We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Treasure in Palermo”
Review of Chez Jasmine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Jasmine
Ranked #213 of 475 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed at Chez Jasmine for six nights in May and loved it. The apartment is ideally situated to get a flavour of the real Palermo as well as being accessible to the many interesting and beautiful sites the city has to offer. Mary is the real treasure though, she has thought of everything and is always ready with a recommendation for lunch, dinner or gelato or simply to entertain you with a tall or witty tale. Thank you for a fab time, we'd love to come back. Mary and Wendy

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Chez Jasmine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

Mary's apartment is brilliant. Extremely confortable and well furnished, it is in a very convenient part of Palermo. Mary provides all the basics for breakfast and there are a couple of good places to eat just around the corner.
We hope to be back!
Patrick & Sandra

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

In the interesting part of the city, but very quiet. Sunny sheltered roof terrace, great for breakfast. Mary provided milk, bread, coffee, etc which was great for when we first arrived. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

this is self-catering at its best, the accomodation is in a great location for a lot of the historic aspects of palermo but be careful as it is also one of the most dangerous areas of Palermo. We didn;t have any trouble, following the landlady's guidelines.
The bedroom gets hot but we were there in 40 degrees so I suppose anywhere would get hot. Mary is a delightful landlady who has a right balance of making sure you have everything you need (including the all important water and teabags) and leaving you to get on with your holiday. Please make use of the beautiful roof garden we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was so peaceful in such a bustling city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scarlettali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Myself and two friends stayed at Chez Jasmine for 4 nights and we loved it! We actaully found ourselves staying in, in the evenings as it really did feel like home away from home! Mary was just amazing, it was almost as if everytime we needed to know something she just appeared! She gave us practical advice, things that were happening in the area, booked us in at a local restaurant for lunch on the day we arrived. She really is the most wonderful host, without being intrusive. CJ is gorgeous, everything you could need and more. I'm hoping to go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

We stayed 3 nights, the beginning of a 3 week trip to Sicily. The apartment is very comfortable, and Mary has thought of everything in terms of stocking it with items one would need: well-appointed kitchen, helpful guidebooks, ready to answer questions. It felt authentic, with friendly neighbors hanging out their laundry and going about their lives -- quite different from a hotel experience. La Kalsa was fascinating, and the apartment was well-located for walking or catching a bus.

Mary was very helpful, but also cautioned us about La Kalsa: avoid walking around at night, and carrying any bags. We noticed later that several guidebooks contained the same cautions. We did go out to local restaurants at night (walking), but stayed on the main streets. We had no problems.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katy1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed at Chez Jasmine for 10 days in September and had an enjoyable holiday. The La Kalsa area is something very different from the more touristy areas of Palermo in that you are living amongst the locals, and that can make for good 'street theatre' It is an area in the throes of refurbishment and what has been done has been done very well and this looks to be an area on the up. That said some areas still remain slightly run down, but it is not a problem in any way.

We had heard that you should be careful when out in the La Kalsa are at night but we certainly never felt that to be the case (we are city dwellers so that might be why) and at no time felt unsafe. There is reportedly some problem with pick pockets etc but we did not witness anything like that during our 10 days there. It is the same with any city in that you should be sensible about carrying possesions with you.

There is lots to see and do in the area and good restaurnats in Piazza Marina which is around 10 minutes away.

Chez Jamsine was a delightful place to stay it is a peaceful oasis in a busy city. It is beautifully decorated and has everything you could need. We particularly enjoyed sitting on the roof terrace which is sunny, but provides shade too.

Whilst there we visited the beach at Mondello, which also has restaurants and cafe nearby and also went to Cefalu on the train, which was very straightforward. The journey takes one hour, but it is worth the trip as there is again nice beaches and cafe bars etc and breath taking views. We also went to Monreale and visited the Cathedral, another great day out.

All in all we had an interesting trip to Palermo and whilst we may not return to the city as we have seen it, would perhaps stay in the Mondello or Cefalau area for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weejin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 98 in Palermo
828 reviews
Apartment Cheap & Chic
#339 of 475 in Palermo
2 reviews
Castellammare
Cleopatra B & B
Cleopatra B & B
#166 of 475 in Palermo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abatellis Luxury
#11 of 475 in Palermo
327 reviews
B&B D'Angelo
#133 of 475 in Palermo
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Jasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jasmine

Address: Vicolo Dei Nassaiuoli 15, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 475 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: $96 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Jasmine is basically a doll's house, tucked away in a flowered courtyard and sheltered by the centuries-old wall surrounding the Baroque church of La Pieta. The chalet covers three floors and is much appreciated for its seclusion, where the only sounds heard are birdsong and church bells ringing. Its charm lies in its flowered balconies and delightful roof garden, with old wooden beams throughout. While the chalet is ideal for two, the sofa bed in the living room is perfect for the extra couple. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Jasmine Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing