We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ai Cartari B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ai Cartari B&B
Ranked #99 of 451 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Though my husband has already left his review on this B&B, I feel that he was overly generous in assigning a three rating. I believe if you pay for two nights in a location yet feel compelled to check out the next morning and pay to stay anywhere else, this rates as a terrible location. This is just what we did.

Based on reviews we believed the owner/caretaker would be present and available to assist us in navigating Palermo on our first visit. I speak basic conversational Italian, and not very well, so that assistance was a key factor in our booking. When we arrived we were greeted at the door by a woman who cleaned and maintained the property. She spoke not one word of English and I had trouble understanding her ... not a great way to start the trip, but not the fault of the B&B. However, everything that occurred later could have been avoided had the owner been responsive to our attempts to remedy the following:

The locks on the doors stuck. We had great difficulty going in and out of the apartments. Yes, I said apartments. We were traveling as a family of six ... they assigned us in two separate apartments that could only be accessed by going outside one door, walking through a courtyard, and going inside the other. This could have been avoided if we were given access to connecting common areas, but found ourselves locked out after the woman who greeted us left for the day. We didn't know we would be locked out until she was gone. She walked us through these common areas as she showed us around the B&B and to our rooms.

The 4-person apartment is really a fold out couch and two beds divided by a sliding partition. The kitchen is stocked with absolutely nothing. We could not even boil water. The utensils were locked in the main kitchen and we were left with a note saying the kitchen in the apartment was not available to us because we had not requested it. Really?

The air conditioning in both units did not work. The heat was unbearable.

The "breakfast" in B&B is a joke. They gave us vouchers for the cafe across the street. The coupons didn't even cover the cost of a cappuccino and breakfast pastry.

And worst of all ... regardless of multiple attempts to contact the owner by email to resolve any of these issues (actually we would have been happy to just have a fan in the rooms, truth be told), we never received a response. Once we realized we were not going to get a response from our owner/caretaker, we made the decision to leave the next morning. We left to the sound of the woman who had greeted us the day before, yelling and screaming at us in Italian. I understood just enough to know that we were being scolded. In my worst Italian I assured her that the keys and the cash were inside the apartment. She slammed the door in our faces and that was the last impression we got of Ai Cartari B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    30
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
58
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ai Catari is a wonderfull place to stay- very spacious and beautful antique rooms with magnificent furniture and more antiquities. Even without knowing other B&B'sI think this must be the most beautiful in Palermo....Also very well taken care of by Rosi Loria, for the breakfast but also her help to solve parking problems...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0n11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here in May and feel in love with Palermo and the beautiful appartment in Ai Carteri and hence repeated the visit in October. Breakfast was delightful with home made cakes. The place is very central. I have recommended this to family who intend to visit next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ai Cartari for an overnight stop in Palermo during our tour of Sicily. After some slight confusion about how to get into the b&b (we had to wait for some time after ringing the buzzer) we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room/suite which is filled with character and has been tastefully decorated. Also it has its own entrance and was very clean with plenty of towels and toiletries. Be warned though -there is only a gate and some stairs separating the guest bedroom area from the host's living area and she did ask us to keep this in mind. We can speak only very limited Italian and so conversed very little with our host but she was very helpful in arranging taxis etc. We had a generous breakfast with lots of sweet pastries and coffee. The location is great - beside a lovely restaurant and cathedral plus within walking distance to the main attractions. There is some noise from cars/scooters/neighbours in the plaza outside but Palermo generally seemed quite noisy and busy and it did quieten down later at night. Would stay here again and/or recommend to anyone who is comfy enough with the limited separation between your sleeping quarters and the host's home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQ005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have to start by talking about Rosi, an exceptional helpful host. We stayed at Ai Carteri for 4 nights in September, I was a bit sick...I took her advice on medication and felt better, a lovely woman. The bedroom is a small apartment, very spacious and clean, eventhough it is in the heart of Palermo you do not hear any noise, quiet and safe. I could not get over her artistic touch...it is simply beautiful and tasteful.
The only minor issue from my husband was the air conditioning, it works but not to full capacity.
I would definitely go back and I suggest strongly this wonderful B&B.
Carole and Mario

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ai Cartari offers an authentic Sicilian experience and it's location (in the heart of the historic centre) can't be beaten. The breakfast was beautiful, with plenty of coffee, jams, bread and homemade cakes. Of course, for us, Rosi was the real joy, who couldn't do enough to help us and happily chatted to us during our mornings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our stay at Al Catari was the perfect end to our holiday in Sicily. Great location for exploring Palermo on foot and plenty of good restaurants nearby. Behind the understated entrance (which can be a little hard to locate initially) lies a wonderful Main Hall, beautifully furnished with art and antiques. The Bedrooms were simply but tastefully furnished with antique furniture, were quite spacious, spotlessly clean and importantly for us, were really quiet for a city location. Breakfast, served in the Main Hall was excellent, with a great selection of breads, pastries etc. The only minor issue was that the advertised car-park was not available on Sundays. The owner was very friendly and obliging. All in all an excellent experience and good value.
David B

Room Tip: Interlinked rooms available which would be ideal for a family group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagwen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Boutique B&B Vintage
Boutique B&B Vintage
#18 of 451 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
La Terrazza sul Centro
#26 of 451 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
PalermiT'amo Apartment
#32 of 451 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abatellis Luxury
#11 of 451 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Politeama
Palazzo Pantaleo B&B
Palazzo Pantaleo B&B
#6 of 451 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Cartari B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Cartari B&B

Property: Ai Cartari B&B
Address: Via Alessandro Paternostro 62, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ai Cartari B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ai Cartari B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Cartari B&B Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing