We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a bad hotel but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Federico II - Central Palace
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not a bad hotel but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed twice for business for two nights each in April and May 2012. The hotel is not bad, has very large rooms and is clean. They supply slippers and robes in the rooms. One room had only a shower (no big deal as I never take baths) and the other a bath/shower. The bathrooms were also stocked with small bottles of their own shower gel/shampoo/lotion.

Free Wifi is provided by the hotel.
The location is excellent and right around the corner from the airport bus stop-Politeama.

The room decor is nothing special and pretty spartan. Although not a fault of the hotel, the American Bar/Restaurant which is right across the street plays extremely loud music very late into the night. I travel with ear plugs, and both times I could still hear the music. This seems to be a problem with most rooms as most face the street.

The breakfast buffet is one of the worst breakfast buffets I've encountered during my many business trips to Italy. Stale breads, stale cakes, eggs that you wouldn't want to eat, fruit salad which consists of cut up pieces of apples and canned fruit. Yogurt and cereal. The staff working in the restaurant room stood around and chatted most of the time. A lot of updating needs to be done here. The breakfast was, well, disgusted as agreed upon between myself and my colleague.

If you can get a good price, then the hotel is acceptable. Just bring your own ear plugs and have breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    117
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
75
16
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is good located in the centre of Palermo. We liked the location, but we didn't felt comfortable because of the old furniture and the relative small window overlooking an interior patio. Just good for one night stay, and somehow depressing. Cannot recommend the restaurant because of the very slow service during diner!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blimele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albenga, Italy
Level Contributor
198 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Federico II for 3 days. The best thing about the hotel is its location in the shopping district of Palermo. Its is at 20 metres from Via Principe di Belmonte, 50 metres from Via Maqueda and Via Roma.
Until last year the hotel was classified as 5 stars. Now it is a 4 stars, which better correspond to the actual standard of the place. Staff at reception were efficient but not particularly friendly. The old bell boy not friendly at all. The room was spacious and clean, provided also with turndown service (not very common in Italian 4 stars hotels). Breakfast was okay except one day, when the buffet was prepared on the terrace with half of the products.
No fitness centre instead of what you will see on their brochures. Good valet parking at 16 euros per day. We got an excellent deal, so it was good for us. At full price, prefer the Grand Hotel Wagner nextdoor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a really good hotel in a great location - don't expect people to speak english automatically - they don't. I was a little disapointed as the buffet breakfast was supposed to be served until 10.00am and staff were actively clearing it away by 9.20 - get there early as the quality is good. The Turkish bath and sauna were also not working/being upgraded - would have been useful to know as those factors helped me select this hotel in the first place. I would stay again though

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank paulrees1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in the Federico II for one week (end of December 2011). Enjoyed Palermo and was also related to the good location of the hotel. All major attractions are within walking distance. The hotel offered us a very spacious room and the breakfast had enough varieties to keep us satisfied for one week. The hotel has no parking space in front of the hotel, however has valet service to park your (rental) car in a nearby garage. Combined with a attractive rate, we enjoyed our stay very much.

Some minor negative observations; the safe is relatively small sized, so a laptop or iPad will not fit in and the bed was quite firm.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

It´s surely a 4 star hotel in a very good part of Palermo. A crossing of important avenues, with plenty of shops and bars, and bus stops. No budget restaurant around, unfortunately, even during high season. 3 minutes walk from Politeama, with a nice surround even during the evening. 25 minutes walking from train station. Bus from and to Punta Raisi only 2 blocks from the hotel. The street is a little bit noisy during season because of some bars, but nothing that could upset me, only people speaking, no music; the street is partially closed to cars. The hotel has an excellent appearance, immaculate clean, everyday cleaning service, rooms with a somewhat “ancient” and formal decoration and furniture, but very beautiful and with no mendings. Marvelous bed, but pillows a little bit hard to me. Tv, shower and bathtube, in a sophisticated bathroom. Nice view. Superb continental breakfast: fruits, tea, juice, bread, toasts, pies, biscuits, water, crispies, eggs etc, and always someone ready to bring you something you wanted besides all that! 2 lifts and staff to help you bring luggage even in the night. Internet included no limit and very fast, safe in bedroom included too. Huge entrance halls, Nice and helpful staff, very prepared. They kept my passport (I didn´t notice it) for a day, and that was strange… I got a promo for this hotel so I really don´t know if I could afford to pay for it next time, but if I could, surely I would be with them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Just recently returned from Hotel Fed and I can comfortably say it is a terrible hotel. When we arrived, 2 dbl rooms: one room with a broken shower and the other with faulty air conditioning. The price was high, 150Euro/rm, considering the shape of the hotel. I WOULD AVOID THIS HOTEL LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#28 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#13 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federico II - Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federico II - Central Palace

Property: Hotel Federico II - Central Palace
Address: Via Principe di Granatelli 60, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Federico II - Central Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance of the Court of Frederick II it reflects in this beautiful 4 star hotel, located in the very heart of Palermo City center.Our Hotel born from the restoration of the old Palace of Prince Granatelli and through an expert architectural revalidation that turned it into a refined environment, decorated with antique furnishings and paintings.The enviable location of the hotel, situated in a quiet and residential area, exactly halfway from both main Theatres of Palermo- The Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and the Massimo Theatre, makes of it an ideal place both for those who are travelling for business or who wants to have a nice and relaxed holiday in Palermo.Our staff remains at Your disposal , and will ensure You all the assistance and help to discover all the particular and characteristic corners of the historical Town and directions to find the most fashionable and exclusive shopping area, all this in order to make Your stay a very special one!The Entrance of the Grand Hotel Federico II, opens to an elegant foyer that leads into several spacious lounges lovingly furnished.The lounge bar with the adjacent reading room, may offer You relaxed hours choosing between an assorted selection of teas, herbal infusions, and local distilled.For a more enjoyable and comfortable stay, The Hotel offers guests’ disposal:Reception and Concierge service open 24 Hours;Luggage Storage;Wi-Fi free throughout the Hotel;Reservation – purchase airline Tickets / web Check-in;Office Services (telefax-photocopies);Outdoor parking area for luggage loading and unloading;Secure Car Park on request with payment;Assistance for service to rent a car with or without Driver;Shuttle service from/to Airport on request with payment;Laundry Service;Meeting rooms with technical equipment;Spaces for events, celebrations and meetings;Restaurants and banquets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Federico II - Central Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Hotel Federico II - Central Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing