We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa D'Amato
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived late at night and our first impression was of the area, which was not as we would have expected; we wrongly assumed that since it was along the sea front the area would be a nice part of town as surely this could be a major attractor of tourists. Unfortunately, the surrounding area was full of rubbish on the streets, dog poo on the paths from the stray dogs that wondered freely, cars parked on pavements and continuous heavy traffic in front of the hotel. I will talk about the beach in a moment... You might be able to forget the surrounding area if the hotel was clean and comfortable, unfortunately this was not our experience.

When we arrived at our room, our initial thought was that it looked a bit dated but ok. Slept fine as we were absolutely shattered. Next night picked up my nighty from the chair where I had left it, put it on and went to bed. Half an hour later I had to jump out of bed scratching all over and found 23 bites on me in total from bed bugs. We searched the bed but couldn't find anything, but then noticed that there were many splattered on the wall, we then found live ones crawling round the bathroom, and in the corners of the bedroom. We later came to the conclusion that they must have treated the bed with insecticide previously which had dispersed the bugs to different areas of the room, including the chair (where I had left my nighty).

We were moved to a much nicer room in the modern extension, (we were also given a free glass of prosecco and a very tasty cake each), this room appeared much better but on our last night, upon close inspection we noticed traces of bed bugs (small black and red dots, small eggs and larvae in the folds of the seat cushions of the chairs). We showed this to the cleaners, who laughed and told the manager who came into the room shouting at us and had the cheek to try and accuse us of bringing them in, we took many photos to prove that they had been there a while due to the old splatted ones on the wall and the existing infestation was obvious, he also told us that no one else had complained, which we know to be untrue as after checking the internet we did find comments. He also said that he had put someone else in our room who had not complained either, which is worrying (the fact that he put someone else in the room which he knew to be infested).

If we had thought that he treated us with more respect and showed concern to want to remove and isolate the problem, rather than focusing his energy on accusing us we probably would not have written this review as the rest of the staff were very friendly and attentive.

With regards to the beach, which we found accessible only after roaming the area for a while... Don't go there unless you have very thick soles on your shoes as we saw disregarded needles all over it.

Upon arriving home we contacted a pest-control guy who gave us some advice on how to reduce the risk of contaminating our home with any possible stray bugs in our suitcases. He also told us that bed bugs prefer beds to anything else and that it was very likely that this would have been an ongoing infestation in the hotel as we had found them in the bathroom, corners of the room and on the chairs as insecticides sprayed onto beds will prevent them using the bed but often has the effect of making the problem worse as the bugs disperse to other parts of the room and re-colonise in those parts. The experience was traumatic and we pray that we have done everything we can so that they will not infest our home, a holiday memory that we hope will stay as such!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the modern extension are better, top floor best as overlooks the sea. You must check fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaKravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaDAmato, Direttore at Hotel Villa D'Amato, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
With much regret we read this review written to us and unfortunately we add that human wickedness has absolutely no limits.
Our hotel has rooms overlooking a large garden and the rooms have balconies and windows overlooking just about it.
Every day we have numerous Italian and foreign clients who come to spend the night and stay with us and we never had any problems mentioned by the siggnori writing.
I have personally visited the Chamber of customers just called from the personal to the problem reported and I realized that I had left the window open and the animals were of the common mosquitoes ...
for not less I proceeded to change their room in a new area and just built the hotel and so completely new. But even here leaving the windows open were much revenue the notorious mosquitoes ... .
I offered them a slice of cake and a drink, I tried to make their stay more 'pleasant as possible .. but it certainly did not appreciate my kindness towards them.
Surely not all customers are good .. and as I thought that maybe there are unpleasant for downloading private frustrations of those who work honestly and try to do even better.

no other comment, you must ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    39
    27
    20
See reviews for
21
48
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel itself has a good strcture, and the rooms to the rear are better for thet are sparedof the noise that is caused by the heavy traffic that pasesin front of the hotels. The room I had was in the front, and had to close the windows to be able to sleep. Fortunately it was not so hot the days I spent there.There is no air conditioning.
Conmuting fron the hotel is hectic. There are 2 bus lines that stop in front, but somehow they are very difficult to board when they pass as they are full of pasengers. Taxis are almost unavailable and the cost of a ride to the city center is about 20 euros.
The beach is useless
The hotel might work for somebody driving a vehicle, as it has a large parking space in the back.
I wouyld never return there, although its personel was quite friendly and cooperative in what little they could .
If visiting palermo look for an hotel in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We booked in here for three nights for a bit of rest and recup[eration. Deliberately choosing an out of town place for peace and quiet. However, teh area is quite scruffy and if you are on foot not very easy to get to and from town. Also no beach which on an unseasonably hot spring doy was a bit of a disappointment. Good breakfacst and restaurant but a bit remote. If you go to the fish restaurant make sure to ask teh price of your fish before they cook if - can't bring myself to say how much I got stung for a (albeit tasty) sea bass.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elgar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

The hotel itself was fine - nothing wrong with the room or the breakfast. I paid extra for a seaview which did look nice from the small balcony. However when I asked about the beach, the receptionist pulled a face and said 'dieci chilometri'. Undaunted we went out in their back 'garden' and walked through some long grass to find a small area of shingle. We had hoped for a good place to chill out away from the grime of the city but this was NOT it. (It might be better in the high season but in April they clearly did not expect us to stretch out in the sunshine). There was a bus stop right outside but the buses were very irregular and undependable. We ate in the fish restaurant nearby and got ripped off there, though the bar on the other side of the road was really good with the largest glass of grappa I have ever had. Next time, I would pay for a room in the 'centro storico'.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanoverian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Hotel Villa d´Amato is a good, clean hotel in Palermo to an attractive price if you get it on the net. Good breakfast. Make sure you get a room with at a garden view and if possible with a balcony. Then it is peaseful and quite. The location is really in the outskirt of Palermo in a somewhat unattractive area even though it is close to the sea (no beach though!). You can take two different busses downtown, not really possible to walk. Taxi prices vary a lot depending on number of people and when during the the day you travel, from downtown from 7 - 25 Euros. Excellent if you have your own car. It is a good choice for budget travelling.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaesMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed there for one night in the hope of a comfortable room and a good meal ( as advertised) before we went sailing
It is quite difficult to find and in a VERY rough part of Palermo. You cannot walk out on the street, it feels dangerous.
The staff were generally fine, but the food was truly awful, the worst we had in two weeks in Italy, both dinner and breakfast.
The rooms are 'ok' but the bathroom we had was tiny, the bed not comfortable, the aircon difficult to work and the tv very limited stations. No internet access.
The sea can be seen but it's 100m away, over the 'garden' which is full of rubbish and stray dogs.
The problem is that there are not many other options in Palermo at a sensible price

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

The only real downside of this hotel is the location - a rather rough part of Palermo. However, there is a bus stop just outside and a fairly frequent bus service into the town centre. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the street, which was incredibly noisy, but once we'd closed the treble windows it was fine. The rooms at the back are probably a better bet as the garden at the rear is beautifully peaceful. The restaurant wasn't that great, and the evening meals were limited, which is a pity because there aren't many places to go to eat in that part of Palermo (a friendly snack bar just down the road - nice if you can cope with the noise of the traffic), and a couple of seafood restaurants (but take your phrase book if you don't speak Italian). I'm sure the menu would benefit from including some traditional Sicilian cuisine, as all our fellow guests were obviously on holiday - British, French, Swiss, Dutch, American, Australian and Czech while we were there. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Back garden and terrace
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikifrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVillaDAmato, Proprietario at Hotel Villa D'Amato, responded to this review, June 3, 2008
Tank you for live your comment on tripadvisor, i take note about the menù of restaurant, and i will talk with the chef for modify that. Also i want inform you that for the next year will be finish the new area of our hotel, if you will choice again our hotel, we will provide a upgrate of room (choice standard we give you superior).

Tank you for stay in our hotel My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Villa Archirafi
#45 of 101 in Palermo
94 reviews
Albergo Athenaeum
#42 of 101 in Palermo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Libertà
Torreata Hotel & Residence
Torreata Hotel & Residence
#46 of 101 in Palermo
193 reviews
Casena dei Colli
#38 of 101 in Palermo
478 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#48 of 101 in Palermo
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa D'Amato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa D'Amato

Property: Hotel Villa D'Amato
Address: Via Messina Marine 178/180, 90121, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa D'Amato 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa D'Amato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Amato
d Amato Hotel Palermo
Hotel Villa D'Amato Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing