We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giorgio is THE man!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Giorgio's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giorgio's House
Ranked #275 of 453 Palermo B&B and Inns
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Giorgio is THE man!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Let's be honest, i'm sure we've all stayed in some pretty bad hostels/B&B's right, but there is no way you can have a bad experience with this place. He basically caters to you, you have your own personal, funny guide of palermo. Giorgio really does care about his guests and it's his goal to make sure that you have a fantastic stay. His breakfasts were great, I highly recommend staying there! Go on all his organized trips and ask him all the questions you want, he's there to help =)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_B1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    18
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
27
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Staying at Giorgio's House felt like I was staying at a friend’s home. Giorgio goes above and beyond what is expected. He took us on a walking tour of the city at night where had had us sample local Sicilian food, out to dinner on a mountain overlooking Palermo and to the Turkish Steps (Scala dei Turchi). This last excursion was a real treat as this place is far from Palermo and only accessible by car. The bed rooms, kitchen, and washrooms at his bed and breakfast are spacious and it is located in a good area to get to the major sites by foot or bus. Giorgio himself is very helpful in terms of providing information not just about Palermo but also other Sicilian cities and there is a lot of reading material about Sicily in the bed and breakfast. My stay at his B&B was a pleasant one and I know where to stay when in Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_S_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield,sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was my 5th stay at Giorgio's House and quite honestly you couldn't be better looked after, from the fresh cakes, buns and local savouries for breakfast to the tripsout to show you his city. Nothing is too much trouble. He's good-humoured, honest and knowledgeable-a great host. Can't wait to try his new place in Buenos Aires !
Mary and Ben Evans

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryloudean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

As others have said, you go here for Girogio. The location is great for the sites, but probably not the best part of Palermo. There was parking in the streets and we felt safe, but the city could use a bit of cleaning... that's not Giorgio's responsibility.

He was most helpful and on the night we arrived arranged a dinner far out of town at a very local place for the three couples staying the night. It was enjoyable to meet and eat with couples from other areas of Europe and thanks to Girogio we had a great time.

Think of this as visiting Giorgio and staying in his apartment and visiting with the other guest... that's the attraction and fun.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Georgio was fantastic. Very helpful. Very laid back and fun. Lent us his Satnav to navigate streets of Palermo. Gave us lots of information about places to hike to/visit.

B&B basic and serves you well. Homely & welcoming.

Big breakfast.

Free tour of city sampling specialities of city (not for veggies! or those fussy people)

Thanks Very much Georgio
Adam[--]

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamsiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

I was travelling around Europe for 3 months, and staying at Giorgios was BY FAR the worst experience of my entire trip. Admittedly, the facilities he offers are fine - breakfast, ok place, picks you up from the train station, etc. However, Palermo is a very scary place - and Giorgios is not in a good location within the city.

On the back of all the doors in Giorgios place, there is a 'memo' of sort, telling everyone to make sure that when they go online to review his place, they comment on what he offers, not on the city. Palermo is a dirty and terrifying city with little to offer, and he basically admits that. I am telling you, and I travelled all around Europe for 3 months, Palermo was the worst place I went. If you want to go to Sicily, you totally should - there are beautiful places there that we visited, and it made up for the terrible experience in Palermo. Otherwise, just go somewhere else in Italy!!

Besides that, my friends and I had an incident with Giorgio that proved that he is not the nice, understanding, friendly character that some people think he is. I'm not going to go into details because it will take too long to describe, but Giorgio treated us terribly. He lied to us, stereotyped us, screamed at us, and worst of all - threatned us. It was insane and scary.

Giorgio cares so much about his reputation, it's a little crazy. You can even find part of his website online where he literally finds every negative review ever written about him, and rebutts the negative points. I'm sure this one will be there soon, and I'm sure he will make up some crazy reasoning like he does with everyone else.

All I can say is don't go to Palermo, and if you do, DO NOT stay at Giorgios.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leora6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmoe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

No need to search for anyplace else to stay, Giorgio's House is the simly the best! We will soon get back to Palermo or to his place in Argentina. This man knows how to do everyting in the best way for his guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Palazzo Reale
B&B Porta di Castro
B&B Porta di Castro
#10 of 453 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B D'Angelo
#125 of 453 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giorgio's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giorgio's House

Property: Giorgio's House
Address: Via A.Mongitore, 90100, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 453 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Giorgio's House Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing