We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great architectural church”

Church of San Francesco of Assisi -Chiesa di San Francesco d'Assisi
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.78*
and up
Palermo Off the Beaten Track Bike Tour
Ranked #42 of 323 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great architectural church”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

It is a really nice cathedral but ... not easy to visit for people whit a dissability. lot of stairs tot do, especcialy when you want to visit the tomb of St. Franscesco. As a matter a fact these are really 2 chuches build one upon the other ... for the all the pelgrims off course a particular place the must visit. The Ceiling painting are truly marvelous. But always keep in mind ... it's very busy there ... so take it easy, don't rush... especcially not by hot temperatures !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigWLier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    71
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

the stone work and art work is so beautiful that words can not do them justice! wish i had more time to explore the city.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shooed out!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tried to have a look around on a Monday. We went in as a group were leaving, so thought it would be OK as no service was in progress, but a man who was obviously rather cross addressed us in a torrent of Italian which we were unable to understand, and as we had no idea what the problem was we decided to leave. Shame really because it looked quite interesting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pegletbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

WHAT CAN i SAY, I love churches and this was no different. Liked the area and the fact that this Saint looks after animals, what could be better

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vngonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing old church!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

another masterpiece you can see in palermo!!this old church is spectacular!!!it completes the old town around it!!!!!!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of San Francesco of Assisi -Chiesa di San Francesco d'Assisi also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Church of San Francesco of Assisi -Chiesa di San Francesco d'Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing