We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in Palermo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Ranked #18 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice location in Palermo”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel was in a nice location in Palermo. The room was nice and the staff was friendly. The only thing I didn't like about it was when every tour group came at the same time for breakfast! The dining room was a zoo! But when the groups left things calmed down alot. The cappucino was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollebcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    483
    193
    69
    33
See reviews for
144
454
48
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in Palermo on the last night of our 8 day holiday after returning from a drive to Taormina, Syracus and Modica. It was well located to the smart shopping area, also on the main bus route in from the airport - which proved very convenient for getting to the airport. Very large rooms compared to every other hotel I'd stayed in Sicily. A pleasant stay and would be happy to stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet - ours was the first floor above the entrance and we didn't hear a thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Where you have to wear slippers because the carpet is dirty and gross!
The pictures say it all. We like to drink Macallan and my husband poured us both a drink. I picked up my glass and it had stuff floating in it!!!
DIRTY is the word that I think of when I think of this hotel.
We did have good service in the bar and restaurant.
Lorenzo our driver while we were there took very good care of us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidenJanzeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I echo the generally positive reviews of this property. This was the last hotel we stayed in during our 8 day tour of Sicily and it was wonderful to be pampered with the great bed and bathroom facilities on offer at this hotel. As for the cost of the Wifi service and the wonderful breakfast buffet in the spectacular Art Nouveau dining area, these items are all FREE for HHonors member who hold Gold elite or higher status. Those who carp about the price of these items should invest a bit of time and money in loyalty to the Hilton chain and then these items would cost them nothing. Kudos to Front desk staff Melenea and Ada for making this Gold member so comfortable at their hotel with their welcome, coupled with the compliments from the General Manager, himself. Having booked an upgraded room on points, I was upgraded to a junior suite at the hotel. Consequently, it is quite worthwhile to invest some effort in rewarding Hilton with your loyalty.

Room Tip: Invest some effort to become a HHonors Gold or Diamond member. No need for a taxi to/from the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFTEN_HOMEBOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Responsabile reception at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Mr Ogige,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.
Kinds Regards
Filippo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

After staying in a series of budget hotels throughout Italy (some with shared bathrooms), this was a nice step up. Large room, comfortable, clean, great bathroom. WIFI was extra and some what difficult to access via iPhone. Felt comfortable walking in this area to oter restaurants, cafes, bus stop, etc. Shuttle to the beach was extra, but a great deal. Beach area had lounge chairs, sun umbrella, valuables locker and the beach towel came with us from the hotel. Our breakfast was not included because we had booked a budget deal through a travel site, but we preferred trying the expresso bars and found one nearby with pastries and breakfast pockets that were superb.

Room Tip: Second floor inside (away from streets on either side) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Oldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a busy city hotel in an excellent location. The breakfast is ridiculous and the breakfast room is spectacular. Had a very nice stay at the hotel, the staff is very professional. Most attractions are in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
389 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The first room was in the bottom of the air shaft. This is a renovated villa, so the rooms differ. We asked to be moved and were happy. They had a wonderful breakfast, but ran out of towels. Almost all the small hotels have free wifi, but the Hilton wants about $20 for wifi. Weird. There was a communist rally that weekend in the park across the street. Cental location.

Room Tip: Ask for the air shaft if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filippo M, Front Office Manager at Mercure Palermo Excelsior City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
we received your comments and we thank you very much for your time dedicated to write your impressions, which are basic for us, both to be able to grow and as exhortation to do our best and celebrate our successes.
Moreover, we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Palermo.
We are very happy to have satisfied your expectations and to have left a good memory of your experience with us.
In addition, we thank you for your criticisms and we would like to let you know that we are working to set them right as soon as possible, even if they do not exclusively depend on us.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once more and to keep deserving your preference.

Best Regards
Filippo Marchese
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
956 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 101 in Palermo
1,765 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Excelsior City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Excelsior City

Property: Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
Address: Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Excelsior Palace Hotel)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Palermo Excelsior is located in the Liberty style area of the city and is surrounded by the English Garden, Villa Garibaldi, Villa Trabia, close to the shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Palermo Excelsior City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hilton Palermo Hotel Palermo
Hilton Palermo
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing