's also only a short walk from the main sites - the Quattro Canti, cathedral etc. It also has free wi-fi and a PC with internet connection for free use by guests which is a big plus point for me. The breakfasts were more than adequate too. The only negatives I'd point out are that the lift is a bit antiquated so if someone leaves the doors open it won't work and you also have to walk up a short flight of stairs on the ground floor to get to the lift. Breakfast is on the 5th floor - spectacular view - and you also have to walk up a couple of flights to get there too, so anyone who has difficulty walking should beware. the only other criticism is that the wi-fi wasn't working on the 3rd floor so you had to go to the 5th floor to get a connection. Despite those minor irritations I'd strongly recommend the Ambasciatori.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff Reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind comment.
One of the pluses of our hotel is the location, in the heart of the city center and close to any part within it.
We know that, today, the wifi connection is very important, so we offer this service for free. We are improving it, extending its range.
Our building was built in the earlier 1900s, that’s why there are some stairs getting to the attic.
We hope you can enjoying your staying here again.
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    475
    117
    23
    12
See reviews for
160
569
50
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel in January 2013. The rooms were of a good size and clean. We enjoyed great breakfasts and have to make special mention of the fabulous Sicilian oranges which were available for guests to make their own juice. Words almost fail me. The orange juice was without doubt the best I had ever tasted. The rest of the breakfast on offer wasn't outstanding, but was nevertheless delicious, especially when we had a great view over the city, to the hills. As a family, we stayed in the two roomed-suite one level down from the breakfast room. The only downside was that the room under the kitchen was noisy, once staff were preparing for breakfast. Apart from that, the staff were always pleasant, we loved the old-fashioned lift, and thought the hotel was well-situated. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps not the room situated under the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff reception at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mrs Katherine,
first of all we all want to thank you for leaving your precious comment .
Oranges are one of the symbols of our beautiful island, and we are glad you appreciated our fresh juices. We will give you a quiet room when you will come back.
Thank you again for your kindness.
The staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel has an offsite residence as well. Our friends stayed there - really spacious but unless you're a large family, more room than you could possible need. Plus if you choose that, you do not get breakfast included. In the main hotel you have to check in on the ground floor but the lobby is on the second floor - elevators are tiny and a bit scary. Bring your camera to breakfast and plan to sit a while - the view from their breakfast terrace is breath-taking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comment.
We are glad you enjoyed the breath-taking panorama you had from our terrace, and hope you took some picture so you will always remember us.
We all hope to host you again
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
københavn
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice small hotel on Via Roma 200 meter (correct!) from Central Station. Situated at 5th and 6th floor with a roof terrace with a view which make you forget to down to the buzzling streets of Palermo again. The elevantor ride in an antique elevator put you in the right mood before you arrive at reception floor. Our room was very nice and the breakfast at the terrasse also superb. The staff was very helpful and friendly and multilingual. It will be our choice of hotel next time we visit Palermo. If you also compare quality with price - well why choose any other hotel in Palermo

Room Tip: smile when you arrive at the reception - it always help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uhuru342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The location and public areas are very good. The room was ok, clean and modern, however little details like hotel info, phone for reception was lacking. The breakfast was ok. All in all, average. There was a strange smell in the reception area, not sure what it was; it could have been from the wood. All in all, if I had to pick between this hotel and the Mercure we also stayed in, I would choose the Mercure, for quality v cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We use to give general information at check in time, or when we take guest in their rooms, like how to use room facilities or phone numbers to call the reception desk, and we are always ready to give any other kind of information/support.
Anyway, we will pay more attention to this aspect. About the smell you wrote about, probably was fresh paint, as we take advantage of the low season to do some renovation in hotel rooms, common areas or reception. We are sorry we left such a negative memory, we hope you change your mind and come back here to see how we improve our Hotel year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ambasciatori Hotel is just 200m from the central station of Palermo. It’s very clean and has a very beautiful taratza where you can have your breakfast. The only problem is that the wi-fi connection is very slow and you can have a good signal on 5 floors when you are close to the reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr_Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your comment. We are glad that our terrace has contributed to your pleasant stay here in Palermo. We have wifi signal problems in some areas of the Hotel, but it is due to the very large and dense wall of the building. Our terrace has a dedicated modem to work with internet enjoying the view of the city.
Anyway, we are managing to improve this aspect right now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Rooms were charming, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast is served on a rooftop terrace, where you can also have drinks and dinner with a glorious view of the city.
The front desk staff are very helpful and ready to provide a city map, directions, and recommendations for meals (though they'd love you to have all your dinners at the hotel).
A great place to stay, and good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mimi32810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear guest,
The title of your comment perfectly summarize what is our principal intent. To create an oasis in our beautiful and chaotic city. We created our terrace to give guest relax and improved this giving also the possibility to taste fresh drinks at sunset and flavorful tipical dishes at dinner.
Thank you for your kindness, we all hope to host you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#2 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#20 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing