We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Mold”
Review of Hotel Tonic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tonic
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed 4 night at the Hotel Tonic. The first room (301) we had was sparse but adequate and clean.The beds however, were so bad that we could feel the configuration of each spring. We had to line the bed with all the extra pillows so we could sleep. The second room (103) was better but the black mold in the bathroom covered the ceiling and went down wall to the shower tiles. It was disgusting. We took pixs to back up our find. In both rooms we could hear outside noises as it there was little insulation in the wall. Most of the staff was pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast was great and the location was excellent. The mold was a deal breaker..we left.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but beware of the mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDVtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 746 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for those who want to stay in the centre of Palermo. It is situated near commercial streets, restaurants and attractions. Reception is very helpful with touristic indications. If you arrive in Palermo at Central Station, just take bus 101 or 102 and get off after Cavour Street. There are a few indications so it is quite easy to get there. Breakfast is ok, plenty to choose. Beds are perhaps too hard so, be careful with your back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed here on 2 different occasions now. There is a big difference in room quality but most double rooms are HUGE with beautiful tile floors, very clean, extra sofa and bright sun. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The location is excellent, smack in the middle of the high end shopping and the old town. I would never recommend having a car in Palermo but if you do, parking can be quite difficult.

Room Tip: Get a room off of the first floor. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefdomestique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were surprised to experience the very good accommodations at the Tonic Hotel in Palermo Italy. Based on the not-so-pleasant attitude of the city as we drove in, we thought we were in for a not-so-pleasnat experience but that was not the cas. The room was large, cozy and warm (in the Winter of mid-March) and everything worked well for the inexpensive price.
At night the h\neighborhood became a wonderful scene of "cool" bars. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheACEFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location for walking around central Palermo. Short walk from Airport Bus stop. The rooms are clean but very dated, dark with no style and very high ceilings. Our room was large (#305) and actually a triple. The beds were not very comfortable. The bathroom was OK but quite small. Very small elevator so be prepared to take the stairs unless you have luggage. The staff is quite helpful so if you have a problem (as we did with the heater), don't hesitate to ask. Ok breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 305 is a double/triple, large with balcony overlooking side street so a bit noisy but well insu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As my title indicates, this hotel is affordably priced. I paid 53 euro for a double in Feb 2013. The breakfast is terrific - lots of good quality choices. The beds had HARD mattresses, which made comfortable sleep difficult. It appears that management/owner of this hotel made a decision to purchase the absolute minimum level of WIFI internet service possible, in order that they could honestly advertise "We have WIFI!". The WIFI is barely sufficient for one person to be connected at a time. If two people are on, it's DEAD. Really disappointing, and by the way, the so-called WIFI is only available IN THE HOTEL COMPUTER ROOM, nowhere else.
I think it's time that TripAdvisor offer a WIFI rating system as part of their review process, so that guests can describe the WIFI accessibility to those considering booking a room. For me, and perhaps for you as well, good quality WIFI is critical to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in one occasion and for one night on a separate occasion prior to leaving Palermo. Since I was coming back after a week of my initial stay the hotel was very accommodating in letting me leave one piece of luggage with them so I didn't have to haul it around while I traveled through the rest of the island.
The rooms are large, the bathrooms a nice size, the beds are ok, not super comfortable.
The hotel is centrally located, near some great restaurants, like Vino e Pommodoro, il Mirto e la Rosa, walking distance to the markets, Teatro Massimo, Teatro Politeama Garibaldi, etc.
This hotel is an excellent value for the money. I will definitely stay there again.
It has free WiFi, safe box and mini fridge in the rooms.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank PWRBECKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#20 of 98 in Palermo
550 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,315 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#14 of 98 in Palermo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,854 reviews
Hotel Posta
#27 of 98 in Palermo
457 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonic

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 126, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range: $51 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tonic 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tonic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Palermo
Hotel Tonic Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing