We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but cute & good value for money”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Dated but cute & good value for money”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

I stayed at Elite for 3 nights from 22-24 Sept 2009 in room 505 as a solo traveller and paid EUR55 per night via Booking.com.

I found this accomm via Booking.com so no "real" photos to go by and nothing much on TA - it was somewhat of a pot-luck choice. The hotel is on level 4 & 5 of an old apartment block, there are several other B&B's within the building. The building has a small arcade with an excellent hairdresser that I used, a business service/tour booking centre and a kidswear shop. It is in a very handy location just off Via Roma, the main street that runs from the central train station through the city. It is approx 1.5km walk from train station to hotel - flat easy walk - the heat in summer is what will get to you. If you can cope with that, you can walk it easily if you have good wheels on your luggage. (The main bus station is just around the corner from the central train station, so only another 150m to add to your walk - You can identify Via Roma very easily by the big white wrought-iron style archway marking the entry to Via Roma).

Elite has beautiful frescos in each room and in public areas. The hallways are painted with flowers. Very cosy. Lovely lounge/sitting room area on L5 to sit and read. Breakfast room is attached to Reception on L5 and very cosy. Furnishings are very dated ie old bedspreads and dark wooden furniture but in good repair and all very clean. Bathroom is modern and completely refurbed. Housekeeping is efficient with replacing soap, fluffy towels etc. Air-con in room is GREAT and powerful. View was over rooftops only with hills in the distance. The lifts are slow and shabby. Breakfast was coffee made to order, lovely crunchy rolls, ham cheese, croissants, pastries, juice, yoghurt - simple but rolls were so nice I just had them with butter. Breakfast starts a bit late - at 8am - most travellers need to be on the road before that so 7am start would be better I think.

All in all, good accomm for dollars paid. Overall, Palermo is A LOT LESS EXPENSIVE than Taormina or other Italian cities. Great for clothes, shoes, handbag shopping - prices are well down. There are some great bargains to be had - especially in mens suits - I noticed they are very high quality for low $$ if you need some for work. Ladies shoes are very reasonably priced.

Critical 3 things for me (1) wakeup calls - you can program your own. YES! (2) SKY and Fox costs you EUR9 - no CNN or BBC so I was disappointed with that as a solo traveller I like background chatter. TV was hard to operate and kept dropping out . (3) Hairdryer is next to useless - the box style on the wall with a vacuum cleaner hose.

Yes, I would stay again if I was on the same tight budget.

Make sure you DEFINITELY go to Cefalu, approx 1 hour by train from Palermo. Fantastic jewel in Sicilian crown. You will love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YasmineinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    86
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
64
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

We stayed with 4 friends at Hotel Elite during a week-end. Arrived at Palermo late Friday night, left Sunday morning.

As we arrived by rental car, it was great to have the possibility to keep it for a €12/day in the safety of the hotel´s underground parking.

The rooms were clean, well equipped, nicely and cosy decorated, the staff were friendly. All the three receptionists we came in contact with during our stay did their best to advise us on e.g. driving routes from/to Palermo (even with poor English and our non-existent Italian) and I´m sure they would have been helpful should we´ve had any other requests.

Hotel Elite is locted pretty much in the very centre of Palermo (just off via Roma), so it takes you 5-20min to stroll anywhere in the city centre you wanna go. Also restaurants and bars are literally just around the corner, as is Teatro Massimo. Still, the hotel is located on a quiet street (in a block consisting of several hotels) and there is little risk you will be bothered by street noises.

I agree with some earlier reviews on the fact that breakfast choice wasn´t very vast, e.g. some things (as ham) had finished when we came to breakfast on Sunday (30min before the breakfast time was over) - and the waiter wouldn´t bring more. Anyhow, its´not really a problem to find food in Italy...:) The nice atmosphere of the breakfast facilities compensated for the lack of ham :)

This hotel offers good value for the money, both in form of physical frames and service. Plus, it has a superb location.

  • Liked — Nice atmosphere of the hotel, clean rooms, good service, superb location
  • Disliked — More attention to the breakfast range would have given this hotel 5 points
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2007

With just one day and night to explore Palermo, this hotel was the perfect choice. Upon arrival you are greeted by modern frescoes along the stairwell and foyer. The woman at the desk was extremely nice and helpful in giving us a map and telling us the highlights to see. She also recommended a place for lunch that was authentic and not touristy at all. We were able to hit all the great spots to see in Palermo and returned to the hotel room. The room was very spacious, had a nice size bathroom, cable tv and was very clean. Great hotel - location, service, and value!

  • Liked — friendly service and great location
  • Disliked — no negative comments
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 196rndthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Hotel is in the centre of the city in a building with several other hotels. You take the lift to the 5th floor to the hotel. Found the female staff very friendly and helpful, but one male staff member wanted to charge us a fortune for a tour because there were not enough people booked for it. We declined. Breakfast was not up to much, one sweet croissant and some other bits and pieces, I had to get breakfast elsewhere later. The room was all right for the money. What I did not like was that you had to insert a key to operate the electricity in the room so when you went out the heating went off.
We could not believe the pollution in Palermo from all the motor bikes and cars, we were choking from the fumes. If you have any breathing problems you might want to take this into consideration.

  • Liked — Central to city
  • Disliked — As stated in my review
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank felixeile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We spent three nights in Hotel Elite & this was a find indeed. Our room 503 was spacious, so was its bathroom. Every hotel staff was very helpful and polite whenever we asked the info needed. Thanks to the proper advice by hotel staff, we explored around the city every morning as early as 6am. Three markets worth visiting; Vucciria(fish), Capo(grocery) & Ballaro(food). 1-day tour to Agrigento was another highlight, the view from bus/train window on the way/way-back was scenic too. For dining & drink/snack, a lot of choice nearby.
We also miss such heartwarming breakfast at the hotel, and every moment in Palermo.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ggm_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Above average 3* hotel in a great location. I agree with most of what's been written in the 2 earlier reviews. It has a homely feel once I get off the elevator on the 5th floor. Our triple room, also on the 5th, was quite spacious, and has some sort of a view of the mountains over the roofs of other buildings.

We had a rental car, and the garage entrance is in the narrow street behind the building and required a key to get in. Didn't matter as the front desk staff came down to park the car for us, and to retrieve it on our day of departure. Parking fee is high at 12€/day, but I wouldn't try park it on a street in Palermo.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — High cost for parking
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank rkkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

This is essentially a hotel for corporate business travellers and for others with very specific personal interests that draw them to the commercial centre of Palermo. And that is why we selected it - because of its proximity to the Teatro Massimo where we were attending an opera performance (a personal achievement for me - I've been wanting to go to something at that beautiful house for some 25 years, but it's been closed for most of that time. It was a pity that the opera was not Italian - it was Vanessa by the American composer Samuel Barber!)

The hotel occupies upper floors in a modern commercial block and is sandwiched, vertically, between other hotels. Restaurants (we arrived late and went to Trattoria a'Cuccagna just round the corner on the first night) and major tourist attractions are within easy walking distance. The reception staff and those who got us our breakfast were friendly and efficient. We would certainly stay there again if we return to Palermo (which we well might - we liked the city a lot).

If arriving at the hotel from the airport by bus (departures every 30 minutes; cost €5), get off at the Teatro Politeama Garibaldi stop and walk down the Via Ruggero Settimo.

  • Liked — Location; friendly staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the airport bus to Politeama - much cheaper than a taxi
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#49 of 98 in Palermo
541 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#22 of 98 in Palermo
724 reviews
Hotel Florio Opera
#41 of 98 in Palermo
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel del Centro
#28 of 98 in Palermo
514 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Liberta
Hotel Liberta
#76 of 98 in Palermo
39 reviews
Hotel Joli
#24 of 98 in Palermo
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Property: Hotel Elite
Address: Via Mariano Stabile 136, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palermo's elegant shopping district, 500 metres from the city's port, Hotel Elite offers air-conditioned rooms decorated with frescoes showing various Palermo landmarks.Rooms at the Elite Hotel come with a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channel. Your day begins with a buffet breakfast that includes a variety of healthy food as well as fresh fruit.Guests can enjoy a drink at Elite's bar before dinner at a local restaurant, recommended by the hotel staff.Teatro Massimo and Politeama Garibaldi theatres are both just a 5-minute walk from the hotel, which has excellent public transport links around Palermo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Palermo
Hotel Elite Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing