We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Plaza Massimo for 5 nights in April and I would say just about perfect.

Centrally located, opposite the opera house and a short walk to the cathedral and other main attractions.

The room was of a good size and well appointed with free wifi, safe and mini bar. The shower in our room could do with updating really, but this is the only improvement I would suggest.

As other reviews state - the staff/service at this small hotel are a real credit to the place.

We wanted to do a couple of private day tours and the reception staff couldn't have been better. They called around their contacts to get us the best available and best price (even haggling for discount on one occasion)

They finally settled on Alessandra of Sicily in Trips and I have to say she was great.

Thanks to all the team at Plaza Massimo


Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    133
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
58
238
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is situated in the heart of Palermo and you can easily reach all the main attractions of the city on foot. Besides that it is really good for those who likes shopping cause all the malls and boutiques are also close to the hotel. The staff is really kind and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constantine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel definitely is one of the best and most friendly I have ever stayed in.
It is situated a directly opposite the opera house in the old part of the city. Most interesting sites in Palermo are in walking distance.
To the hotel itself: large rooms, very nice,clean and homely equipped. Nice views to the Piazza Giuseppe Verdi from the balconies.
All people in the hotel are exceptionally friendly – they give you the certainty that you are personally very welcome to them – very nice, you feel immediately at home.
We spent my birthday there, and what a pleasant surprise when they gave me a birthday cake from a famous patissier in Palermo as present. It was excellent - something to think back to.
Definitely my recommendation for Palermo, you certainly cannot go wrong. If we come back to Palermo we will stay there again. I am looking forward to it!
My best wishes to the team of the Massimo Plaza Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. A perfect location within walking distance to everything. Clean, large rooms, nice bathrooms. We took the bus ( highly recommended), which was 6 euros each from the Palermo airport. The bus dropped us of at stop # 8 and it was a 10 minute walk to the Center piazza, right across the street from the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a very easy to miss hotel, and might not look like much from the outside but you'll be in a for a surprise when you reach the reception.
The location is brilliant, right opposite the main theatre and within walking distance to anything nearby.
The staff are very friendly and provided us with maps of the area, with recommended restaurants and places to see.
The room was very spacious, and although not of a luxurious standard, was perfectly adequate and a very nice place to stay in. No complaints at all here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Massimo Plaza. It's superbly located on one of the main streets in Palermo overlooking the stunning Theatro. The hotel is very quaint, you are given an actual key for your room which was very generous in size. The warm welcome we received upon arrival continued throughout our stay by the friendliest and most genuine staff. You can either have breakfast (which is served individually so no buffet!) brought to your room or you can eat it in a small lounge area overlooking the Theatro which was lovely.

Don't be put off by reviews using the word small, it really gave it an intimacy that s rarely encountered in any hotel. A great stay and outstanding service, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Seymour1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed over a week from March 13, 2014 at the Massimo Plaza Hotel in Palermo. Our choice of this hotel was decided by all the favorable comments we read in Trip Advisor from guests who had stayed there.

Usually, from experience, we find that the praise is overstated. But of all the hotels we have stayed in over 30 years, we found that, if anything, the compliments for Massimo were understated.

The way the staff went out of their way to insure we were comfortable and contented with our room and their service, made us feel special. By “staff” I mean people like Anna, Pierro, Alexandra, Mary Grace, and, heading the list, Jenny. If we had a complaint, Jenny was right there to correct things. If we had a need, she would do her best to keep us happy. And hers is an attitude of service combined with competence.

For example, if we wanted to go see an opera at the Teatro Massimo across the plaza, Jenny would arrange for seats with a 20% discount. Change our flight schedule or get airline information? Jenny promptly made the necessary inquiries. Same for bus and train information. She would call restaurants to check opening times and get directions how to reach them on foot.

She made us feel as if we were the only guests at the hotel!

Our room was spacious, bright, clean. There was no bath, only a shower but with lots of hot water and good water pressure.The bed’s mattress was just firm enough for my ailing back. I did think the pillows too soft, but they were not that much of an issue for us. Perhaps the chocolate delicacy we found placed on them each evening helped. The balcony gave us a view of streetlife, the broad plaza full of activity, the gorgeous Teatro Massimo.

In short, I can’t see why someone going to Palermo would not make staying at the Massimo Plaza Hotel their priority.

Peter and Mikiko Schumacher

Room Tip: Going out-of-season, be sure to get a room overlooking the plaza. it is bright all day and quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burtduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasPalermo, Responsabile reception at Massimo Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs. Schumacker,
i write you only to say, thank you, thank you and thank you for your amazing rewiew. I think this is the most beautiful rewiew that i readed in16th year of my work in this hotel. The Massimo Plaza Hotel is my 2nd house in Palermo and I'm happy that I transfer to you my emotion. Now this is your house in Palermo and i, Piero, Anna, Maria Grazia and all staff will be here to welcoming you for your next stay.


Looking forward to receiving our photo we thank you again and i will stay at your complete disposal for all your needs.

with my best regards,
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massimo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massimo Plaza Hotel

Property: Massimo Plaza Hotel
Address: Via Maqueda 437, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#3 Business Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Massimo Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Teatro Massimo view! ...Located in the heart of the historical center a few minutes from all monumental and artistical attractions of Palermo, Massimo Plaza is a boutique hotel de charme, where each detail is designed to give comfort and make your stay enjoyable. The access of the hotel is a precious stairway, made of marble "Red Ammonite", with obvious Ammonite fossils typical of buildings erected at the end of the seventeenth century in Palermo. The rooms are all provided with air conditioning, SKY TV LED, free wi-fi, minibar and safe. The warm colors and the the impeccable finishes create an atmosphere that pampers the customer to whom is reserved a personalized welcome. The superior rooms have a balcony overlooking the theatre. Breakfast is customized and it is served in the room. Fresh food for celiacs and for other food intolerances. All the staff of Massimo Plaza, friendly and professional, is at your disposal 24 hours on 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Massimo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimo Plaza Palermo
Hotel Massimo Plaza
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing