We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Centro
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We checked in mid afternoon and were allocated a very small double room, so small that there was hardly space to place our 2 suitcases and still move. We complained and asked for the type of room we believe we paid for, but Reception insisted there was none available.
We did manage to change to decent room the next day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basel4054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel.

Patrizia on reception was an angel and saved us a fortune by telling us the best ways to visit the places outside of Palermo that we wanted to go to see without being conned by tourist companies.

The room was huge, bathroom was lovely - no bath though which was a shame. The cleaning staff were lovely.

Breakfast is a feast, so much to choose from, all very fresh and constantly replaced with fresher plates.

Free wifi and use of the apple macs in the lobby was a good touch. The art work got replaced fairly regularly too which was nice.

This hotel was perfect for the sort of holiday my partner and I wanted. There is no gym or pool which is a shame, but you're in a city so it's not a chill out by the pool type of place.

The location really can't be beaten though, only 5 mins walk to Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo, you really are in the heart of Palermo.

If you're keen on walking, we took the tourist bus on day 1 to see what was about and ended up walking back to everything we wanted to spend more time at at a later date which worked well.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel, there are no rooms with amazing views but being at the back meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLoverBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good central location, but a tip- do not rely on the hotel map to get around. we spent the first day literally walking in circles, until we got another map and realised everything worth seeing is walking distance. Hotel was being renovated, so we couldn't use the balcony. but it was clean and tidy. Breakfast was nice, and replenished often. Wifi only in the lobby was very annoying, it should have been everywhere! Bathroom was nice clean and big. Beds were comfy. No safe in the room, which I didn't like. Take earplugs as I found it quite noisy, the family in the room nextdoor were far too loud!! I found a lot of the restaurants hit and miss there, try Carlo V by the Cathedral, and Vino & Pomodoro. Would return and recommend to this hotel. Visit the catacombs, a bit of a walk (we got a taxi from the cathedral) but worth a visit, different to the ones in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00000001London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Room was spacious but bathroom wasn't that clean. Location was good and you can reach out railway station and port easily.

There were some nice restaurant around but you need make your selection very careful as the quality was up and down. I had the best semifreddo and the worst pasta nearby.

Breakfast did not impressive, juice and coffee from machine were horrible. Tried order espresso from the waiter which was much better. Staff was friendly but not sufficient to handle demand during peak breakfast time.

Overall, I am satisfy with what I paid and this hotel worth for money. However, I don't think this is a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maymayathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were given a corner room on the second floor, which was large with a separate sitting area and work desk. Furnishings were also modern but more MFI than high end. Breakfast was average but typical for Italian hotels, Why they cannot provide fresh or even concentrated juice baffles me as the juice seemed to be from powder. Although breakfast was self service it could be very busy and top ups for food and coffee took a long time. Staff in reception and in bar were exteemly helpull. Location was convenient as not too far from old town and close to open bus tour starting point. Restaurants in the vicinity were dissapointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank AslanEastSussexU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms are well equipped. Breakfast is a good continental breakfast with very helpfully staff. The staff at the reception are excellent and give very good directions to places of interest and restaurants. Very good location .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

ideal for stopovers and short trips to Palermo;
not easy parking;
not free WLAN;
for Italy good breakfast;
design-orientated furniture and decors;
not very informative and friendly welcome at the reception;
rooms 8th floor very loud because of air condition on top of the roof

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MUC310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,388 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Centro

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 112, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palermo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $43 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Mercure Palermo Centro is located in the city centre, 200 meters from Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo. This 4 star hotel offers 93 soundproofed rooms, a stylish hall, bar and internet point. Ideal for business and tourist stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Palermo Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Palermo Centro Hotel Palermo
Accor Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing