We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel del Centro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel del Centro
Ranked #30 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for a week with two friends in July 2014 - our overall impression was a good hotel and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't have bizarrely high expectations (such as complaining about dust on the artificial flowers...!). The staff were extremely helpful with requests and advice for local sightseeing/transport/good value restaurants etc and made us feel very welcome. The hotel felt secure, the beds/bathroom were attended to daily and air con made sleeping comfortable (albeit controlled from reception). The shutters were almost blackout so you aren't woken at the crack of dawn by hot sunlight and breakfast was perfectly adequate and served for a good length of time (7-10am).

Some reviews complain about the hotel's location, however we found it to be very good - five minutes from the train/bus station and only about 15-20 min amble through beautiful old streets to lots of recommended sightseeing spots and a wide range of restaurants/cafes in the area.

Based on our visit we would say that this is a decent hotel to stay in, just be aware that there may be a 6 Euro per person 'city tax' charge, which you will need to fork out for upon checkout.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 534 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Me and my wife have just return from Palermo. We were staying at the Hotel del Centro for six nights. First impression, well, disappointment. I will try to explain why:
If you are looking for a hotel in the city center, this is not a hotel for you. You will have to take a bus to get to the city center (four or five bus station), and if you wish to go to the beach than, you have to take another bus from the center.
Hotel is in the building on the 2nd floor and in the same building there are two hotels each on the separate floor.
Hotel is in essence, created from the flats on the 2nd and 3th floor with internal stairs. If you get the room on the 3th floor then you have to carry your luggage on this stairs.
Dust on the chairs and artificial flowers in the hotel hallway will be cleaned during this year on the end of the season (I sincerely hope so!).
Room was spacious. Bed covers was with holes from cigarets and moths.
Because Palermo has a problem with sewerage system you might smell stink as we were so, we have requested to change the room. And we have moved from room 24 to room 19. Situation was better but not much.
WiFi, in this room (19) is not available. You will have WiFi only if you exit the room. We had the terrace with table and two chairs. I guess that the guest obligation is to regularly clean the table and chairs from the dust and birds shiting, or maybe, it will be cleaned in the same time as dust in the hotel hallway?
Breakfast... well what to say, if you like to have sweet breakfast every day than, it is OK. But if you dont, you will have only ham every day (even the cheese is sweet?).
One bright spot in this hotel is the hotel stuff, which was very polite and helpful.
Hotel is located in the place full of emigrants from Africa and Pakistan and across the street you have Africa market.
Noise from the street was very loud so if you want to sleep you must close all windows.
Air conditioner was managed from the reception so if you wish to increase or decrease the room temperature you have to call the receptionist to come and do this with remote contoller which is not available to the guests.
I sincerely hope that I succeed to explain why this hotel was a big DISAPPOINTMENT for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Predrag V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We ended up at the Hotel del Centro when our original hotel re-booked us due to damage at their place. The room clean but very spartan. Air conditioning is controlled by hotel staff (you request for it to be turned on at the desk) and doesn't really work. The hotel is on a main road in Palermo so it is convenient for walking places, but can be noisy at night. It does have a balcony to sit and enjoy the city view. Breakfast very basic but fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiT0wnF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Title suggests main reason of our stay here and whilst short provided all our necessities.
Receptionist is very friendly and provided us with lots of ideas to explore the city and how to get around. Breakfast was ample and set in a nice bright setting. The ceilings were the highest I've seen in a hotel. The bathroom was actually quite large and the place was very clean but don't forget that it's quite an old hotel so don't expect anything too flash. We slept well despite an annoying mozzie as the large street facing windows had an inbuilt set of doors so even at 8am the room was pitch dark. Fine place for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here recently with my family - we shared a room for 5 people. The room was very basic and had an even more basic bathroom inserted in the corner of the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is good for exploring Palermo but what a filthy city it is! We were very surprised to see garbage everywhere and nobody seems to pick up after their dogs. Parking is also a bit questionable. There is supposedly a public parking area that the hotel recommends but when we went there, it appeared to be just an open lot and we couldn't find any people to help us. We ended up finding a spot on the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Old style hotel with adequate bathroom facilities, comfortable bed, short walk from Central Station.
Atmospheric lift from circa 1930. No luxuries but value for money. Breakfast was very nice and staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Uludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

With many options for breakfast, clean and tidy rooms and charming staff this hotel ticks all the boxes for a moderately priced holiday. We booked direct with the hotel and saved money by doing so. The hotel is close to the station, where the airport buses stop and is convenient for all parts of the historical old town of Palermo.

Room Tip: The room we were in was room 30, on the side of the hotel, which meant we had nobody above us. Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank librachair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,245 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#48 of 98 in Palermo
121 reviews
Hotel Posta
#28 of 98 in Palermo
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Joli
#24 of 98 in Palermo
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Centro

Address: Via Roma 72, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $49 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the capital of island, among Baroque churches and markets of Islamic memory, there is the Hotel del Centro with all mod cons. The Hotel del Centro has opened recently and it is situated in the old town centre of Palermo very close to the most important monuments, such as The Cathedral, The Massimo Theatre, The Vucciria Market and so on; moreover it is only 100 metres away from the Central Station of Palermo, in the neighbourhood of which there are the arrivals and departures of the buses for the airport and the whole Sicily. You can easily get to the Hotel del Centro from the Port of Palermo, which is about 1 Km away from the hotel. Staying at the Hotel del Centro, you will be able to walk through Palermo and you will enjoy the atmosphere and the folklore of the popular markets of the city. The Hotel del Centro, which is in a suggestive period building, is very comfortable. There are rooms with bath, shower, phone, TV, air conditioning, windows no-noise, hairdryer, Wireless Internet Access and skilled workers at your complete disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Centro Hotel
Del Centro Palermo
Hotel Del Centro Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing