We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This old mansion should be better maintained!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This old mansion should be better maintained!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Excelsior Hilton Palermo looks quite nice when you first arrive. But take a closer look and you see that the carpets and walls are very dirty and the hallways smell quite musty. Someone tracked in large dirt clods when we first checked-in and you could still see them all of the way up the main staircase after three days! Some of the staff are friendly; the waiters in the restaurant and the breakfast area do a good job. We were excited to see a full shower door and then found that it leaked like crazy and we had a lake on the bathroom floor after every shower! Just before we checked-out someone attempted to clean an area on the carpet in our hallway and it smelled just awful! It's a shame that this beautiful old building isn't being taken care of!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runnermom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    429
    177
    62
    32
See reviews for
126
417
42
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The check in was fast and we were upgraded to a suite, however got to the room and the key didn't work.
The place seemed exactly as I remembered, except it was looking a bit more tired.
We arrive around 9.30pm so went straight to the restaurant, which we were told closes at 11pm.
The service was non existent 3 guys standing around talking to each other like we weren't there.
The pasta was served, but no offer of cheese or anything, just dropped on the table, like they couldn't be bothered.
We had to get up walk to them to get the check.
Food was good, service was a shocker!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

What is the point of reserving a room with a balcony when you only get a window by the kitchen exhaust. Pretentious and not worth the price, rooms are upscale garbage, decent bathrooms, and space, if you were on biz and had to stay, it wouldn't be bad. They couldn't check us in on time and the internet is $13 euro a day in your room, which for me is the place I want the free internet, not the lobby!! Very disappointed and can't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Insist on a balcony, otherwise your in a box with no outside air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamonJodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a total of 4 nights, 1 night at the commencement of a tour and 3 nights at the end of the tour. Although the hotel has a lovely old world charm and the rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, on my first stay, the airconditioning was not working very well and the room was much too hot and when I returned to the hotel, there was no hot water in the hotel for the first 2 nights. This was very inconvenient and after myself and several other guests complained, the staff were most apologetic but I felt guests should have been advised in advance that there was a problem and perhaps some compensation offered. The hotel is well located close to the main shopping area although quite a distance from the old town. The buffet breakfast was very good. Wifi was free but only in the lobby of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel isn a perfect location to walk to all the sites and to pickup a city tour bus. Also it is in close proximity to all the upscale shops.
The rooms are a little dated, but the staff is exceptional. Well informed, helpful, friendly willing to help.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade but ask for a quiet room so that you do not hear the noise from the traffic as this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we spent only 3 days in Excelsior and all wished we were there for longer.
The staff is EXTRA nice and really went extra mile to assist us and provide with information.
The breakfast buffet was great!
rooms - amazing, spacious and really comfy.
the location of the hotel is absolutely superb.
If we go back to Palermo, there is no other choice, but Hilton Excelsior.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOnlyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Palermo for 1 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room was overlooking the main entrance but was quiet. Everything worked and the room had the quality of an old charming hotel. The location is on the edge of town so it is a bit of a walk from the sights but there are plenty of taxis in front of the hotel (I do not suggest you drive in Palermo, I did and nearly lost my sanity).

Overall the hotel provided great service, friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#18 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,543 reviews
Politeama
BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Hotel Ucciardhome
Hotel Ucciardhome
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#12 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#19 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing