We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRETTY BASIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Massimo Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“PRETTY BASIC”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We'd already stayed in Palermo before [the Garibaldi which was WAY better value for money] but we were going to the Opera and it is 50m across the road hence we took this place. It is HUGELY over-priced. It is at very best a 2-3 star. The big stairs up from the street are not great with two big suitcases - the porter was at lunch - and you can't leave them on the street! Staff were initially very friendly.

When we got into our room, which was ok size-wise but very basic, poorly lit and very very badly in need of a major overhaul, it had obviously not been vacuumed as there were peanuts and dust on the carpet [which was about 250 years old anyway]. When we politely mentioned this at reception on the way out sight seeing, and asked [nicely] if they could the vacuum the place when we went out that afternoon, the atmosphere changed into sullen coldness.

[We actually found this at all Italian hotels though - friendly service until you give ANY negative feedback then the cold shutters come down.]

Breakfast was the most 'Italian' and basic in 10 hotels we stayed at on our visit. I fully accept that Italians may eat 20 creamy gooey jammy cakes for breakfast but no other nationality in the entire planet does.... so at least SOME recognition that tourists may want some 'Continental' too.... bread or cheese or ham or fruit etc?... would have been nice. Every other hotel we stayed at, very cheap to very expensive, did so. Good coffee though and good service [as we had no complaints!].

As always a pc that [mostly] worked but no printer so you have to send boarding passes by email to the reception desk 2 metres away!? Again though, we've never found an Italian hotel that has a printer for guests. And you have to pay 5 euros if you want anything on your telly apart from Rai 1 2 3 and 4. Never had to do that before.

We've stayed in worse but not much and we'd never stay here again for the money. Only the great location even begins to justifies the price.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    146
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
62
258
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's true, the stairs leading up to the hotel could be more inspiring, but the welcome by both doorman and receptionist were first class. The room was a good standard (no more) in terms of condition, though the lack of a view was disappointing in this particular room. We were pleased to find that, despite reading to the contrary, breakfast is served outside the room and there is indeed a relax area, albeit small. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, supplying extra pillows, a heater (the weather was particularly bad), serving breakfast half an hour earlier to assist our early morning trip, and general information about restaurants, etc. This is an ideal location and it totally suited our purposes as a city break. Well done Massimo!

Room Tip: The best rooms are overlooking the square, but could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cp1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Too much expensive for what it's worth. The room and bathroom are more or less clean, but in case of the bathroom, it looks very bad maintained. Not a 4-star hotel, more like a 2 or 3 (as much) . Also, the breakfast is nothing fancy but a couple of sweets and yoghurt. The locations is great, that's true, but not enough for the price that you are paying. If they would improve on those points....

Room Tip: Some rooms have window to some inner yard, try to avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Once you are there you can see the 3stars on the main door despite the fact they put 4 stars on the web site. Actually they upgrade the price but not the service. Very old hotel with poor service. Do not put 200 eur as I did for a night there.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincentbaudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dillingen germany
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

when i walked up the stair to the 1st floor reception desk i was tempted to turn around. maybe it looked so bad because the whole house is for sale. the all the rooms are on the 1st floor. there are basically no public areas or breakfast room, so breakfast is served in the room.
The location is great, the service is friendly and efficient, loading and unloading is difficult and the price of EURO 220/night was definitely too much for what was offered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Central location to everything, room spacious, a bit noisy, front desk staff adequate. We were only spending two nights so it worked just fine to walk to the things in Palermo we wanted to see and drive out to Segesta. The museum is in the block behind the hotel, not to be missed if you are into ancient stuff.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Luggage_Tags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We arrived in Palermo with no reservations (how we like to travel). Hoped to get into the Post Hotel but it was full. Walked some more and found this one. More than we wanted to spend (200 euros) but woth it. Large very well decorated room with view of the Teathre Messimo and plaza. B'fast served in your room. Desk staff very helful. Found out bus info to our next stop and booked a room of a place I had read about. We shopped in nearby open markets and picniced in our room with table and chairs. Palermo a fascinating city. As jumbled as one reads about but great pockets of rennovation and innovation. Restaurant tip: Da Toto; small place with in/out seating right off of the fish market piazza (Mercato della Vacciria).

  • Liked — Very helpful ands friendly staff
  • Disliked — Expensive, but worth it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TediS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
978 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#11 of 98 in Palermo
502 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massimo Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massimo Plaza Hotel

Property: Massimo Plaza Hotel
Address: Via Maqueda 437, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palermo
#2 Family Hotel in Palermo
#3 Business Hotel in Palermo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Massimo Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Teatro Massimo view! ...Located in the heart of the historical center a few minutes from all monumental and artistical attractions of Palermo, Massimo Plaza is a boutique hotel de charme, where each detail is designed to give comfort and make your stay enjoyable. The access of the hotel is a precious stairway, made of marble "Red Ammonite", with obvious Ammonite fossils typical of buildings erected at the end of the seventeenth century in Palermo. The rooms are all provided with air conditioning, SKY TV LED, free wi-fi, minibar and safe. The warm colors and the the impeccable finishes create an atmosphere that pampers the customer to whom is reserved a personalized welcome. The superior rooms have a balcony overlooking the theatre. Breakfast is customized and it is served in the room. Fresh food for celiacs and for other food intolerances. All the staff of Massimo Plaza, friendly and professional, is at your disposal 24 hours on 24. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Massimo Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimo Plaza Palermo
Hotel Massimo Plaza
Massimo Plaza Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing