We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Within Walking Distance & Stunning Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Federico II - Central Palace
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Within Walking Distance & Stunning Breakfast”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Located centrally in Palermo, this hotel ensures that you can reach almost every hot spot within walking distance. The rooms are large and have a classic decor, but would need a makeover soon. One of the walls in our bathroom had a water problem and needs painting, but I didn't take any pictures as my positive overall impression was better than the flaw.
Yet, I was missing a mirror in the room as well more TLC in the bathroom. On the other hand the flat screen tv of a quite unusual size for a hotel room and the fast WiFi network showed that priorities were given to different things.
The breakfast which was included in the price was awesome. Beautifully set in a large room in the 5th floor, a rich buffet, excellent coffee making skills and very friendly service expect you. Very recommendable!
We will be back in Palermo for business and certainly will book this hotel again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AKKCDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    121
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
77
17
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Despite being well located and super inviting for the outside, the hotel its not really 5 stars!
The hotel is not bad but also not what it suggests.
The rooms are old, median beds ... nothing special!!!
Do not worth the price!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fabiloefadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

i use this hotel mostly for business, but is in the city center and if you need also a holiday hotel this is in the right position. in few minutes you can reach the best shops of the city.
rooms are large but a litte old (vintage ..),
the "junior" is very large with a private balcony
the hotel lies in a little silent street
breakfast is good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengiua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Driving in Palermo is a stressful experience so we were pleased when we arrived that the porter took the car away and parked it. The hotel was clean professional and everything worked. Breakfast was OK and the room was very comfortable. WiFi worked in the room and it was a good base for exploration as one could walk to sites such as the Capella Palatina. Would happily stay there again.
As we were leaving the receptionist remembered that there was a charge for parking on the first night and then waived the charge. Its only a couple of Euros, but it showed that they put the guests first.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aligern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel with my partner and have to immediately say that it was a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

We stayed two nights, the first night we flew into Palermo and the last night before we flew home.

To get to the hotel from Statione Centrale which we were advised to go to when we arrived we had to take a taxi which cost €15. The next morning the hotelier got us a taxi back to the Station for €10. This was a hidden cost which we weren't expecting and I always feel that this information should be made known - especially for people with a budget.

The reception and general appearance of the hotel is very nice. I was very surprised to notice that a star had been removed from the hotel, i.e. it was downgraded from a 5 star to a 4 star. I think the hotel should make a better effort to hide this on their signs.

The staff were super friendly and helpful. They gave us maps and told us where to go and were generally available whenever we needed them. They advised us on how to best travel to our next destination and on our return were very familiar with us and made us feel at home.

The rooms and bathrooms are of top quality, especially the second room which we were given a balcony. The facilities were of top quality also in that the towels, bath robes and washing facilities were very good. The bath was perfect with lots of hot water to relax in.

The food and service in the dining room was definitely better the second day that we stayed there. The coffee, which the waiter serves to you personally in your own pot was the best coffee which we had the whole trip. There is a wide variety of food to choose from and the dining area is very clean.

Overall, it was an extremely positive experience and myself and my partner will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LusciousLiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

With 50 euros per night for 3 nights, we weren't hoping for much just that it would be clean and safe. This was above our expectations and we were happy with our decision.

We arrived early off the ferry and had requested an early check in but couldn't because the hotel was fully booked the night before. Anyhow they offered us an area to freshen up and to store our stuff. We asked for some local knowledge of beaches which they were more than happy to help with. They even research tranport options for us to get to other places, but the recommendation of Marbella beach was absolutely spot on!

We checked in quite late and was led to our room. The room was very large and had is own private balcony! The bathroom was also large and have a lovely shower with bathrobes and soft towels.

The beds were a little lumpy, but the room felt very clean and safe. I did notice there was a little water damage above the bed, but didnt really bother me. It does have the feel that it needs a bit of looking after. But for 50 euros a night I am not complaining!

The area around the hotel is not very appealing, however I feel that this is Palermo in general. It is quite dirty and has its fair share of nutters in the city. The hotel is central to the harbour, bus links also the airport bus transfers.

I would recommend this place, but just have a few day trips planned outside of the area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKiwi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here while our one week stay in Palermo this summer. The location on the hotel is perfect, short walking distance to main shopping streets and restaurants.
The staff was friendly, and almost all of them spoke ok english.
The breakfast was ok, but the same every day. On the plus side, you will get whatever kind of coffee you want, and the staff at the breakfast buffet is very friendly.
The aircondition in the room was very noisy, and was constantly switching on and off, unless you had it at max heat, or max cold. The beds were way to hard for my taste.
The staff in the reception was allways helpful, and ordered us taxi whenever we needed one, and came with some good recomendations. And when it was time to leave, the offered us a ride to the airport, for a fee of 50€.
All in all a good hotel, in a great location, with ok value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#28 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#23 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federico II - Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federico II - Central Palace

Property: Hotel Federico II - Central Palace
Address: Via Principe di Granatelli 60, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Federico II - Central Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance of the Court of Frederick II it reflects in this beautiful 4 star hotel, located in the very heart of Palermo City center.Our Hotel born from the restoration of the old Palace of Prince Granatelli and through an expert architectural revalidation that turned it into a refined environment, decorated with antique furnishings and paintings.The enviable location of the hotel, situated in a quiet and residential area, exactly halfway from both main Theatres of Palermo- The Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and the Massimo Theatre, makes of it an ideal place both for those who are travelling for business or who wants to have a nice and relaxed holiday in Palermo.Our staff remains at Your disposal , and will ensure You all the assistance and help to discover all the particular and characteristic corners of the historical Town and directions to find the most fashionable and exclusive shopping area, all this in order to make Your stay a very special one!The Entrance of the Grand Hotel Federico II, opens to an elegant foyer that leads into several spacious lounges lovingly furnished.The lounge bar with the adjacent reading room, may offer You relaxed hours choosing between an assorted selection of teas, herbal infusions, and local distilled.For a more enjoyable and comfortable stay, The Hotel offers guests’ disposal:Reception and Concierge service open 24 Hours;Luggage Storage;Wi-Fi free throughout the Hotel;Reservation – purchase airline Tickets / web Check-in;Office Services (telefax-photocopies);Outdoor parking area for luggage loading and unloading;Secure Car Park on request with payment;Assistance for service to rent a car with or without Driver;Shuttle service from/to Airport on request with payment;Laundry Service;Meeting rooms with technical equipment;Spaces for events, celebrations and meetings;Restaurants and banquets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Federico II - Central Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Hotel Federico II - Central Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing