We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guys but don't be fooled by the reviews”
Review of Carizzi d'Amuri

Carizzi d'Amuri
Ranked #15 of 1,883 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On Holyday From November 07th 2016 To December 07th 2016
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were very disappointed. The food was just okay - and service was terrible. And an Italian restaurant with bad bread? That's always a bad sign. The brothers want to improve and I wish them luck. Until then - skip it.

9  Thank ReviewerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 841 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Sicily is well-known for its welcoming people, great food and amazing weather, and Palermo is a significant example of all this. But this spot, and its owners, are truly special. High-standard professionalism, original proposals of food and wines, great desserts and amazing presentation of each course. You can miss it in your journey in Palermo. 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We only regret not having the time to have written this review sooner. We spent three weeks in Sicily visiting most of the Island in September 2013 and this was definitely our favorite restaurant experience of the trip. The restaurant is run by three brothers who clearly are passionate about the restaurant space they created, their food and their cliental.

While exploring one afternoon we stumbled upon the restaurant and found the three brothers working in the restaurant hours before the evening meal. They gave us a tour of the restaurant they created and made us feel like friends. We decide that we must try this restaurant and decided to make a reservation for the last night of our trip. We had no idea what a great decision we'd made.

The brothers passion, enthusiasm and determination is evident in the attentive service and their desire that all their cliental have a thoroughly enjoyable time. The talents of all are evident in all aspects of the experience and the food was an interesting mix of Sicilian, whimsy and love. We had a a great three weeks enjoying the beautiful people and places of Sicily, but our meal and time with the three brothers and Giacomo's wife was the perfect conclusion to a perfect holiday. If you want to go some place where you treated special this is definitely the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sfhome4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews, and were not disappointed - in fact, it was the best meal we had during the whole of our ten day trip around Sicily last month :)!

The atmosphere of the restaurant/bar is stylish and modern, but relaxed and friendly, and the staff were charming - enthusiastic and eager to share their passion for their food, and happy to talk through the menu options with us.

And then the food... absolutely delicious! For our starter, my boyfriend and I shared two antipasti platters, which were beautifully presented, and far more imaginative than any other similar dishes we had while in Sicily (ie. had a really interesting range of meats and cheeses, as well as local honey and marmalade, plus homemade bread rolls to serve with it). For my main, I had a tagliata of beef... and the beef was honestly the best I've had in a long time; perfectly cooked and incredibly tender, served very simply with rosemary and pink peppercorns - could have been boring if it was done badly, but it was absolute perfection. My boyfriend had an incredible dish of huge prawns, which looked stunning, and was apparently delicious.

They also have a huge cocktail selection, and are happy to recommend things based on what you like (if like me you're unable to choose!).

We felt that the price was fair for the standard of the food and the service. We'd definitely return if we visit Palermo again :).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We choose this restaurant to celebrate our first wedding anniversary: we wanted a special place for the occasion and we haven't been disappointed. The restaurant is run by three brothers who clearly are passionate about their job: they took care about every details to create this beautiful place. The athmosphere is elegant but relaxed, the service is warm and friendly, and the food is just delicious. Fresh local ingrediends mix tradition and creativity. ( I suggest the king prawn in kadaifi dough...it simply melts in your mouth). And finally the price is more than fair, which is also important ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KaySven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carizzi d'Amuri also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Carizzi d'Amuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing