We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home in Palermo”
Review of Hotel Tonic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tonic
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Hotel Tonic has been our regular place to stay in Palermo over the last six years. We have visited Sicily every year and it has always been a pleasure. The Tonic's position, friendly staff, comfortable & clean rooms have made it an excellent choice. It is good value and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremydummett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 756 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

A nice hotel, very central to Palermo. Excellent value for money paid.
Very Clean, Good Breakfast.
Parking a little far from hotel, quite a lot of steps at entrance... not good for wheelchairs/pushchairs.
Service at desk competent but not tremendously friendly for a Sicilian hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Hotel Tonic is greatly situated, close to the harbour and to the cultural venues. It's a charming hotel with good-humoured and service-oriented personnel. The interior is quite charming, with a marble staircase, tiled floors in the spacious rooms (good for people with allergies) and the smallest but most complete bathroom we've ever seen. The rooms situated on the front offer a nice view into the Palermitan streets but have one disadvantage: sleeping with open windows is hardly an option due to the vibrant nightlife. So bring earplugs, ask for a room with a view and enjoy nice people, Sicilian history and its daily life.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoJim070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Tonic. Very professional front desk staff wo spoke english. Rooms were nicely appointed with comfortable beds.

Breakfast buffet was varied and consistently good.

We loved the neighborhood-lots of shopping and restaurants. We felt we could safely walk around after dark as the area was so vibrant.

Hotel supposedly had a lobby bar but it never appeared to be open.

if you take the bus to Monreale, please be careful. My husband had his pocketpicked getting on the bus. An older man was pushing and creating a fuss trying to get off. We assume he was the diversion and his partner did it.

The hotel Tonic was great however and I paln to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnidafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

All the staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The recently renovated hotel was lovely in an "old world" style with high ceilings and a lovely central staircase, plus elevator. The location in the old town was perfect for walking everywhere, and was situated next to restaurants, retail shops, and food and wine stores. The room was spacious with a very nice bathroom and two balconies. Wireless in-room internet service was free. One of the best European hotels we have stayed in. Highly recommended, based on our experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aml4ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Not terribly impressed. The staff were all immaculately dressed in their smart uniforms and were polite. However, they weren't enormously helpful, for example with explaining directions or how the public transport system worked. Also little things were annoying, like charging by the minute for internet use. And when in Sicily, you don't want to have Orange Cordial for breakfast.

It is a very good location. However, unless you are want to walk everywhere, you will need to take buses between the sites, and therefore it's much more useful to have staff to help you with Palermo's confusing transport system.

On the whole faded glory. My room was uncomfortable with a poor bed (though my mum's was better). Probably worth paying a bit more to stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuropeanWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is well situated for sightseeing and is a short walk from the airport bus. Our room was very quiet and comfortable...the blackout shutters made it perfect for sleeping. The breakfast was ample and the desk staff courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53snowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,359 reviews
Hotel Joli
#25 of 98 in Palermo
631 reviews
Hotel del Centro
#30 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Posta
#27 of 98 in Palermo
461 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
702 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#21 of 98 in Palermo
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonic

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 126, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $45 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tonic 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tonic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Palermo
Hotel Tonic Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing