We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop by”

A'Cuncuma Restaurant
Reserve with
A'Cuncuma Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 1,704 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stop by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of the old town a hidden place that you must try !
Excellent fish and fresh organic ingredients , creative mix and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Farisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    81
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Positive reviews on Trip Advisor are correct, this place is a real gem. Not on the tourist trail but only a few minutes walk from Via Maqueda, it is a small place with impeccable standards. We chose the fish tasting menu at 32 Euros and were not disappointed. The restaurant is run by the Pinto brothers, with Salvatore at front of house. He describes their passion for local Sicilian grown foods and wine, which comes over strongly in the beautifully prepared and presented dishes all absolutely delicious. There are few places that we have ever eaten where there are 3 exquisite oils on the table, complete with a description of their origin from different parts of Sicily. Look no further, this is great food at a good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RPG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire,
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Try the tasting menu for a taste of Palermo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We checked out this restaurant on a recent trip to Palermo after some of the very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! The restaurant itself was located on the old part of town, which added to it's character. We booked a table for 8:30pm and were very suprised to find we were the only people in the restaurant - it certainly seems that it's currently an undiscovered gem.
Although we were initially put off by the fact we were the only patrons there, this quickly turned into a delightful experience. The front of house was attentive, but not over bearing. As we frequently found in Palermo, English was very good and we quickly settled. As with much of the cuisine, the menu was heavy on fish, with a starter of octopus, squid and prawns being particularly good. The pudding was also out of this world (chocolate and pistachio creme brule)

Overall, it was a lovely eating experience, and one I would certainly recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBerkshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The food was out of this world and the staff were very friendly and supplied a great service in a lovely little restaurant. There was a really good selection of different olive oils which were so tasteful. The food was all top notch. It also had a great selection of red wines which were lovely. Overall an outstanding restaurant which I would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great gem in commercial part of Palermo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited A'Cuncuma in September 2012. At the time, the restaurant has only been opened for about 3 months in a very commercial part of Palermo. As we wandered around on a Sunday afternoon close to 2pm, the town was deserted and the restaurant looked closed. The door was slightly ajar so we poked our heads in and found most patrons were coming to the end of their meals. Despite lunch service winding down, the maitre d' warmly welcomed up and sat us down for lunch.

The food was a bit on the pricey side compared to restaurants in Palermo, but it was comparable to prices in the more touristy areas of Catania, and I can assure you the food is of great quality for the price. Once we sat down, a selection of fresh bread in a canvas bag greeted us - how rustic! And on each table are three bottles of local olive oil, perfect for those with discerning taste, or just curious how different types of olive oil taste.

For starter, we shared the platter of local cheese and cured meats. The waitress who delivered our order took care to point out what each item was. Perfect for future reference in case we liked something and wanted to get it at the supermarket at a later time.

For mains, I had the tuna risotto while my partner had cod with fig molasses and curry - a fusion of Sicilian and the East. I was really impressed with how the chef had creatively mixed flavours from different cultures and made it work, while ensuring that the raw ingredients were fresh and prepared perfectly.

For dessert, we shared the cannoli with ricotta, a traditional Sicilian dessert, and it was one of the better ones I've had on the island.

By the time we've finished our dessert, the restaurant had emptied. The staff was sat at the table next to us with some family members who have dropped by. They were celebrating something and had a huge chocolate cake. Before we could ask the bill, a slice of chocolate cake was delivered to our table, just because they were that nice.

I was thoroughly impressed by the warmth of the family who runs this restaurant, the great atmosphere, and the fresh and tasty food; I wish them every success.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A'Cuncuma Restaurant also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to A'Cuncuma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing