We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Basic”
Review of Hotel Bel 3

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bel 3
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Budget Basic”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is not in downtown Palermo, but high above the city in a residential area with fantastic views. We first booked an in-town hotel, but after reading other reviews describing the city as "filthy" and "scary", we decided to stay outside and were very glad we did. Driving to the hotel from the airport in a rental car was a challenge on narrow, winding roads, but the garbage in the downtown streets and numerous wild dogs eating from the piles, confirmed our decision. Parking is the number one problem at the hotel. There is very limited space and you must leave your keys at the desk, so they can move cars to get hotel guests and restaurant patrons in and out. It is a very uncomfortable feeling to know that you would be responsible for damage to your rental car caused by a driver not on your contract. Cleanliness is a priority for us and Hotel Bel 3 met that requirement, plus the view of Palermo and the sea is wonderful, but the furnishings are "budget basic". After securing a parking place and finding the hotel isolated from anything, we ate dinner in the hotel dining room on the outdoor patio. The food was OK, but the service was terrible and our waiter basically ignored us. The breakfast buffet is setup in a room with spectacular views of the Sicilian landscape and downtown Palermo. The buffet included fruit, assorted meats and cheeses, breads, juice, coffee and the wait staff was constantly replenishing the table. Breakfast on the patio was the highlight of our stay. Staying at the Hotel Bel 3 had it challenges, but we were glad to be outside of Palermo. Unlike many Sicilian towns, Palermo does not seem to see the value of encouraging tourism.

Room Tip: Being built on the side of a hill, the lobby and rooms start on the first floor and go down to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    368
    113
    25
    22
See reviews for
141
334
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband has done a review below and I'm quite disgusted that they have basically said that we have lied! They seem to be missing the point - yes, we didn't miss out our flight (thank god), its that we were stressed out, they were very rude (to me personally) and that STILL we have yet to receive an apology. You are NOT a perfect hotel. The LEAST you can do is apologise when you do make a mistake. The way I was treated was disgusting. To yell at your guests is quite appalling and to not apologise for your mistake and try to blame it on us is even worse. We absolutely waited 40 minutes - We were VERY conscious of the time and remember it clearly!! We are not trying to harm your reputation, only give an account of our stay so that other travellers can see it and so that your management know what has happened and have the opportunity to apologise. An opportunity that you didn't take. By the way, saying that you're "sorry to receive a bad review" is not apologising for your actions but saying that you regret getting a bad review...

Also, in the restaurant, another fine example of the hotel; we ordered a pizza to share and when we received it, I took a slice and before they realised they had given us the wrong pizza and they quickly took it away, put my slice back where it was on the tray and promptly gave it to another table! I have never been so surprised in my life, if I was the other table, there is no way I would have accepted that.

It's obvious that you regard yourself far too highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel32010, Direttore at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Your review confirms all we have written in your’s husband previous review (see below) that is your will to damage our reputation.
Tripadvisor has been created to give useful and sound advices to other guests and especially to be improved the hotel itself, often guests like you forget this important thing and it becomes instrument of revenge, that is clear because your negative review has been written for 2 times by the same person.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on out last night in Sicily as it reviewed well and we thought it was near the airport. Turned out to be a bad choice.

Firstly the hotel is very isolated and the road leading to it is very narrow, windy and long. There is not much around it. Basically nothing in fact. Rooms were fine. Service was ok until it came to checkout...

We parked our car in the hotel car park and upon entering the receptionist asked us to leave our car keys at the desk 'in case of an emergency'. What he didn't tell us was that as more guests arrived later that night we would be parked in by more and more cars. Around 7pm a new receptionist asked us if we had to leave early in the morning for a flight and we told him 'yes, we want to leave by 7.15-7.30am' as we had to fill up our rental car, return it and get the transfer bus to the terminal for 9am, for a 10am flight. He told us they would have our car at the front door ready to go for us. 'What a nice touch' I thought. I WAS WRONG.

We arrived at reception at 7:19am and checked out and got our car keys. We stepped outside to find that we had been parked in. Around 20 extra cars had been jammed in and at least 6 of these would have to be moved one at a time on to the road to clear a narrow path for us to get out. It 'will take twenty minutes to clear' said the reception guy before phoning up the slowest moving 60 year old Italian guy I have ever seen. We told the reception guy that we were going to the air port and needed to be quick but he obviously didn't tell the old guy moving the cars. They spent the next 40 minutes attempting to move the 6 cars... but mostly arguing with each other, shouting, trying to find the right car key, falling to find the right car key, standing in reception waving their hands about arguing about the right car keys, completely ignoring us standing by the front door with our bags getting more and more late and stressed out. It honestly took them 40 minutes. My wife had to go and ask the guy on reception to come move the last car because we could see the old guy didn't have the keys and just want moving fast enough. The worst bit is we didn't get an apology from anyone and when my wife said to the old guy that we were running late for the airport and could he hurry up he just started shouting at her in Italian. And I mean SHOUTING. When we finally got out at 7.58am I was forced to drive recklessly through narrow windy roads so we didn't miss our flight. Because we were 40 mins later the traffic had built up so we got stuck in traffic for a long time. The whole morning was really very stressful and ruined the end of our trip.


Hotel bel 3 you need to sort this parking system out because it's not working and especially when people are going to the airport it's not acceptable.

I recommend just staying somewhere else. It's isolated, difficult to get to and not that good to make it worthwhile. The pool has a sign up saying it's not open between 2pm and 4pm or after 8pm. The restaurant was average. We ordered a pizza and when it came my wife picked up a slice and put it on her plate and was about to eat it when the waiter came rushing over and said we had the wrong pizza. He took the slice off my wife's plate and put it back on the main plate and then gave it to some one else. That's not acceptable where u come from. The WiFi signal was also so weak in our room that we had to go stand in the hallway to get internet.

Overrated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewZealandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel32010, Direttore at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are totally surprised and sorry to receive this comment, deliberately written
with the intention to damage the image of our hotel.
We are sure that it isn’t true that 40 minutes have passed to move your car.
Every year we receive about a thousand guests provided with car and if only one guest has a bit delay the important thing is that you haven’t lost your flight and no damage was created by us, as demonstrated by the positive comments that arrive daily.
We write this in order to protect our future guests and we are sure to ensure an excellent and free parking service.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a good place to stay. The view of Palermo is just amazing and the rooms are very good. However if what you want is to get to know the city this might not be the best choice. It is a bit unconfortable to arrive there by car, the hotel is located on a hill not too nice to drive by. But if you want a quite place go for it.

The attention of the staff is not bad, but it should be better though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plácido P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, following ferry trip to Palermo from Genova, and couldn't believe that we'd chosen such a great hotel, thanks to tripadvisor! The hotel is a little way out of Palermo but the views, especially at night, were amazing, it was quiet, the room was clean, bed comfortable and the pools were lovely. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the food at the restaurant. Breakfast was disappointing but didn't really detract from our stay and we felt, overall, that the hotel was excellent value for money. We highly recommend Bel Tre to anyone contemplating a stay in Palermo, especially if you have your own car.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony and view of Palermo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We would not have considered this hotel had we not reviewed Palermo hotels on TA. Yes it is a bit far out of town but location for us was perfect. After spending a busy week in Agrigento (our daughters Wedding celebrations) a couple of days of RR were just what the doctor ordered.

The hotel is excellent, really loved it. Funky furnishings, great vibe, staff very friendly and helpfull. Location is to die for, the large jacuzzi overlooking the bay of Palermo from up in the mountains was amazing. What a view.!!!!! When we arrived opened our patio doors and there was a small pool right outside another bonus. Bedroom was large recently refurbed, bathroom good, lots of lovely clean towels, toileitries. Another lovely touch, they have an honesty bar in the room, stocked with wine, beer and cold drinks, help yourself and tell them how much you owe at check out.

Breakfast was good, cereals, pastries,cheeses, meats, yogurts, bread and juices and coffee, included in the price you really couldn't expect more. We ate in the restaurant on both nights, first night from the Al a carte, the second I tried the tourist menu for 18 euros my husband again chose from the Al a carte , food and service were great, prices very reasonable for both food and drinks (do try the lemon sorbet).

If you enjoy a hotel with, lots going on organised fun !! around the pool and in the bars then this might not be for you. We loved it,well deserved 4 stars from TA.
Would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: A bit difficult to get to with or without a car, our advise would be to ring the hotel and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire, england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on the end of a weeks Italy trip. Once again tripadvisor research paid off. This is a little gem, exactly the r and r we needed after a week traipsing around Venice and Naples. We didn't mind that we were quite a way outside of Palermo, but reception can offer advice on buses or perhaps you'll need a car. Restaurant food is great, prices cheaper than many Italian cities. Pool is small but perfectly ok and there is a large jacuzzi with breathtaking views over Palermo, as the hotel is set into the hillside. Breakfast is as expected in Europe - toast, pastries, yoghurt, juice, coffee, cereal. This is a lovely hotel for a few days respite. Am currently trying to work out when I can come back! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billieteacup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your review, we are happy when people appreciate our services like the jacuzzi, the restaurant and the staff.
We hope too see you again,
best regards
Giorgia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Joli
#26 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#11 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel 3

Property: Hotel Bel 3
Address: Via Ruffo di Calabria 20, 90136, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#17 Business Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#19 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel 3 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 rooms offer the best comfort to you. All rooms have tv, WI-FI connection, air conditioning, telephone, personal safe, minibar, hair-dryer and large balconies with a beautiful view over Palermo.The Bel 3 Hotel has a restaurant which offers a delicious local and healthy cousine, there are also two swimming pools, one of them with jacuzzi, two free internet points, billiards hall, conference room, gym, bus shuttle on request, free internal car park and your pets are allowed.Services: free parking, free internet WI-Fi, typical Sicilian restaurant, free access to the swimming pools, Laundry Service, 2 free Internet points, and special prices in agreement with taxi Trinacria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bel 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel 3 Hotel
Bel 3 Palermo
Hotel Bel 3 Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing