We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
North Plainfield, NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location, Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just got back from Sicily, we stayed at the Hilton in Palermo. We were greeted with a pleasant front desk staff, and a very comfortable room. It is a beautiful old hotel with modern convienences. It is very well located. The breakfast is wonderful, but if it is not included, it is $15 Euro a person. I would definitely stay there again. I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhugs4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Madam
we really thank you for your nice words, about your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing about the excellent hotel location, the nice room and the great breakfast. Thank you for highlighting our pleasant front desk staff and that you will definitely stay with us again.
It has been a great pleasure for us too, having you as guest and we really hope to welcome you once more.
Best Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    470
    187
    67
    33
See reviews for
140
442
44
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were there as part of a tour, which was presumably why we got a awful room. The room overlooked other rooms (see photo), and there was a thumping noise very five minutes from the domestic area below the room. We ate in the restaurant - there was very little choice, and I was charged 12 euros for a small, lukewarm cheese omelette (now a benchmark for ridiculous prices in our family).
Amazingly you do not get free wi-fi in your room. You need to get a password from reception for the lobby area for free wi-fi.

Room Tip: I guess if you pay yourself you can kick up a fuss if you get the room I got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very sorry to know we haven’t satisfied your expectations.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Best Regards
Filippo


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Staff speaks English, which is not true all Sicily hotels. Large rooms. This is a grand hotel in a very good area of Palermo. Plenty of restaurants and shopping near by. Bus stop is at the hotel's corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a basically good hotel, the room a reasonable size, instant coffee/tea in room. The restaurant service was, well, interesting. There was quite a performance made over putting us with another couple, even though there was space available, a long wait to order, an even longer wait for food, but at least some entertainment, as the waiters and Maitre d' had a stand up argument in the middle of the restaurant. Basil Faulty eat your heart out. One of the waiters, a large gentleman, ran everywhere, skidding to a halt at the table, arms wide, saying 'I am quick, yes?' Erm, well, the movement was erratically swift, but usually caused by things being forgotten. We needed to eat in a second night, no rows, but we were charged for a drink that never arrived at table, and a lady had trouble trying to pay on the hotel tab, having originally suggested that she would pay cash. The food was fine, when it arrived.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Well located hotel with comfortable rooms and a very decent buffet breakfast (additional menu items available for a supplment). Rooms were on the hot side - as with other hotels the air conditioning was not yet switched on. Whilst windows could be opened the noise from the street prevented sleeping with windows open. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Cab rank directly outside of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
301 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived at the property via the Prestia Comande bus and that worked out really well as it only took about 45 minutes to arrive at the stop near the hotel which was only about 2 minutes walk away and the return stop was equally close and the bus was on time. It was more like an hour on the return though as it was much more busy on the return trip.

Upon arrival we were met by a very pleasant front desk agent that explained all about the property and about my Diamond benefits which was internet, upgraded room, free drink at the bar and of course breakfast in the restaurant. As we arrived the hotel had a very old feel to it but we come to find that was what made this a very charming hotel.

The room was indeed an upgrade as it was large and had plenty of space for our luggage and all the bags we accumulated from shopping. The room was also well maintained and very clean and while it had a more classic style it did have some obvious updates that you don't find in older properties such as power plugs near the bed which is a huge plus as most of us want to charge devices near the bed at night. Their was plenty of close space in our room and a very large bathroom with bidet. We also had a cute little balcony that overlooked a little park area where people walk their dogs. I will say that if you are looking for a very quiet room it may be difficult as the hotel is not very tall and with the hotel backing onto a very major roadway it can get loud due to traffic noise. Sirens in the middle of the night and delivery trucks noise do not bother us but may bother others. If so, I would probably try to be on the same side as the hotel front entry as that street is less traveled especially at night.

There are two restaurants in the hotel with one being the bar restaurant at the front of the hotel which is primarily lunch and dinner hours and we did eat there a couple of evenings and have a drink on another evening and the service and food was very good each time. The food was a pleasant surprise as hotel food can be average but we enjoyed it and the waiters were quite good also. The only disappointment was that last evening we dined there we didn't find out that they were having only a limited menu that evening but only after ordering drinks etc so we had no desire to move on to someplace else so you may want to check they have the full menu before sitting down. The other restaurant was for breakfast and the service and food was equally good. My only issue with breakfast was that it was a bit boring after a few days as it was the same every day but the quality and selection was good.

We found the location to be good for sight seeing as you could walk to many sites and shopping areas and there are some decent restaurants nearby so we were happy with our choice and would definitely select this property again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was a good hotel booked by Travel agent. The Staff at the desk spoke English and was helpful.Good selection of Breakfast items Buffet style. We could order a choice of beverages not displayed free of charge. We had 2 rooms both were of good size and compact and very clean. ,had a fridge ,coffee making facilities, Hair dryer.Only problem was could not regulate temperature, Centrally controlled so it was hot and there was no aircon or fan available. We could not open windows as the street traffic noise was unbearable.
The other point was the TV was restricted to only news and a little documentory and chat show. No serial or films all were in other language and there was no facility of subtitling them.
You could rent a film for 9 euros.Further internet access was available only in the lobby not in the rooms which was annoying( had to pay to use in the rooms). The hotel was located in an Expensive area with all the Designer shops around.Resturants were scarce and far between.The hotel does have its own resturants reasonable pricing. Do note in town that resturants close at one and dont open till 8pm at night and you have to make reservation to get seating inside.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the main road.We were on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#16 of 101 in Palermo
1,723 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 101 in Palermo
930 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#3 of 101 in Palermo
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing