We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambasciatori Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$125
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$289
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alma Hotel(Palermo)
$121
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
$214
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$674
$411
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$481
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
518
553
164
33
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
553
164
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracevia romatrain stationfifth floorbreakfast and dinnerlovely hotelcentral locationbusy streetcakesbreakfast roomroom was largeold cityexcellent breakfastthe air conditioningmain attractionsquattro cantimondello beach
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice hotel. Specific selling point is the beautifull roof terrace to enjoy a relaxing breakfast and diner with a magnificent view over Palermo.
Good situated in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel was full so I booked one of their apartments instead. It was in an apartment building round the corner and for a very reasonable price we got 2 double bedrooms, a small living room and a kitchen & bathroom. We were charmed with it - such a shame we didn't read the booking blurb and see it was situated in 'a lively area, with bars and clubs'! I stuffed my ears with cotton wool and got a good night's sleep anyway, but despite the excellent price and location (and the lovely hotel roof terrace where you get a free welcome drink on your first evening) - I'm not sure I'd risk an apartment in Santa Cecelia Pallazo again - but I would definitely try to book into the Ambascutori hotel itself as it's location seems quieter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieWoWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely Hotel in central Palermo,well situated to see all the main sites by foot. The hotel is easy to reach from the station and the rooms extremely spacious, very clean and fresh, and with traditional decor. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the food delicious.... There are Striking views from the terrace of the city... There really wasn't anything I found to fault this hotel. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dearest Guest,
many , many thanks from all the staff!!
Our objective is to make our customers feel good and with our warm welcome we want you to feel at home!!
See you again
The reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great place to have a drink when the sun sets. The view is absolutely breathtaking. Dinner is average, a bit overpriced. The swordfish is very nice though! Service was a bit disappointing.

Thank Veerle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Ambasciatori Hotel is very centrally located however the main reception is situated on the 5th floor of a fairly old building with internal access via a flight of stone steps or a ancient single Otis lift capable of carrying a maximum of 4 people.
This is not a hotel for senior citizens, families with very small children who need buggies or the disabled.
During our three night stay, the lift was often in use by others (cleaners, deliveries etc.) and on more than one occasion, it was inoperative due to previous passengers not having closed the internal double doors or gate properly. With the hotel bedrooms rooms situated on the 3rd, 5th & 6th floor this often meant a tiring walk up or down the stairs.
Due to a delay with our flight from London, my wife and I arrived at 9:30pm. We were warmly greeted by the staff and taken to our room on the 3rd floor.
Unfortunately this room proved unacceptable due to construction work being carried out on the adjacent property. We were unable to open our windows in the morning as scaffolding had been pinned across and we were woken early the following morning at 7:30am by the sound of Kango drill hammers being liberally applied to the structure. In addition the bathroom shower was faulty, the room safe didn't work and the whole room had a sense of being tired and drab with ripped upholstery and peeling wall paint in the bathroom.
Ironically we had booked a 'quiet room' but clearly this message was lost on the staff allocating the original room.
In the morning we spoke with reception who were very helpful and by lunchtime had relocated us to a 5th floor room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable albeit the bathroom were very compact with just a shower and no bath. The in-room TV service did not provide any English language programmes however I did find one French news channel amongst the myriad of Italian shopping programmes. There was also no hotel documentation in the rooms regarding facilities or services available.
Free internet access was provided via one PC workstation located in the stair lobby and all worked fine.
The breakfast/restaurant dining area was located on the 7th floor accessible only by a narrow staircase. Due to poor weather we were unable to eat outside during our stay. The roof terrace had incredible views over the rooftops of Palermo and is the main benefit of staying in this hotel.
Breakfast was as expected with minimal hot food but plenty of fruit, yoghurt and croissants on the menu.Toast was not available but the coffee was excellent.
Evening dinner was served in the same covered area with booking essential when the weather was poor due to the limited space. In general the quality of the food was good if a little expensive. The choice of wine was excellent with generous measures provided. All the staff were very attentive and genuinely seemed willing to assist.
Undoubtedly the thunderstorms and heavy rain we experienced during our stay in Palermo had a detrimental effect on many city venues including our hotel with little in the way of live music available due to cancellation and various restaurants and shops suffering leaks or minor flooding.
The view from the terrace of the hotel was spectacular particular after the storm when a most beautiful rainbow could be seen over the city.
To conclude the Ambasciatori Hotel was very reminiscent of other Italian city hotels located in older properties. The staff were generally most helpful however if a little more attention was paid to the service in general, I can't help but think this would be an even better hotel.

Room Tip: Specify a 5th floor room for convenience and facing the main Via Roma road for the best rooftop views just be mindful of it being slightly noisier in the evening on this side.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews