We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oratorio di Santa Cita

Oratorio di Santa Cita
Ranked #7 of 274 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It's a lot like any overdone oratorio, but on the rear wall there's an interesting 3D plaster recreation of the Battle of Lepanto of 1571.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    70
    16
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedoin, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you do only 1 thing in Palermo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

No matter how short your visit to Palermo, don't miss a visit to this breathtaking little Oratorio. It is in a cluster of 6 others, all a short walk from each other but this is truly the jewel in the crown.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nonamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An unexpected discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

While visiting the very beautiful Oratorio di Santa Zita (Cita), I heard some wonderful operatic music coming from somewhere. At first, I thought it was someone playing opera at high-volume. I followed the sound down to the salon, located at street level of the Oratorio. There I found a tenor opera singer, accompanied by a pianist, singing his heart out. I entered the salon and took a seat. A few minutes later, a young woman approached me. She told me that the duo was practicing for a concert that night. The music was wonderful, so I told her I would return. It turns out that the program is called Palermo Salotto Musicale, concertIncontri (Concerts and Get-togethers), an organization dedicated to promoting young musicians. That evening's concert, which consisted of a series of famous arias taken from a dozen lyric operas, among them Cavelleria Rusticana, Pagliacci, Tosca and Carmen, was thrilling. The singing of young tenor Alessandro Moccia, accompanied by the talented young pianist Paolo Gurrera, was magical, and the price, a mere €5, was a gift. The autumn series runs eekly through December 15. Not to be missed if you are in Palermo. So nice to see these old spaces come alive again!

Helpful?
1 Thank amfadamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of many oratories in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful stucco decorations all over the walls and ceiling: white and gold. Most beautiful as are the other stuccoed oratories

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aliciasynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Masterpiece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

That work of Giacomo Serpotta is a masterpiece in sculpture. Look at all the details of the cherubs' expressive faces and movement. I was really impressed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oratorio di Santa Cita also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Oratorio di Santa Cita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing