We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I start to use this hotel for my business travels.
rooms are large and confonfortable, furnitures also.
I sleeped wery well, no noises or rumors
in the centre of the city, just a jump to "via libertà" and the "palermitanian movida".
the lounge area is ideal also for small business meetings.
I'll come back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bengiua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review on your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca.
We are really happy that you have chosen our property for your business stays in Palermo and that we manage to provide at the same time a comfortable stay, a very elegant and functional venue for your business meetings and a perfect location for your free time.
We really look forward to having you again as our guest and in the meantime send you our best regards!
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    151
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
130
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Hotel Principe di Villafranca is great for a short stay in Palermo. The lounge area offers a quiet, comfortable space for relaxation with many Italian magazines. A list of available bar drinks would have been useful, as the bar was not tended all the time, though Gaetano, the porter, was very helpful and made us feel very welcome, running us through the wine choices and bringing us some aperitive snacks.

The bedroom was a good size, decorated in a minimal, modern style and the bathroom was nice and new, however the shower head could not be fitted to the wall which make showering somewhat more challenging. The room had a flat screen TV, though mainly Italian channels. Internet was not free, £4 for one hour or £7 for 4 hours - the timer only counts down when you are actually connected so you have to log in and out every time you want to use the Internet.

The continental breakfast was fresh and the waitress was lovely and friendly. There was not a restaurant at the hotel so we had to go out for dinner every night, not that we had any problems finding restaurants in Palermo!

Overall, I would recommend this clean, modern hotel which is in a quiet area of Palermo, with lots of lovely staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Unfortunately, one member of the reception staff was somewhat dismissive of my efforts to speak in Italian, replying systematically in English, which I found quite disrespectful. Also, when we checked out, (having paid in advance online), the receptionist tried to charge us the full amount again and when we corrected her that we only needed to settle the bill, she dismissed it as a minor error, without even an apology!! So check your bill carefully!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LC582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for sharing your recent experience of a stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca with the other members of the Tripadvisor community.
We are really glad that you had an overall positive experience and that you appreciated many aspects of your stay, such as the very comfortable location, the friendly and polite attitude of our staff, the comfort of the rooms and the good selection of products for breakfast.

We would also like to thank you for highlighting those aspects of your stay that need improvement: we thank you for bringing to our attention that the shower head could not be fitted properly to its holder – next time please feel free to highlight this immediately to our staff, so that we can have a timely action on this and make your stay even more enjoyable. Moreover, please accept our heartfelt apologies on behalf of all our Front Desk staff for the episodes you related in relation to one staff member, including the unpleasant language approach, the misunderstanding the payment terms and in relation to this, the lack of the appropriate apologies. Please be assured by all means that such misunderstanding took place in good faith and that, even if the mistake itself had actually occurred, the admin department would have realized it the day after, contacting you for a chargeback.
We really hope to have you again as our guest in the near future, and let you experience how your comments have helped us to improve our standards and services.

Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia,
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I spent 10 nights in this hotel during March - April and just dreaming to come back. Everything was perfect: room brand new, with design furniture, very comfortable but yet modern style. Location is just perfect, all sightseeing are easy reachable by short walk. Staff is very nice, kind and helpful. Many thanks for making my stay feeling like being home. Looking forward to come back soonest possible

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
how lovely to read that your long stay here with us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca was absolutely perfect from all viewpoints - that you loved everything about the hotel, the decor of the rooms, the hotel location, the staff and their polite and friendly attitude!
We are very proud that we managed to meet your expectations and make you really feel like at home - and we will really strive to make your next stay even better.
We will look forward to welcoming you again here at Hotel Principe di Villafranca!
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you don't want to be in the centre of old Palermo, we think Hotel Principe di Villafranca is a good choice. We were amazed by how quiet it was, in terms of noise from outside. There's not a lot that can be done about fellow guests who wander past your room talking loudly!
We read other reviews before we went and agree that the breakfast is quite limited and the staff variable in their commitment to service, but unless a great breakfast and effusive customer service are what you want, we don't think that should put you off staying here. The Reception staff were very polite and keen to assist.
Our room was a superior double. It was fairly small, but we didn't spend a huge amount of time in it so that wasn't really an issue for us. The room was clean and comfortable which are much more important to us.
The worst thing, as so many others have commented, is having to pay for wifi.
Overall, a good city hotel and we would stay here again if we went back to Palermo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77lejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca.
We are very glad that your overall enjoyment of the experience was good, and that you were happy with your choice of staying in the shopping and entertainment area instead that in the historical city centre, which is nevertheless at a short walking distance from the hotel.
With a view to breakfast service, we strive to have the best selection of fresh, local produce, both sweet and savoury, including fresh cassata and cakes, eggs, cold cuts, cheese and much more and for this reason we would be very happy if you could contact us via email to highlight your suggestions as to what you thought was missing in order to achieve a "great breakfast".
Also, if you found superior rooms, which are quite large according to national industry standards, were not spacious enough for your needs, maybe on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo you can try one of our deluxe rooms, which are even larger and brighter.
We really look forward to having you again as our guests on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo and in the meanwhile would like to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Principe de Villafranca for one week over Christmas 2012. We had booked a double deluxe but were upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel is excellent and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. On the basis of other tripadvisor reviews we decided not to stay in the old town (noisy, not great at night etc). This hotel is north of the old town in a great area, plenty of restaurants nearby and excellent shops (if you want them) on the Via Liberta. We walked a lot during the day and at night and felt perfectly happy and safe. The hotel is very busy over New Year but much less so at Christmas, which suited us just fine as it got us the room upgrade. Did not try the fitness room or the restaurant in the evening so cannot report on those. Would stay here again, an excellent hotel. The same owner also has a hotel nearer the centre of town (near the Piazza Politeama) so this might appeal if you don't want to walk too far.

Room Tip: Double deluxe room probably worthwhile if you are staying more than a few days as the doubles are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSH186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are extremely happy that your stay experience with us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca was such a great success and that you took the time to share it with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community : we would like to sincerely thank you for your review.
We are really glad you enjoyed the hotel location and its neighbourhood and that your whole stay during these Christmas holidays was pleasant; we are also very happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our junior suites.
We hope to have the pleasure to have you back with us at Hotel Principe di Villafranca or in the other property of the same group, Hotel Plaza Opéra, on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
681 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hotel Principe di Villafranca is a quirky place. Its decor is modern, yet it's set on the site of an ancient garden and has remnants of some columns as features. The hotel itself occupies the first two floors of the building, with other floors being apartments for local people,(accessed by a separate entrance).

The airport is about 35 KM from the city of Palermo. We paid 6.10 Euro each to take the airport bus to Politeama - the closest stop to the hotel .(Look for buses parked just outside the exit of the terminal. If we'd had a better idea of where the hotel was located we could have dragged our suitcases there, but we were unsure, so caught a taxi from the bus, for 10 Euro. (The taxi driver may have overcharged us. It was a short distance, and he did not seem to know where he was going!) This was considerably less than the 40 to 50 Euro others paid to have a taxi take them all the way from the airport - and much cheaper than the 'private' transfers offered by tour companies.

We stayed one night at the beginning of a tour of Sicily and two nights at the end. Both times we were fortunate to have the same spacious room with a large bathroom (which had a weird shower set-up that drowned the floor!) Others on the tour showed us their small bedrooms and tiny bathrooms. They had a different experience of the hotel to ours!

However, we all experienced the worst meal of the week-long tour the first evening at the Hotel Prince di Villafranca. The food was horrible! Possibly this was due to being part of a tour, because those who stayed additional nights before the tour told us they'd had quite good dinners! The group dinners at the end of the tour were better, thank heavens! All agreed breakfast left a lot to be desired, with limited choice and poor service.

I liked the helpful and friendly approach of staff on reception. They marked places of possible interest in the city on a map, and told us which direction to head. Several land-mark buildings were in the area of the hotel, and the main shops were a 10 minute walk away.

On the whole our impression of the hotel was good and we loved being close to the heart of Palermo.

Room Tip: If your room is really small, request a larger one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Principe di Villafranca. We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant time at our property, that you appreciated its style and atmosphere, its very convenient location close to the main sights and to the main shopping venues, and the friendly, helpful approach of our staff.
We are also glad you enjoyed your room and bathroom and would like to ensure that all rooms meet and exceed the hotel industry standards for our category in terms of space and comfort. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy the dinner on the day of your arrival - we apologize for this and are happy that you and your friends had the opportunity to experience that isn't at all the usual standard of the hotel restaurant. As to the breakfast service, as we put a lot of effort in providing all guests the best choice of products and excellent service, your remark will be precious to understand what went wrong during your stay, so that on the next stay in Palermo and at our property you will be able to say the one at Hotel Principe di Villafranca was the best breakfast you've ever had!
We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest!
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Located not far from the main street, but a taxi or bus ride (101) to the historic area.
Nice, although small lobby and lounge/bar area.
Can be a little delay processing a tour group.
Staff very helpful when not under queue pressure.
The elevator is very slow, so use the stairs if there is a queue. The porter will carry up your cases.

We stayed for three nights in two rooms. One was minute, the other was OK but compact.
The proximity door key works well.
The rooms look to have been refurbished not too long ago.
Nice KS bed with a thick mattress although still a little too firm for us.
Very good lighting level but no clock, radio or night light, (Actually our room was lit by a street light - but this may not suit everyone.)
No coat hooks and only one case stand as usual. (Why do hotel designers always assume couples travel with only one suitcase?)
Minimal desk space and only one chair. So it's either the laptop or dressing table. Not both.
Would have been nice to have the mirror over the table as well as inside the wardrobe.
A small safe is in the wardrobe and there is a small stocked fridge. Bar price list.
Small digital TV with a few channels in English. No TV channel guide.(Found BBC news on 39.)
The airconditioning was very effective without much air noise.
No tea/coffee making facilities.
The room was very quiet at night except for the random plumbing sounds from nearby rooms and noisy guests in the corridor.
WiFi in every room and costs 3-10euro for up to 24 hours total time on line.

The ensuite was big enough and had some very cool looking plumbing. Seven towels supplied.
Then the problems emerged. The wash basin has no plug, so it was tricky to do any clothes washing.
If you accidently turn on the tap to full, the water splashes over the side onto the floor.
The overhead rain-shower forces you to wash your hair. The hand-held shower sometimes falls off its holder. There is no shelf for soap/shampoo. (I don't think the designer has ever taken a shower.)
The clothes hooks are a little joke. Everything just falls off.
There are no rails for large wet towels, so they remain wet should we want to re-use them.

We had breakfast here every morning. No hot dishes but the rest quite good. Other set meals were just average. We did not use the a la carte restaurant.
Inspite of these little problems, which are common to many hotels, we did enjoy our stay here.

Room Tip: Go for level 1, at the end of a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Principe di Villafranca, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Hotel Principe di Villafranca with the other members of the Tripadvisor community.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property, its location just off the main street of Palermo, and a close distance to the historical city centre, the helpfulness of our personnel and our breakfast service. We would like to thank you for the suggestions pertaining how to improve the room and bathroom comfort even more - we will take them into great account for next season! On the other hand we are sorry that you experienced trouble with the wash basin and did not ask our staff for assistance, we would have been delighted to show you how the plug worked. Moreover, on your next visit to our hotel, make sure you enjoy our hot dishes, which are made on request and included in our breakfast rate.
We really do look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Principe di Villafranca and in the meawhile would like to send you our best regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#28 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#10 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe di Villafranca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Villafranca

Property: Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Address: Via Giuseppina Turrisi Colonna 4, 90141, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palermo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Villafranca 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe di Villafranca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Villafranca Palermo
Principe Di Villafranca Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Villafranca Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing