We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #29 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located on a small side street parallel to Via Roma and within easy walk of many of the historic city sights. All the staff were most friendly and helpful, with special thanks to Clarissa and her colleagues on reception. We stayed for the first 3 nights of our holiday and then returned for a night before flying home. They not only kept our bags until our departure for the airport on the last day but gave us somewhere for us to come in, wash and change before our flight. On both stays we had very large rooms with an extra bed. Both were comfortable though perhaps one or two pictures on the walls would have given them a slightly more homely feel and the long life bulbs in our first room took a while to warm up. Otherwise fine. There was a good choice for the self service breakfast. For dinner Clarissa steered us towards local restaurants which we found good and very reasonably priced. Many thanks to all at Hotel Posta, which we happily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    170
    67
    16
    13
See reviews for
75
165
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was very central, is just of the main road in Palermo but very quiet. The rooms were spotless, large with an air con and large TV.

The breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh pastries and fruit that varied fro day today. We stayed for six nights and used it as a base to visit places by public transport. It was a great joy to return to the hotel each night.

The staff were so helpful and friendly. They always had a smile and knew your name.

We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was to the side of the hotel on a side road with a small balcony. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makgoesforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cosenza
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is in the historic area in a very convenient location, 3 minutes walking from the Teatro Massimo. It was very clean, comfortable and everything worked. Our spacious room was on the second floor, noisy when windows were open but beautifully sound proofed with windows closed. Delicious breakfast with fresh pastries, fruit etc. What makes this place stand out is definitely the great, helpful staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Hotel was very good: rooms were spacious, cleaned well every day and everything (A/C, TV, etc.) worked. But what stood out was the attitude of the staff, which was excellent. They were so helpful in so many ways - I found that really refreshing. We were a group of 6 friends and each one had similar comments about the hotel. Well done Hotel Posta

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nareik0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked for ten nights to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were excellent, all very courteous and extremely helpful. On the eve of our anniversary we were presented with a greeting and bottle of wine to celebrate our special occasion. This was expected and really a very lovely thought.
The room we stayed in was a lovely size and very clean. Some travellers have describe the breakfast as not being adequate, but we found the selection of food on offer to be fine. There was fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, ham, cheese, bread and various other pastries. What you would expect for a continental breakfast.
I would recommend a stay at hotel posta and would like to thank all the staff for making our holiday a special one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinchey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I booked this hotel, trusting the good rate in the websites. It was a 7 nights stay but I ended up leaving the hotel after the third night.
I liked the idea to stay in a place that gives you the "home atmosphere", but unfortunately I felt very uncomfortable, mainly for two reasons:

1)There is no fridge in the room. That means that there is no chance to have fresh water always available and the only way, is to call reception and they sell a bottle of half liter for 2€. Please be aware, that in Palermo this kind of price is unacceptable!

2)The breakfast offer, is a bit poor. What they call "buffet", is actually a small table with croissant, bread, two bowls of canned fruit, some cornflakes and juice. That's it!

When I told the reception that I decided to leave, after the managers discussed on what to do for my case, they told me that either i have to pay a penalty equal the price of the seven nights stay or they proposed me to move to a 4* property related to them, paying 10€ extra per night.

With this kind of talks, I felt even more disappointed, because, I actually made a reservation through the website booking.com, choosing the tariff that allows modification/cancellation with a penalty of one night, and in the hotel they where not even aware of this contract conditions. Very poor performance from them in this case.

The staff in general, try its best to be always courteous.
I liked very much the head of reception (maybe Clarissa her name, not sure), she gave me the feeling to be very correct and professional.

At this point I would like to say that, this hotel has a lot of potential to be one of the best for its category, but it definitely needs some improvements, to justify the room rates.

Either the hotel makes the price lower or implement some services.

Regards,

Annalisa.




  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anny307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had a really nice single room. It was big, clean and friendly. The stuff at the front desk was excellent. Also the stuff at the breakfast always friendly with a smile and an espresso doppio, which was excellent :o)
I can recommend the hotel 100%

-Katharina Lehner

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#27 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Hotel Joli
#23 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Politeama
BEST WESTERN Ai Cavalieri Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Property: Hotel Posta
Address: Via Antonio Gagini 77, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#17 Family Hotel in Palermo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, family-run hotel is steeped in history and character and boasts a fortunate position in the historic centre of Palermo, just 300 metres from Teatro Massimo. Hotel Posta was once a noble residence and is definitely one of the most historic hotels in Palermo. It has been run with love and care by the same family since 1921. They are always on hand to assist in any way they can and can book excursions, tours, and theatre tickets. You can relax in the lounge with its well-stocked library and enjoy a cocktail in the cosy bar, open 24 hours. In warm weather, why not relax on the sun terrace or take a stroll down to the private beach? Each guest room comes with air conditioning and Satellite TV. Hotel Posta features a private car park and 2 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Palermo
Hotel Posta Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing