We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above decent”
Review of Hotel Joli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Joli
Ranked #24 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Very clean hotel, some of the decor is a bit OTT and it feels a bit claustrophobic in places butoverall value for money its fine. Staff vary between very freindly and haughty. Location fantastic, located on a quiet Piazza off the main drag. Air con worked, breakfast about standard for these places. Id stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 631 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

We went to Palermo over New Year and had a great time. It is a fabulous place to spend New Year with a huge party in the main square. As New Year approached the firecrackers battled the sound from the free concert and then on the stroke of midnight the crowd opened thousands of bottles of champagne and showered everyone not wise enough to take a brolly!
Unfortunately, if you live in the UK the only practicable way to get there is via Ryanair. The service is awful and the flight expensive - ours cost over £200 each. And on our return to Stanstead we have to wait over 1.5 hours for the bags to be unloaded - there was no explanation and no apology - in fact there was no-one from Ryanair to be seen. I urge everyone to think twice before flying with them - if there is an alternative, use it. Next time we go to Sicily we shall fly to Naples and then drive - or fly EasyJet!
As for the Hotel we stayed at, Hotel Joli, good location, clean, reasonable price - downsides are very small batthrooms, smallish rooms and terrible coffee!

Thank kinesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

if you look for fancy stuff go somewhere else. for the price i paid, 49.00 per night, i think it's a very good value. staff are very nice and helpful.

room 103 is what i had. small room, small shower (i am 5'8 with a 34" waistline).
quiet at night.
good location for sightseeing.
wi-fi signal weak in the room, perfect in the lobby, bar or breakfast room and it's free.
lots of restaruants within 5 minute walk, some good some not so good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We stayed at the Joli for 5 nights on our arrival for a 3 week visit to Sicily. We had a spacious room on the 3rd floor with a reasonably sized bathroom and balcony overlooking the park. A little north of the tourist center, but an easy walk to attractions and restaurants. The staff were helpful, the breakfast more than adequate. No problems with street noise and the small elevator didn't cause any difficulty. It's not luxurious by any means, but a good choice if you're there to see Palermo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Statius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

This is by no means a fancy hotel, but if you rate a hotel on service, charm and cleanliness this is tops. Check in is at 2 oclock. We arrived at 8 a.m. tired and hungry after a long 9 hour flight. They invited us in to have breakfast and at 9 a.m. we were in our room.
The staff was extremely helpful with directions and went out of their way to get train and bus schedules for us. Very nice breakfast room and beautiful terrace to relax at night. Good job Joli. Great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roeroeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

The super positive reviews of this site confound me. This is a two-star hotel at best. Some of the front desk staff were nice and others were very gruff. The elevator is so small you can fit one person with one suitcase. Since I checked in with a group, this led to long delays.

The bedroom is OK and I will admit that my small room opened onto a balcony from which I could see the park off the side street. Some rooms for other members of our group were huge. My shower was extremely small, and the only U.S. satellite channel was Fox, not one of my faves.

Breakfast was decent, with fresh cornetti from the bar across the street. I will say the breakfast room staff were efficient and aimed to please. There were some decent restaurants within a short walk, but the rest of the neighborhood was nondescript.

We were also there on a Sunday and a national holiday, so Palermo seemed dead. Thankfully, we took a day trip to Cefalu, which was beautiful and where I had one of the best meals during our two week trip.

We all thought we were staying at the Hotel Jolley. To be honest, so did our travel agent. So, driving up to this place was quite a shock. We survived and hotels chosen for us in Agrigento and Taormina made up for this place.

Nearby is the hill town Monreale, which I recommend for the Cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Hotel Joli was better than expected. The location is convenient to the port and very close to the major bus routes. Palermo's bus system is very easy to use. It is on a quiet street with a lovely park across the street. The room was large and very well decorated. We had a nice balcony facing the street. Some face the park. There is a rooftop terrace for summer. Breakfast was above average for Italy. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. Internet was free, and they let us sit in the breakfast room hours after we checked out and use their wifi. The old part of Palermo is gritty, but the people are very friendly and very full of life. We had been warned about danger, but only experienced that when trying to cross the street. If you learn to cross the street in Palermo, you can do it anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boomertraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,358 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,887 reviews
Hotel del Centro
#30 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Posta
#28 of 98 in Palermo
461 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#8 of 98 in Palermo
1,244 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#21 of 98 in Palermo
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joli

Address: Via Michele Amari 11, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: $41 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joli 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joli Hotel Palermo
Hotel Joli Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing