We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

Good location, close to main attractions. On a quiet street, which is great considering how noisy Palermo is. Valet parking! A must in this city. Very neat, nice linen and towels. Spacious room and modern bathroom. Breakfast is OK, served in a nice patio. Hotel is managed by Mr. Claudio Calivá, who also owns a wonderful restaurant, "Sesto Canto", a few steps from the hotel. Modern decoraction and delicious Sicilian cuisine. I would definitely return.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    188
    41
    11
    4
See reviews for
44
133
22
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

Hotel totally lacks charm. It is well located, clean, breakfast is OK but it lacks this je ne sais quoi which makes all the difference. Staff is polite but not very welcoming.

  • Liked — Good location in a quiet street
  • Disliked — Not worth its 4 stars. Reception staff could be more friendly. Internet access is not free
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Pvoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonn
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

After a trip to Western Sicily I spent one night in Palermo to get an impression of this city. I was looking for a godd hotel with atmosphere - something special as I do not like hotels which look the same all over the globe.
As the Ai Cavaliere got excellent reviews so I made my choice but I was disappointed. The hotel is not bad, its a fairly standard upper class hotel. If you looking for something special reflecting the spirit and the history of Palermo choose another place.
Also the price is to high for what you get and the staff is correct but not overwhelming friendly.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank acapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

Nice, area in Palermo, just in the city center.
The hotel is new with beautyful and clean room.
The breakfast is great ! a big choice with quality food.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincentwega81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

Very nice hotel. Close to Politeama square, one of the main square in Palermo. Not so close to railway station (but not so difficult to get to by public transportation). It's not so easy to recognize because it's not the tipical "hotel block" but it's an old building recovered. This gives it a special appeal. The rooms are not so large but the furniture is very good. The cleaning service is very fast and good. The staff is professional but also very friendly. Good support, very quick service. The breakfast is served in the breakfast garden: very nice tent in the back of the hotel. The only problem is that you're not going to receive the tipical sicilian breakfast but in general it's a nice continental one. But it doesn't really matter. In 2 minutes walking you can reach Piazza Politeama. In 10 minutes walking in town center.

  • Liked — Very nice bedroom
  • Disliked — They don't serve the tipical sicilian breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bazza78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

My family and I stayed at the Ai Cavalieri. We loved the location and the hotel is charming and boutiqish. The front desk and concierge were extremley helpful. The breakfast was very good. We highly recommend this hotel for individuals and small groups.

  • Liked — Style
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2006

I booked the BW Ai Cavalieri Hotel in Palermo for my husband and myself (both in our 60's)in June, 2006 through Active Hotels for 3 nights, September 20 through 23, 2006. We received confirmation for a double room in June by Active Hotels and also on July 11, 2006 directly from the Ai Cavalieri (at our request). When we arrived we were told they were booked for September 22, and had made reservations for us at another hotel. No regrets nor explanations were given and we were not treated very nicely even though the mistake was theirs and the reservation had been confirmed since June. They said they had e-mailed us in mid-September, but we were already traveling in Italy and did not receive the e-mail. I asked if they would pay for a taxi to transport us to the other hotel and they refused.
I realize that mistakes happen, but Ai Cavalieri treated us as if we were at fault. The staff was not apologetic, nor friendly. We will not recommend Ai Cavalieri to our friends.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rudness of the staff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mazanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel
Address: Via Sant'Oliva 8, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palermo
#9 Business Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel Palermo, Sicily
Best Western Hotel Palermo
Best Western Palermo
Palermo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing