We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great little pearl hidden in Palermo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanze al Genio

Stanze al Genio
Ranked #5 of 310 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Reservations required!! The museum is open year round for a visit but you must book your visit by email or phone. For reservations just call a few hours before the appointment and agree to the tour. The visits are carried out only in Italian / english.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little pearl hidden in Palermo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This attraction is not listed in any of the touristic maps of Palermo and yet it was our favorite one. We found it here on TripAdvisor and were very pleased with the visit. The collection of tiles is one of the largest in Europe, and it is indeed impressive (even if you're not specially interested in tiles...). Take the guided tour, as the explanations are indispensable, and the guides extremely qualified, enthusiastic and nice. The private home that hosts the collection is also delightful, and the whole visit is a trip to another era. Worth every second of our time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen e Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    63
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this wonderful tile collection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

So glad we checked TripAdvisor before our visit to Palermo. This 'world class' tile collection is a fantastic attraction in Palermo!! Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“palermo highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

It does not matter whether you are are interested in tiles or not.
You will be by the end of your visit.
We will never forget our visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanneilbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tile museum a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This visit was an absolute delight. We were able to have an English language tour with a delightful and knowledgable young man. His enthusiasm and knowledge were infectious though we needed no urging. The tiles are beautiful, covering the walls of the charming private home they are housed in. Not only are the displays lovely they are an important part of Siclian history, and it is wonderful to see them being preserved and documented. This is a world class collection and a priviledge to see.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rare find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of a private tour of Stanze al Genio this evening. It is a truly remarkable collection exhibited in a beautiful private home. The tour was interesting and informative and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Palermo. We feel very fortunate to have read about it on Trip Advisor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobHop489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Stanze al Genio, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanze al Genio also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Stanze al Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing