We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel
Ranked #12 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
notacritic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rooms were clean but a bit broken down (no cover on the air conditions box and exposed cables) but staff were surly at best. Breakfast was marginal with watered down juice and the worst coffee we have had in Italy. Hoping for new staff attitude at breakfast but disappointed there. Would not recommend this hotel despite its excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    203
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
141
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed three nights in this Best Western where some care had been taken to update an old palazzo. The location was excellent, in the old town, round the corner from the Teatro Massimo with restaurants and shops nearby. Our room was in the front and, at first, we were a little fearful that there would be a lot of noise from the 'club' underneath and the tables outside, but the street itself is very quiet so we were undisturbed. The bedroom was plain and unfussy though I found the mattress a little too firm. The bathroom was small but adequate. Public rooms were OK and the hotel bar had an outside extension. Breakfasts were reasonably varied though (not unusual in Italy!) most of the food was on the lukewarm side. We had one evening meal there which was pleasant and typically Italian.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opole, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having arrived there after a long flight we were given a room on the second floor facing the street. The room was nice, clean and comfortable, everything working well. We really enjoyed the breakfast under a huge tent with a good choice of both Continental and Merditerranean food. I also appreciate the effort of the hotel to provide one with anything that the guest may have forgotten at home (an approproate note is to be found in the room)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzymonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife is a big fun of Best Western hotels and she took a room for our one night in Palermo. Hotel has character and is well placed, close to transport and city center. Very quiet and nice decorated; still breakfast was average and air conditioning in the room not working. Good service at reception. Good moment overall!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DowdMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is settled in a beautiful building that gives you the atmosphere of long-ago Palermo. It is also a very convenient location to visit the city and to shop.
The rooms we were in were well decorated and had a jacuzzi bath tub. Air conditioning worked well and breakfast was very good and varied.
We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed our stay.
We travelled with our sons aged 12, 9 and 4.
Parking was easy around the hotel but not in the rest of Palermo city.

Room Tip: It is also a very romantic environment if you are seeking for a good hotel at very a convenient pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1969PuntadelEste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very good position in the city - if you have a car you can park round the corner from hotel in car park for 10 euros per day. Hotel clean and functional - breakfast not that great. We chose a room at the rear of the hotel without a balcony as had read the front rooms could be noisy as a bar downstairs. Our room was very quiet and the air conditioning worked well in the searing temperatures of August. Bathroom was nice and big. Wifi good.
We had a drink in the hotel bar one night which was nice and reasonably priced and had a good restaurant recommendation from Hotel reception one evening.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel without a balcony which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juwit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. I found a rather good deal (around 99 euros per night) and the breakfast is exceptional. The only inconvenience I found was that there is no airconditioning in the lobby so it is quite hot in the summer outside the rooms. But for 99 euros I consider it a very good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel

Property: Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel
Address: Via Sant'Oliva, 8, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palermo
#9 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ai Cavalieri Hotel Palermo, Sicily
Best Western Hotel Palermo
Best Western Palermo
Palermo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing