We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and Good Quality 3-Star”
Review of Hotel Tonic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tonic
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed here on 2 different occasions now. There is a big difference in room quality but most double rooms are HUGE with beautiful tile floors, very clean, extra sofa and bright sun. I would not hesitate to stay here again. The location is excellent, smack in the middle of the high end shopping and the old town. I would never recommend having a car in Palermo but if you do, parking can be quite difficult.

Room Tip: Get a room off of the first floor. The higher the better.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefdomestique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tonic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 736 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were surprised to experience the very good accommodations at the Tonic Hotel in Palermo Italy. Based on the not-so-pleasant attitude of the city as we drove in, we thought we were in for a not-so-pleasnat experience but that was not the cas. The room was large, cozy and warm (in the Winter of mid-March) and everything worked well for the inexpensive price.
At night the h\neighborhood became a wonderful scene of "cool" bars. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheACEFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location for walking around central Palermo. Short walk from Airport Bus stop. The rooms are clean but very dated, dark with no style and very high ceilings. Our room was large (#305) and actually a triple. The beds were not very comfortable. The bathroom was OK but quite small. Very small elevator so be prepared to take the stairs unless you have luggage. The staff is quite helpful so if you have a problem (as we did with the heater), don't hesitate to ask. Ok breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 305 is a double/triple, large with balcony overlooking side street so a bit noisy but well insu...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As my title indicates, this hotel is affordably priced. I paid 53 euro for a double in Feb 2013. The breakfast is terrific - lots of good quality choices. The beds had HARD mattresses, which made comfortable sleep difficult. It appears that management/owner of this hotel made a decision to purchase the absolute minimum level of WIFI internet service possible, in order that they could honestly advertise "We have WIFI!". The WIFI is barely sufficient for one person to be connected at a time. If two people are on, it's DEAD. Really disappointing, and by the way, the so-called WIFI is only available IN THE HOTEL COMPUTER ROOM, nowhere else.
I think it's time that TripAdvisor offer a WIFI rating system as part of their review process, so that guests can describe the WIFI accessibility to those considering booking a room. For me, and perhaps for you as well, good quality WIFI is critical to a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in one occasion and for one night on a separate occasion prior to leaving Palermo. Since I was coming back after a week of my initial stay the hotel was very accommodating in letting me leave one piece of luggage with them so I didn't have to haul it around while I traveled through the rest of the island.
The rooms are large, the bathrooms a nice size, the beds are ok, not super comfortable.
The hotel is centrally located, near some great restaurants, like Vino e Pommodoro, il Mirto e la Rosa, walking distance to the markets, Teatro Massimo, Teatro Politeama Garibaldi, etc.
This hotel is an excellent value for the money. I will definitely stay there again.
It has free WiFi, safe box and mini fridge in the rooms.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank PWRBECKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed for one week in late Jan 2013. They allow you to use the PC/internet for free...just ask. The hotel is close to the Teatro Garibaldi, shopping, tour buses, and airport bus pickup/drop off location, yet far enough away so it is not so noisy. Very clean, extra large bedrooms with sufficiently sized bathrooms. At night, if you like your room very dark, just shut all of the metal shutters and it will be pitch black! (Just the way I like it!) The desk clerks speak English and have a sign on the front desk every day to tell you what the weather will be like...very helpful in January. The breakfast is typical European...no hot food, but what is presented is very good and includes cereal, fruit, cheese and meat, along with a selection of yummy pastries. The only downside is that the lift is 5 steps up from each floor level and you need to click on the hallway lights to get to your room door. Also, if you need to use the bathroom tap for drinking water, let it run for 15-20 seconds so the water is bubble free and totally clear. All in all, if you want a reasonably priced hotel with a great location, this is the one I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No1Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I came yesterday night very late: my trip to Palermo wasn't planned so I asked a suggestion to the taxi driver.
This hotel is very nice, comfortable (large bedrooms, you find all you need: very good shower, mini-bar, wifi free, comfortable bed!)
I'm here on business but I'll take in mind this place to come back on holiday with my family.
I suggest this location for business (it's in the center of Palermo, many offices are very near) and for pleasure/turism (you have many historical places at few minutes by foot).
GREAT!:
Last but not least: competent hotel staff ready and above all: very helpful and friendly!
Gabriella

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#20 of 98 in Palermo
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,830 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
461 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tonic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tonic

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 126, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range: $56 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tonic 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tonic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Palermo
Hotel Tonic Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing