We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find!”

Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio
Ranked #6 of 439 things to do in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Reservations required!! The museum is open year round for a visit but you must book your visit by email or phone. For reservations just call a few hours before the appointment and agree to the tour. The visits are carried out only in Italian / english.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of a private tour of Stanze al Genio this evening. It is a truly remarkable collection exhibited in a beautiful private home. The tour was interesting and informative and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Palermo. We feel very fortunate to have read about it on Trip Advisor.

Thank RobHop489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 492 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

What a remarkable place and such a well-informed host/guide! Largest collection of tiles fromthe 1400's-1930's. Amazing. Since we speak Italian we did get the benefit an Italian-language personal guide -- so much knowledge -- (but I think they're well-equipped to provide tours in several languages.)

Gorgeous layout and very manageable size though the sheer number of tiles displayed is intense. Easy to find in old Central Palermo, worth the (small) effort to plan and book ahead.

2  Thank zdoctorsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you very much, I hope to see you again soon. Yours sincerely Pio Mellina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fantastic collection of interesting ceramics which are displayed beautifully. It's a one hour tour and is very much worth your while. It was the highlight of our time in Palermo. Glad we found this little gem.

2  Thank holidaysforme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

So I thought the other reviews might have been exaggerating or even written by the owners friends or relatives but believe me they are not! For a few euros you will get a great insight into the regions arts and crafts told through the story of tiles. There was only two of us and an intetpreter was provided - first class , warm and friendly service . It deserves all the top reviews and you will not be disappointed if you visit .

5  Thank rachelcar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stanze al Genio is hosted in a private house and although you have to call for an appointment, it is well worth the effort. The private tour, in italian, was a highlight fo out trip to Palermo. Piro, our guide and resident expert is passionate about the ancient neapolitan and sicilian tile collection. The rooms are covered from floor to ceiling with ancient tile, each with own unique history. Piro was very knowledgeable about world history and the 'back story on the tiles. Having a private tour was well worth the effort. You MUST CALL ahead FOR AN Appointment.

8  Thank SpaGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piomellina, Direttore generale at Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie mille, spero di rivederla presto :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio also viewed

 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Museum of tiles Stanze al Genio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing